Holden Vectra V6 Tyres

Drive a Holden Vectra V6? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Holden Vectra V6
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (19) 86% 79% 79% 73% 81% 89% 78% 81% 121,108
Michelin Energy Saver (119) 84% 73% 76% 72% 86% 80% 71% 78% 2,702,908
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Yokohama S Drive (61) 83% 69% 75% 76% 71% 68% 68% 73% 620,003
Toyo T1R (277) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,609,683
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72% 69% 72% 555,558
Yokohama S306 (17) 82% 59% 68% 62% 74% 64% 53% 66% 184,050
Marangoni Mythos (28) 70% 57% 57% 62% 62% 59% 57% 60% 234,637
Sunny SN3970 (44) 71% 49% 55% 54% 65% 55% 46% 56% 492,725
Fullrun HP199 (74) 47% 27% 32% 32% 55% 27% 24% 35% 478,451

Holden Vectra V6 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P1 given 97% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
Got an old vectra wagon, so it was never going to handle well. But the roads where I live a very slippery and with the V6 I got a lot of tyre spin on certain parts in the dry under low acceleration. These new tyres absolutely stopped all of this. Possibly due the old tyres being hard and old, but these were a night and day difference in grip in both wet and dry. Really impressive in the wet actually. I also found the rate at which you lost grip, and then regained it while cornering quite predictable and reassuring. Another noticeable difference was smoothness and quietness of the ride. I have done about 3,000 miles in them, so can't comment on wear yet. If I have one complaint I have the feeling the grip is not the same now as when new - slightly reduced in both wet and dry, but still very good. All in all my confidence in being able to get round a corner and stop in time in an emergency has been greatly increased. So far I am very happy with them, would recommend them and buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-03 10:23:36
Writing about the Firestone TZ200 given 93% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Very good tyres for the price. I would recommend these, they are approved by Vauxhall dealers. I just wish they make these in 19 inch so I can use them my other car...

tyre reviewed on 2010-07-22 23:59:19
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 91% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Got a pair of these for my really old Vectra sri. It's the much more expensive than its rivals but i know its wear rate is brilliant and it's one of the best tyres for this class. Makes the car much more confident at wet braking.

Got sold a pair of Firehawk by the Vauxhall dealer for almost the same price as the Michelins. Gutted.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-13 23:46:54
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
It may be early days but I have just put my second Avon ZV5 on my V6 Vectra SRi. It has replaced a budget tyre that was about 12 months and worn out well beyond the legal limit, whilst the Avon ZV5 on the other wheel looked as good as new. Now having Avons on both front wheels the ride is softer and quieter. I don't push the car to it's limits but it does feel very stable in corners, and probably due to having new grip (and not one slick) it turns in much more cleanly without any scuffing. Great price, good life, quiet and plenty of grip, thumbs up.
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-19 14:55:40
Writing about the Yokohama S306 given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
The best good priced tyre I have ever had. I drive quite hard and have never had a problem with these Tyres, neither in dry or wet conditions. I didn't have any wear problems with the yokos as I did with other Tyres of the same price. I did find in the snow that they gripped really well and always passed other less unfortunate drivers, but I did have traction control so tale it with that in mind. I now have a Mondeo TDI and will be changing the cheap budgets It has on it with S306s when they are worn out.
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-08 20:50:11
Writing about the Fullrun HP199 given 74% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I have these tyres on the front of a front-wheel drive 3.2 V6 Vectra. I have tried other budget brnads, and these seem to do quite well.

Dry grip is better than some top of the range brands, wet grip is not bad either.

These tyres are hard, so they will need to be fully warm before you try to enter a hairpin at 80mph etc. But during normal driving they are perfectly fine.

I have had expensive tyres, and find they wear very quickly compared to these.

I would not describe them as 'ditchfinders' i think this reflects more on the driver than the tyre. They are no slick, which is what i think some people expect from tyres. Poor tyre grip and finding ditches could be anything from castor and canber angle to the offset of the wheels and the tyres should not be immediately blamed.

I would recommend these to a friend
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-29 18:05:36
Writing about the Yokohama S Drive given 63% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3 spirited miles
I bought the s.drives as a replacement for my Toyo T1-Rs. They are just as good overall, if a little more costly. The dry handling is very good, with pleanty of grip on acceleration, and less slip when conering compared to the T1-Rs. They are surefooted tyres and a little more confident in the wet than the toyos, and *touch wood* no push on understeer in the wet, which i experienced with the proxes.

The tyres are very uncomfortable for a performance tyre, compared to the proxes but the payoff is I am confident they will keep me on the road.

Turing though sharp bends in the wet is precise, although there is no real feeling of how close to the limit they are. In the dry the noise on hard cornering, such as a roundabout is excessive. People often mistake the noise for slipping, but it wasn't. The noise is a by-product of hard use, which some users may not like.

It is a good tyre, but the noise and that fact that they are too hard means that next change i will try a set of Pilots.

Appologies for the comparison with proxes, but i have run those for the last 4 years as the standard tyres made me slide all over the place.
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-02 20:50:26
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 61% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-21 09:03:24
Writing about the Marangoni Mythos given 43% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
I bought a full set of these tyres for my Vectra 2.6V6 and suffice to say they were good at first but have only lasted 4 months and are worn out. Ive only been driving locally roughly 3000 miles and dont drive to extremes. I,m very disappointed with the quality of these tyres. I,m now looking at an all season tyre as they have a better lifespan.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-15 14:39:21
Writing about the Sunny SN3970 given 17% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
awful tyres extremelu dangerous shouldn't be on the market. just bought vectra vxr with these on it 2 weeks ago. no road feel through steering even in dry conditions and an absolute liability in the wet, like driving on black ice. they just let go on corners with no warning at all. terrible road noise and sounds as though a wheel bearing is away. also won't stay balanced. i know they're cheap but please don't ever buy these if you value your life and your car.
tyre reviewed on 2011-08-13 17:41:20
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre