Ford Mondeo Mk3 1.8 Tyres

Drive a Ford Mondeo Mk3 1.8? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Mondeo Mk3 1.8
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 (6) 92% 87% 87% 87% 95% 87% 93% 90% 11,001
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (42) 87% 83% 81% 78% 81% 86% 85% 83% 222,300
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (26) 89% 83% 82% 82% 71% 78% 83% 81% 197,810
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (199) 88% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,508,045
Momo Outrun M3 (17) 84% 73% 73% 76% 70% 82% 72% 76% 72,727
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (76) 82% 73% 69% 65% 63% 73% 52% 68% 815,337
Goodyear EfficientGrip (119) 77% 66% 61% 58% 69% 71% 52% 65% 1,454,267

Ford Mondeo Mk3 1.8 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
best tyre for the price, the grip is there dry or wet, very balanced tyre , the wear is average but they are cheap, overall you get a premium tyre for lesss money
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-26 08:13:35
Writing about the Falken EUROALL SEASON AS210 given 89% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Excellent tires ! Very good in dry and wet. Still not tested in snow but I believe they will be superb as all tests state...


The only negative , they are a little bit to the noisy side but only with windows open.

tyre reviewed on 2019-11-02 17:54:45
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 average miles
Hi readers well I lwas returning from a december driveing tour of the SCOTTISH western isles which have good roads unlike scotland mainland and after leaveing MALLAIG for SEAHAM , DURHAM the front end started to vibrate and the speed dropped to 40 a bit like driveing through sand. I stopped at FORT WILLIAM and called my
breakdown provider who has me on a transporter in 15 mins for home!!!!. my neighbour who has 20 years garage experience advised to raise each front wheel on a support and spin it on the engine, immediately the cause was found the tyre (not the wheel) was running out of true and on swopping the tyre for the spare , normality was returned !!!!. I was running on goodyears efficinity grip and have immediately bought a new set of 4 , I still have faith!!! first time Ive been recovered after 46 years driveing my 2007 mondeo drives on ....... PS If you drive the HEBs there are no garage tyre services on saturday sunday and bank hols I .was once stranded 4 days !!!
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-12 20:14:25
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 82% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
These are my first Nexen tyres. Handling with these is good on dry and wet, I had no complaints about this. Nexen N'Blue HD Plus also keeps good grip on heavy rain and pushes water out of the way. Braking feels very efficient and grippy. Comfort is okay and noise level is average. Cannot review wear rate with this little kilometers.

These may not be the best for heavy cornering, because on the 'edge' they act abit vague (Note 60% profile), so I'm not sure where the grip ends and slipping begins. Light cornering goes good, thought. Nexen price/quality -ratio goes between china-tyres and premium-tyres. Nexens are more than sufficient for everyday driving and a good purchase if you are looking for a basic good tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-01 10:35:41
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 spirited miles
When I bought the car it had major handling issues, such as strongly pulling to the left, Loss of grip and squealing in corners, and nasty wheelspin when pulling away in the wet, even when being careful with the throttle.

Despite the fact the existing tyres were not heavily worn (Marshal), I decided to replace them with something of known high quality, and found these Goodyears.

The main reason I bought them was to try and make pulling away in the wet safer; because sitting at junctions wheelspinning was getting me into trouble, but they did a lot more than that. I'm still amazed by the difference. Handling was vastly improved, the pull to the left went, and now I can take a corner hard without sliding or squealing.

Wet grip is especially impressive. It makes surprisingly little difference to them whether it is wet or not. They are very sure footed and you can rely on there being grip when you need it most. They are also very quiet on decent roads, but do roar a bit on the worn rubbish that makes up most of our local roads.

They are not perfect though. I reckon they need a few extra PSI than most other tyres would. This is because of how soft they are, the extra pressure helps them cope with weight transfer. Fuel economy is much the same, maybe slightly worse. It's good but don't expect these tyres to pay for themselves in fuel savings. They won't come close to that.

There's also a big question mark over wear. They seem to me to be the kind of tyres that would wear quickly, but more time will tell. In any case they're more than worth the high cost foar the safety.

Next time I might consider something with a stiffer sidewall but I certainly won't be buying cheap rubbish!
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-07 22:12:43
Writing about the Momo Outrun M3 given 59% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
I wanted to test these tyres because tehy were cheap , and they are rubish... you have to warm them up to get some dry grip, i nearly crashed 2 times in rain, the feedback and comfort are ok but it doesnt grip! I have them for 4000km and ill change them i cant go with them any more...
tyre reviewed on 2019-09-26 08:10:19
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 39% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28583 easy going miles
A really not good tyre to buy. If it comes with a low budget price it will be good to fit them for emergency purpose. We fit them before 4 years in our Ford Mondeo 1.8 125hp Ghia '04. They're the worst tyres we've been ever fit along with some kind of BF Goodrich we had years ago. Grip in dry tarmac was not good even when they was fresh installed. You have the feeling of planning in the road as you never felt your steering wheel and the car itself gripping nowhere. Braking in dry was not terrifying but when you hit the brakes the car stops a lot of meters away,while sliding like you have not abs. The same in wet tarmac grip and braking, not good at all,you feel safety walking away from you. Wear rate was not good,again. After 1 and a half year you clearly see rifts and small pieces of rubber were missing. They're "vanishing" extremely quick. Strangely, the rest 2 and a half years they worn out a bit slower. Road noise is average,not very noisy not quiet, as ride comfort was average too. The best tyres we have ever fit was the SportContact 2. It will be "ok" if they are very low budget tyres but when you give your money for Bridgestones you deserve more. Very low quality rubber. I can admit that the T001 are selling good out in the market and also that not every tyre fitting well in every car BUT that not mean that these tyres are very bad and of course i will not buy again any Bridgestone models because i had a very bad "reconciliation" with Adrenalines RE002 in my other car, a Fabia vrs. Again a very bad tyre. Strongly not recomended.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-22 20:44:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre