BMW X3 3.0dA Tyres

Drive a BMW X3 3.0dA ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the BMW X3 3.0dA
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (390) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,740,737
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (51) 88% 83% 83% 82% 81% 83% 77% 82% 254,744
Pirelli Scorpion Winter (7) 81% 81% 74% 74% 76% 78% 80% 79% 56,130
Avon ZX7 (25) 88% 85% 81% 77% 58% 81% 64% 76% 157,956
Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV (5) 86% 100% 74% 58% 58% 84% 72% 76% 57,000
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (36) 81% 85% 80% 78% 76% 77% 79% 75% 426,700
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71% 67% 73% 834,761
Michelin Latitude Sport (8) 83% 83% 77% 80% 57% 72% 47% 71% 186,015
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (39) 78% 70% 68% 68% 63% 71% 56% 68% 713,949

BMW X3 3.0dA Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I have weared them today instead od Dunlop SP Sport 01. I have 255/45 R18 at rear and 235/50 R18 in front. So they are not break in. But first big differences: How quiet ride is and how comfort, also steering feel is very direct. After hunderds of km I will tell you something new.
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-08 18:33:01
Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 98% (225-60-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
I recently replaced the BMW-spec (but non-runflat) Pirelli P7s on my X3 with these Avons. My first impressions are that the Avons are a fair bit quieter and give slightly better feedback in the dry. I haven't had the chance to do many miles in the wet on the Avons, but they do seem to have better grip on damp roads compared to the Pirellis.
As it stands at the moment (only done 300ish miles) I find them better in all aspects than the Pirellis.
Some reviewers have said they thought the Avons don't last very long. As long as I get 15000 miles from mine, I'll be happy - I value wet grip and all-round feedback above longevity. The Avons are 80% of the cost of a set of Pirellis or Dunlops, so anything less than 20% reduction in tyre life is acceptable in terms of "bang for buck".
Based on these impressions, I would definitely buy them again. If I should happen to change my mind before they need to be replaced, I will report back.
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-01 15:01:43
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Winter given 96% (235-60-18-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 120 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-25 00:30:36
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 94% (235-55-17-W)
Driving on for 0 miles
I have changed my old worn tyres Bridgeston, and now i'm realy happy. The new model RT2 is defenitly excellent for all road conditions. The feedback from road is very good. The tyres are very comfortable.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-27 08:53:28
Writing about the Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D given 87% (235-50-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 spirited miles
This is a remarkable tyre. It grips well on ice and even managed good grip on mud. The suspension on this car is quite solid, and the contribution from the tyre is difficult to assess. There appears to be plenty of tyre left after one winter season.
tyre reviewed on 2012-03-25 09:51:22
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Sport given 80% (235-50-18-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
Fitted to BMW X3 3.0 Diesel and great for long and fast Autobahn drives.
Cornerering is not as good Dunlop SP1 fitted before.
Increasing tyre pressure on Rear Axles wheels improves handling alot.
Wear after 15000 Miles is incredibly low-
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-09 22:47:40
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 SUV given 69% (235-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
Very good! Only issue is wear but they're cheap enough to make that ok.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-03 15:58:06
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion STR given 63% (235-55-17-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 spirited miles
inherited these almost new with car. H speed (up to 130mph) was a bit optimistic for a BMW X3 and in due course it blew out on the motorway - not sure why, maybe hit a sidewall. Had previously had 2 other punctures - not on the tyre that blew out. Overall impression they were ok - but questionable wear after blow out, so wouldn't buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-22 13:51:12
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 41% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 0 miles
I used a set of these in my SUV and within 9 months and 4000km they started deteriorating, there was uneven wear along the ridges with each ridge being different height and appearing to be disintegrating. Cuts, abrasions and chunks were all visible on the tyres, looked like foam rather than rubber. If you've seen how foam wear then you will know what I mean.

I can't in all honesty recommend these particular "Green" tyres to anyone as I suspect inconsistency in the rubber compound (with other additives) and inferior composition. It's fine to sell a tyre as "green" but you also need to tell the truth about possible disadvantages, instead of stroking people's ego and telling them they are saving the earth. You will waste your money on these tyres, get a non-green tyre instead. Pirelli, shame on you for not responding to any of my emails, not even wanting to see photos of the tyres, I would have though this is a safety issue for you to investigate in future green tyres. Obviously nobody cares, so consumers must be weary.

Oh yea, when you ask the retailers about this tyre, they say there is no difference in the wear/safety of green and regular tyres. This can't logically be true, misleading consumers. Green buyers beware.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-05 06:36:12
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre