Honda VFR 800 Tyres

Drive a Honda VFR 800? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Honda VFR 800
Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 (38) 92% 85% 89% 89% 89% 92% 91% 90% 180,950
Michelin Pilot Power 3 (5) 92% 82% 92% 92% 86% 88% 88% 89% 24,885
Metzeler ROADTEC 01 (12) 92% 91% 93% 86% 74% 92% 75% 86% 52,008
Bridgestone Battlax BT016 Pro Hypersport (6) 88% 77% 78% 90% 70% 87% 83% 82% 15,400
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (25) 87% 71% 76% 77% 89% 84% 83% 81% 169,700
Pirelli Angel GT (9) 83% 81% 76% 76% 84% 84% 79% 80% 31,150
Continental ContiRoad Attack (11) 83% 72% 83% 79% 84% 83% 72% 79% 29,050
Bridgestone S20 (11) 88% 78% 81% 87% 52% 80% 72% 77% 25,870
Michelin Power Pure (4) 80% 75% 73% 75% 78% 88% 63% 76% 9,500
Bridgestone BATTLAX SPORT TOURING T30 (8) 85% 73% 77% 66% 70% 80% 71% 74% 45,400

Honda VFR 800 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Metzeler ROADTEC 01 given 96% (180-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
Very nice tire.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-26 09:59:40
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT016 Pro Hypersport given 90% (120-70-17-)
Driving on for 0 average miles
Used the BT 016 tyres for year on different bikes. I think they are great. Toured France on a set and rain and shine never once felt uncomfortable with them. Would I buy again? - just did.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-18 22:23:33
Writing about the Bridgestone BATTLAX SPORT TOURING T30 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6400 spirited miles
Having now covered 6000 miles 10k km. Riding a VFR800 IN ALL weathers both single and two up with luggage on high-speed long distance motorway trips and shorter A and B road thrashing, these tyres have been excelent. Grippy and stable even at 0 degrees Celsius in heavy rain. A bit squared of on the rear after repeated motorway use is all, still have 3-5 mm tread depth and am confident they'd be good for another 1500 miles, with more balanced riding. Almost S20 performance but with more than double the life. Can't fault them.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-18 21:29:02
Writing about the Pirelli Angel GT given 80% (120-70-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5500 spirited miles
When new, the front/rear combo felt great. As the front wore (my VFR800 eats front tyres) it started under-steering lots and i lost confidence in it and could not wait for it to wear out completely and be replaced. One section of the front tread pattern where a small block exists on the edge and is unsupported it wears (scrubs) much quicker and goes to the bottom of the tread whereas the rest of the tyre has tread remaining. Rear tyre has a flat profile from new (big footprint when vertical) and gets flatter as it wears. Tip into corners a bit slow but not too bad and you get used to it. Wet performance is good. Super comfortable for touring. The front tyre's construction is not stiff enough for me and as it wore it started feeling mushy and lost feel/feedback. Rear felt good till the end. Reluctant to use front tyre again and while rear is OK, it's profile is not optimal for hills riding. Have moved on the different tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-16 12:26:03
Writing about the Bridgestone S20 given 77% (180-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
Took the bike to Germany earlier this month to enjoy the quiet sweepers and hairpins of the Eifel Mountains. The tyres got a good workout.Great grip from the S20 Evo on the front under heavy braking (I have a BT023 on the rear), progressive feel as the lean angle increased. At least as good as the PR4s I had on my previous bike. Recommended, I ride a VFR800Fi-Y
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-16 19:05:12
Writing about the Bridgestone BATTLAX SPORT TOURING T30 given 77% (190-55-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-26 19:15:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 3 given 76% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Great sports tyre with fantastic grip BUT.... I fitted a rear to my VFR800 and it wasn't right for me. I usually ride Pilot Road 2 or 3 and this is a big step away from them. I've never had to warm pilot roads but this was twitchy in the dry and spin up in the wet when cold! Wear is good for levels of dry grip but nowhere near pilot road 2/3

If dry grip on a sports bike is required these fit the bill perfectly. Certainly not an all round fast commute tyre for cold British mornings.

tyre reviewed on 2016-03-05 05:39:58
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 64% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
I have had many tyres on my VFR Vtec, I ride all year round, wet and dry. I have used many brands, always looking to balance grip and life. Other tyres I have used on the bike are:

BT020
BT021
Pilot Road
Pilot Sport
Pilot Road 2
Pilot 2ct
Conti Road attack.

sadly my "Buy British" attitude bit me this time and I have to say, in the wet these tyres are just not good enough. I have had the back break away under mild acceleration, they take ages (if ever) to get any heat into them and the front lacks feel when pushed in the dry. Its such a shame as the life of these tyres was looking good, but i would rather have the pilot road 2 over these any day despite the extra expense.

Come on Avon, please improve these, i want to buy British but your not making it easy for us.
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-27 11:06:15
Writing about the Bridgestone BATTLAX SPORT TOURING T30 given 61% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
I’ve had the T30 on my VFR 800 Vtec for 2 months covering 2500 miles (4000KM).
In that time they have covered "fun" rides and commuting on a mixture of roads with and without luggage, both in and out of town.
The grip levels are fine in the dry for a tyre with expect high mileage capability, compared to the S20 Evo Tyres fitted before, the bike squirms and slips a little more in both wet and dry conditions on surface changes in corners, noticeable mostly on the rear, it’s not accident causing, but noticeable. In the wet the tyre is good and holds on nicely, metal covers should be avoided though. Recently on a 240 mile wet run on the motorway 60 - 85MPH (100 – 140KM) in heavy rain and spray, I had no cause to doubt the tyres; the T30 is stable and comfortable at speed even with running water on the road. Good wear rates observed so far; starting to notice a little wear, this tyre should see me through the winter at 1200 miles a month.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-18 10:16:27
Writing about the Michelin Power Pure given 60% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Put a pair on my VFR800 and was disappointed from the off. I'm a massive Michelin fan and rarely suffer anything else but these were not for me. The long parallel treads down the centre make it feel like the front tyre is flat. Even counter steering is now a chore. As I start to lean I can feel the step in compound change- it's like driving off a kerb! Wear isn't as good as other Michelin 2ct but much better than Bridestones and others I've run before. Wet grip is very good but they do need warming up.
To be fair these tyres weren't aimed at a fat bloke on an old sport tourer but I've got used to expecting the very best from Michelin. Back to Pilot Road 2s....
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-16 07:55:01
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre