CitroŽn DS5 2.0 Hdi Tyres

Drive a CitroŽn DS5 2.0 Hdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the CitroŽn DS5 2.0 Hdi
BFGoodrich gGrip (42) 90% 80% 81% 82% 86% 85% 89% 85% 482,042
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (277) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 83% 3,731,734
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS200 (19) 78% 89% 80% 81% 81% 84% 87% 83% 198,515
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (157) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 69% 79% 1,437,323
Michelin Primacy 3 (150) 86% 81% 78% 77% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,196,473
Continental Sport Contact 3 (241) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,233,337
Maxxis Premitra HP5 (20) 83% 74% 71% 72% 57% 66% 62% 69% 144,744
Continental Eco Contact 5 (68) 79% 67% 68% 66% 75% 67% 54% 68% 843,353
Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 (21) 68% 36% 51% 56% 54% 56% 36% 51% 200,625
Sunew YS618 (56) 61% 36% 47% 45% 52% 49% 32% 46% 414,762

CitroŽn DS5 2.0 Hdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS200 given 94% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
I put these tyres on my Citroen DS5 for the winter months. Now I'm thinking about leaving them on all year, such is the transformation from the frankly awful Continental Sport Contact 3's they replaced. Although I should point out that I have also dropped to 17 inch to 18 inch wheels.
That said I am very pleased with the Falkens. They have so far performed very well although there has been no snow since I had them. They feel very secure on cold wet and icy roads. In milder conditions they feel fine too. They are very comfortable and quite. The only difference between them and a summer tyre is the turn in which is a bit softer. Almost no wear visible after 1500 miles. Overall, excellent value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-17 21:35:44
Writing about the BFGoodrich gGrip given 91% (235-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Had these fitted today, fantastic improvement over the standard-fit Continentals. Better grip and lower noise. Too early to know about wear, but can't be worse than the Continentals as they wore very quickly.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-12 17:50:02
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 83% (235-45-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Fantastic tyre. Made all the difference to my citroen ds5, a car not known for its ride quality. Like driving a different car, it's now more refined, steers more accurately & uses less fuel compared to the conti's that were on previously. Not pushed too far in the wet but dry performance is more than adequate at any speed. Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-16 21:15:14
Writing about the BFGoodrich gGrip given 83% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-06 13:24:31
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 70% (235-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13500 average miles
Wear is quite severe, have 13500 miles on the clock and 4mm left on front and 3mm on rear. All four tyres are wearing fairly evenly across width.

Disappointed that rear tyres wear the same as front. I am happy wheels are properly aligned and I would consider myself a careful driver travelling on a good mix of roads and conditions.

Definitely not purchase again. The wear was similar on my previous DS4 !
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-05 17:15:10
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 61% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-10 16:46:41
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 54% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-10 16:45:45
Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 5 given 44% (335-45-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Came nearly new on my second hand DS5 - All other corners running Nexens. Probably not the tyres fault, however due to the funky tread pattern it was causing pulling when high-speed cruising, braking and accellerating - so had to put it on the back.

Admittedly the suspension setup on the DS5 is known for being a little twitchy, however noticeably when the Continental was on the outside (it was on the off-side right, so when turning left and the weight was over it) it would step out if there was any sort of deformity in the road surface.

Also, very uneven wear despite being at the recommended pressures. Car had an alignment as I'd spotted the wear starting to happen (alignment was fine apparently) but i'd say around 12,000 miles on it and it was spent down to the wear bars, right on the widest part of the centre of the tread pattern.

Probably perform better when fitted all round, but replacing with a Nexen as per the others the car feels so much better. I certainly don't recommend it on it's own.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-02 16:31:46
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 37% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
My new Citroen DS5 came with these. I know the DS5 gets mixed reviews due to below par ride and steering. However, after 4k miles I became convinced the Continentals were partly to blame.

Took the plunge and changed wheels and tyres for 17" Falken EuroAll Season AS200's. Transformation! No more tramlining, or strong pulling with the camber, way less steering kickback over bumps, softer, quieter ride. Why Citroen fit the Continentals I cannot imagine, perhaps they got a job lot? (Contact 3's still being supplied in 2014?)

I have sampled Sport Contacts on other FWD cars in the past and not been impressed. I think, reading some of the reports here, that the tyres are better suited to RWD cars? Oh and the wear rate is awful, after 4K miles fronts will be shot at 12 to 15k miles.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-25 18:21:12
Writing about the Maxxis Premitra HP5 given 27% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Great for the first 6,000 miles or so, then it got cold... In anything less than 3 degrees ambient, they grip then slip - Most noticably on full lock. More so than I have ever noticed or seen with others, it's really weird. Almost completely worn at 12,500 miles on the front (front wheel drive), and the single one on the back is about half worn - Even on the back. Most disturbingly they have a lot of cracks in the tread, and the edges of the tread looks ragged and shredded in places. Fortunately it's now summer again so atleast they've gone away from being ditchfinders until I get a chance to replace them.

Always given regular air if they needed it, and not used any nasty chemicals whilst cleaning the wheels. Just not really the mid-range tyre they are advertised as unfortunately.

Paid £78 a corner on offer. Could be worse for a years' use I guess.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-26 16:56:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre