BMW E46 M3 Tyres

Drive a BMW E46 M3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW E46 M3
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (17) 93% 96% 94% 95% 95% 92% 98% 95% 193,800
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (54) 93% 89% 87% 88% 84% 88% 86% 88% 217,200
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Accelera PHI 2 (4) 87% 80% 83% 83% 80% 80% 83% 82% 10,500
Continental Sport Contact 6 (43) 93% 93% 87% 83% 58% 82% 71% 81% 204,265
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (27) 88% 82% 81% 82% 68% 78% 80% 80% 212,810
Nankang AR 1 (21) 91% 49% 87% 89% 77% 70% 87% 79% 53,791
Dunlop Direzza 03G (6) 92% 62% 90% 87% 40% 52% 100% 75% 2,350
Falken FK452 (209) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,690,411
Nexen N8000 (74) 80% 75% 69% 66% 68% 79% 71% 73% 536,342
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Accelera PHI (132) 69% 46% 54% 53% 67% 59% 51% 57% 1,177,762

BMW E46 M3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 99% (225-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
After having an interesting time with the Falken FK452s on the front of my M3 I fitted these not expecting to see much of a difference. How wrong I was.

The difference with these tyres was surprising! They grip hard! As soon as I took the first roundabout I knew the tyres felt much more communicative. The dry grip is superb as far as UHP tyres go, with this greatness not stopping in the wet. Somehow they just grip and girip in the wet!

These have now done 13,000 on the front of my M3, where I've also done a couple of trackdays on it too. The tyres still have plenty of meat left on them. I'd say around 5mm.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-03 03:29:44
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 given 98% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Snow performance out of this world, but retains stability and good wet and dry grip even at higher temperatures. Expensive but worth every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-17 13:08:26
Writing about the Nankang AR 1 given 91% (265-35-18-)
Driving on track for 1096 spirited miles
E46-M3 SUZUKA INTERNATIONAL RACING COURSE
JULY 7, 2017 Test report
The weather on the day is sunny.
Road surface temperature 43degrees C to 46degrees C.
This time we changed the setting of the suspension based on the previous test.
Although I was able to increase the mechanical grip more than the previous time, I could not update the best time due to the rise in the temperature and the deterioration of the road condition.
The best time of the day is 2'24 "8.
There was no big grip drop for the total 20 laps.


tyre reviewed on 2017-07-31 04:49:07
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza 03G given 88% (265-45-18-)
Driving on track for 250 spirited miles
I have used these on a supercharger BMW M3 track car and they are simply in a different league to anything else I have used before. We up to temperature in dry conditions they are superb, confidence inspiring and a close to a full slick race tyre as I have found. I wouldn’t buy anything else right now.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-16 06:06:49
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 86% (255-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
just bought some Accelera PHI tyres and are having them fitted today, after reading reviews I thought o no a noisy poor quality tyre that does,nt handle in the wet. Not good if fitting to an E46 M3. this is the first set of tyres that I shall be fitting to the car in the 5 years of ownership of it.
My current tyres hit the 1.6 wear indicator about 3 months ago so really do need changing.
checked my tyres yesterday to see what I have and low and behold i,m already running Accelera PHI and some Kendels on the front
I am more than happy to have these tyres on the car again and I found that the only time I get the bad road noise is when I hit the concrete section of the M25 which is not often.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-04 09:14:00
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 83% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-04 22:49:07
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-21 12:17:08
Writing about the Nexen N8000 given 81% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
These tyres are amazing, really, I had michiline ps2 on the rear and had worn all too quickly, this tyre was a great surprize. I had read the reviews and decided to give them a go. Once the initial break in period had passed, these tyres gripped like a mofo on wet and dry, I really recommend them
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-21 16:58:35
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 81% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
2/3rds of the price of a premium pilot sport comparison and 8-9/10ths of the performance. Provided you're not trying to be Nigel Mansell on the public highways I see no reason to buy any different. A good upgrade from the ku39's.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-04 22:53:24
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 80% (255-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
The rate price and quality is correct.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-01 22:04:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre