Honda Prelude Tyres

Drive a Honda Prelude? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Honda Prelude
Nokian Z (7) 90% 80% 79% 83% 87% 80% 90% 84% 145,000
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80% 78% 81% 1,412,351
Cooper Zeon XTC (6) 80% 72% 80% 77% 63% 73% 77% 75% 62,700
Toyo T1R (280) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,639,683
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (153) 83% 77% 76% 73% 60% 65% 65% 71% 2,261,801
Toyo Proxes 4 (44) 80% 62% 71% 65% 77% 75% 63% 70% 497,862
Firestone F700 (8) 84% 61% 74% 73% 71% 69% 60% 70% 138,510
Kumho Ecsta AST KU25 (8) 83% 66% 68% 65% 71% 49% 54% 65% 67,120
Sunny SN3630 (7) 69% 41% 54% 50% 83% 70% 50% 60% 62,514
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57% 49% 55% 1,078,616
Ceat Formula I BT (1) 70% 20% 40% 30% 90% 30% 10% 41% 30,000

Honda Prelude Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian Z given 89% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
Bought these tyres to replace Bridgestone Potenza's. These tyres are highly rated in northern Europe, made in Finland. Was a bit scepticle about them as they were only ?60 per corner fitted compared to the ?115 for the Bridgestones which had lasted only 8K miles, best decision I have made! When coming up to a corner at speed you know you are going to get round it, be it wet or dry. You can feel the tyres traction breaking away when pushing too hard so have time to react. Tyres now done 7K and only half worn so they are very good value for money. Came out very well in a recent Which? survey, only problem is they are very hard to source in the UK so I don't know if I will be able to replace them when they are done.
tyre reviewed on 2009-07-20 09:35:14
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 87% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 average miles
Very good, much better than the Toyos I had before
tyre reviewed on 2011-10-24 16:14:30
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 83% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
Very good tyre. Ia m very happy with them, alghthou they wear a bit faster than i expected, but on the other hand, I do drive a bit more agresive, then average drivers
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-16 18:22:39
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 83% (205-55-15-V)
Driving on mostly town for 10 average miles
Yes, if you drive like a idiot and have a car with a numb chassis, then you will spin out on every corner in the wet. But if you drive well without exceeding the laws of physics whilst still making good progress, these tyres are fine.

Had them on my completely standard Prelude 2.3 and have had no issues, I have just ordered a pair for the back too.

I have had Yokos, F1's, P-Zero's and lots more brands and I haven't noticed the difference in the dry and I don't push my cars in the wet as the wet is unpredictable whatever tyres you have on - I realised this after I crashed an older car on a wet road whilst I had Eagle F1's on.

So, all in all if you are a decent driver who can apply common sense and can drive within your limits and that of the road conditions these tyres will suit you (and your wallet) fine.

Just ignore all the "i ragged my car on the nurburgring in the wet in my Corsa and they didn't handle as well as my old Pirelli's did, in fact I crashed and almost died!" type comments.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-06 14:48:06
Writing about the Firestone F700 given 81% (195-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Smooth comfortable ride, provided very good wet grip from the off with positive steering.
tyre reviewed on 2008-11-01 12:41:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
very nice tyre lasted for 8000 miles

the grip in the wet and dry was very very good. although the best performance happened once they had warmed up, they were a bit greasy for the first mile of the journey.

the road noise and comfort was excellent.

good performance tyre for reasonable price
tyre reviewed on 2009-05-05 00:10:55
Writing about the Sunny SN3630 given 80% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14 spirited miles
I got these tyres as i need it some very cheap tyres, because i was very tight on my budget. I was very surprised by these tyres, very good road holding in dry, good cornering speed, better then average on wet roads, and in ireland its always wet. They arent as good under heavy acceleration on wet, my car just goes side way if i accelerate from roundabout heavy in wet. I drive 225bhp fwd car, and like to push it a bit. Mite be good on less powerfull cars. In recent snow they were very slippy. Iv done 19 000km, and wear is very good, but ill be changing them for uniroyal rain2, or conti sport 5 sometimes soon.
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-05 14:06:04
Writing about the Toyo Proxes 4 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
Amazing tyres. All future tyres will be Toyos! Hold on well in the wet, and even in snow/ice. Excellent in dry. Only realised how amazing they are, after moving to a cheaper brand.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-02 01:32:33
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta AST KU25 given 77% (205-50-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have used these tires for a mix of city and highway driving. These are good everyday tires. These are not good for spirited driving. Buy these if you need a set of tires for your daily driver. They last long and are affordable.
tyre reviewed on 2008-05-06 23:06:07
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 76% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-15 18:45:28
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre