Daihatsu Charade Tyres

Drive a Daihatsu Charade? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Daihatsu Charade
Vredestein Icetrac (2) 90% 95% 95% 85% 100% 90% 100% 94% 18,000
Toyo TEO plus (15) 81% 68% 71% 75% 81% 86% 74% 76% 245,130
Barum Brillantis 2 (30) 78% 61% 68% 67% 77% 76% 74% 72% 256,829
Kumho Solus KH17 (54) 75% 70% 70% 69% 68% 71% 67% 70% 954,007
BFGoodrich Advantage TA (1) 80% 70% 60% 70% 50% 50% 60% 54% 5,000

Daihatsu Charade Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Icetrac given 97% (155-70-13-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 spirited miles
Comments refer to Vredestein 'Icetrak' fitted to Daihatsu Charade. I live in the Scottish Borders near the foothills of the Cheviots. Delightful it is to watch 4WD's sliding off the road (presumably on standard tyres)whilst one just carries on. The only limit to progress is depth of snow - if it fouls the floorpan you have problems, but otherwise snow and snow/ice is just not a problem. What surprised me was the comfort, relative quietness, and wear rate (during Summer - this area can be rather wet & muddy)which was better than standard tyre. Have tried tyres on our (new) Chevrolet Matiz & results are still excellent. The wear rate is astonishingly low despite rather enthusiastic motoring. During the 1970s I learnt to drive in serious snow & ice in a 2CV fitted with 135-section Michelin X-MS - you could easily raise the suspension & the old girl was unstoppable! Snow Tyre Cynics - you are seriously, seriously, wrong!
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-01 16:20:38
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH17 given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 spirited miles
Very easy tyre to drive with, I don't understand the haters, considering every person that has had an issue with tyre wear drives a Hyundai, and everyone else is fine, maybe that's your issue? Buy a quality car... /rant

Dry grip is excellent and the tyres are rather quiet, very little squeel.
Comfortable ride.
Lower road noise than the tyres they replaced.

A lot of tyres feel good in dry conditions but are horrible in the wet, rest assured the KH17s are very decent. Even hitting one tyre on a wet patch under hard braking, the car remains stable and lockup was prevented (no ABS.)

One of the best budget tyres on the market, no question.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-15 13:23:50
Writing about the Toyo TEO plus given 80% (165-55-14-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
predictable, good dry and wet grip among the comfort tyres. The best thing is quietness and comfort. It takes a few days to get use to the softness (slightly lack of road feedback), once familiar with the characteristic, can start to push the car and do power slides.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-12 14:28:51
Writing about the Barum Brillantis 2 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 19 average miles
I got 19,400 miles out of the front tyres in 2 years, so I think that is pretty good from a so-called budget tyre and will be replacing them now they are worn down to 2mm!
tyre reviewed on 2012-02-15 13:25:06
Writing about the BFGoodrich Advantage TA given 54% (165-70-14-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-31 01:54:45
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre