Jaguar XF Tyres

Drive a Jaguar XF? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Jaguar XF
Vredestein Ultrac Satin (29) 94% 92% 89% 90% 85% 91% 93% 91% 141,760
Pirelli Cinturato P7 All Season Plus (2) 100% 90% 95% 100% 95% 95% 85% 89% 35,000
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (56) 93% 90% 88% 89% 85% 89% 87% 89% 244,200
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (92) 94% 85% 90% 88% 85% 86% 87% 88% 801,635
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (276) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 83% 3,726,734
Matador MP 47 Hectorra 3 (17) 84% 77% 79% 82% 77% 81% 81% 80% 112,800
Dunlop SP StreetResponse (6) 80% 83% 80% 78% 83% 65% 73% 77% 59,105
Primewell Sport 910 (23) 83% 76% 76% 76% 74% 73% 71% 76% 193,503
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66% 73% 75% 818,878
Pirelli Dragon Sport (5) 76% 78% 78% 56% 80% 68% 80% 74% 21,109
Pirelli P Zero (104) 85% 72% 78% 73% 62% 67% 58% 71% 1,787,673
Pirelli P Zero Runflat (26) 83% 69% 73% 70% 60% 68% 59% 69% 214,320
Accelera PHI R (7) 83% 52% 72% 72% 70% 77% 55% 69% 26,002
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (145) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64% 54% 67% 2,105,560
Nankang NS2 (202) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 60% 66% 1,755,779
Accelera PHI (133) 69% 46% 54% 53% 67% 59% 51% 57% 1,182,762
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (126) 70% 48% 57% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,244,457
Haida HD921 (32) 60% 43% 48% 47% 49% 39% 32% 45% 196,100
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47% 28% 44% 95,152
Autogrip F107 (125) 57% 27% 44% 37% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,261

Jaguar XF Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 100% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 spirited miles
My second set of Vredestein, although my first set were Sessanta's which were fantastic but poor in the snow / ice. Yes I know they area a summer tyre but be honest how many of us Brits swap to winter tyres?

Anyway, I wasn't too sure about swapping to the Vorti's however I am equally impressed with them - they are brilliant, I really push them as the Jag is a big heavy car 1.8 tons so using these tyres on the car really tests them. I have to say the car drives like its on rails. Its very very hard to get the back end to lose traction even when pushed in the wet.

I don't think I will ever buy another make of tyre again.

Don't hesitate to buy these they are sheer class!!!

Forgot to mention I have had around 27,000 miles out of a set of Sessanta's so I'm pretty much expecting the same out of these.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-19 00:46:18
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 100% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
This tyre is a revelation! My XF never did feel quite right of Dunlop Sport Maxx tyres, these are totally different. Responsive, excellent road feel, much quieter than the Dunlops, good fuel consumption.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-03 08:58:28
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 99% (245-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Update to previous review.

I rescently fitted another full set of these as I was so delighted with the last set. However I got another pleasant surprise!
The two fronts still had some life in them but the rears were done. However the car failed its first MOT because of one of the fronts had a small bulge in the side wall! I was a bit confused by this utill I remembered that I hit a curb in a car park hard (was not paying attention) I got out of the car to see what I had done to my wheel to find there was not a mark on it! The tyre had taken the full impact but it must have damaged the side wall in the process.
When I went to get the new set, the dealer said that all MAXXIS tyres have a life time guarantee and as there was still 40% usable life on that tyre he was going to take 40% off one of the new ones! Outstanding MAXXIS! Even bigger fan now.
Just one thing though, I was getting some new tyres for my mountain bike and saw MAXXIS in the shop so thought I'll have a set of these. But to my horror, MAXXIS appear to have made a bit of a name for themselves in the Cycle world so are a major premium brand in cycling. I ain't paying one hundred quid for a pair of bike tyres! It's amazing how brand awareness affects price...
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-16 02:15:39
Writing about the Maxxis MA Z1 Victra given 97% (245-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
When I took delivery of a 2 year old Jaguar XF I was really pissed off that the car had a new set of "cheepo" tyres on it. I was going to complain to the dealer as this was a Jaguar approved car and I expected premium rubber. However after driving the car for a few days I found I really could not fault these MA-Z1's at all.
In the dry, their grip is exeptional. I love rear wheel drive cars, have had 3 BMW's previously and enjoy getting their back ends out on corners when the mood takes me. This is very hard on the tyres and again these MAXXIS have impressed with wear rates. They are very progressive, no OMG! moments at all. In fact the grip is so good you have to push hard to get them to give up the grip!

In the wet, I would have to say, just as impressed. Of course you get less grip than dry but still loads there. I was surprised to read in another review here that they did not like these tyres for deep water. I totally disagree. I think they cut through puddled or surface water as well or probably better than any other tyre I have used.

In the snow, well this year has been super mild so only a few days in snowy conditions. But these tyres are all season and worked way better than a premium summer tyre. To the point I have decided to scrap my idea of getting a set of Winter rubber and instead purchest a set of snow chains for emergencys. A £40 option v's £1000!!!!

The rear tyres are now getting close to needing replaced and as expected, they are not performing as well as they did when new. I had no hesitation to look at putting these back on the car so was further delighted when I found a dealer locally selling these fitted, ballanced and with VAT for just over £90 a corner. Compared to premium tyres at around £200-£300 each!

If I had to make a negetive remark, it would be that they are a bit noisier than a Premium Summer tyre. But for all the positives, that is a very small price to pay.

In short, love these tyres, they preform well, look great, are afordable and the MAXXIS babes are gorgeous ;) Well done guys......
tyre reviewed on 2012-01-11 17:37:38
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Satin given 91% (245-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 60 spirited miles
This is the best tyre I have ever put on a car! Smooth, fantastic grip in the wet, inspires confidence on all road surfaces and the wear is unbelievable. I have had them on my Jaguar XF for over a year now and covered over 60,000 miles and they are still going strong with lots of wear left on them. Will certainly buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-27 21:13:43
Writing about the Primewell Sport 910 given 91% (265-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
I thought i would give these tyres a go as they seemed like a higher end, budget tyre.

And thats exactly what they are. I was very impressed all round. They are not better than expensive branded tyres, as you do get what you pay for BUT for mainly driving up and down the motorway as i do for my job, they have ticked all the boxes for me.

They are quiet, handle great in the wet and great in the dry. The back end of the Jag has never skipped out on me like other budget tyres have done and i really was impressed by these.
Primewell tyres are usually rubbish however the 910's seem to have been made much better imo. They still have lots of tread left and i bought a full set for under £300! So price wise to - tyre wear and performance. You can't compare really.

I'm much happier taking away the extra things you get from an expensive branded tyre, which on the type of driving that i do, i don't receive the benefits - so i would prefer to save money in the long run etc

They are a budget tyre but definitely a very very good one and possibly the best in the 'budget' tyre category/range and i will buy these again for sure.

Anyone on here who is comparing these tyres to a high end expensive brand tyre is a fool. Its like comparing different tools for different jobs etc like a Fiat Panda to a Sports car.

For normal driving/motorway and A roads, these are a very good budget tyre to get.

If you want a tyre for track days and fast road use, why are you looking at buying budget tyres?!?! Buy some fast road/track tyres instead.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-28 12:39:43
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 90% (255-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 23000 average miles
Excellent all round performance and wear rate
tyre reviewed on 2011-05-21 16:39:10
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 All Season Plus given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
I have done around 15 k so far in a 3.0D jaguar xf and the front have at least 15k life still left. The rears tho are have 5k left max. In the beast from the east! Me and my jag drove 30 miles thought the Scottish country side and the grip was phenomenal. Through 3 inch snow on the roads I never got stuck! They slipped a bit but I got home! My brother bm count even get off the street never mind to work in that. Having gone through a big pot hole one tyre got a massive bulge and had to be replaced when nearly new. Now as the rear tyres are near the end I've found a bulge in one of them as well so durability is not the best. I believe this was the cause of a vibration issue to. Because if this I will go go back to the best. Michilen!
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-06 23:27:11
Writing about the Pirelli Dragon Sport given 89% (245-40-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 4000 easy going miles
I have put these tyres onto a 2010 Jaguar XF with 19” oem wheels. My main priorities were noise and comfort, followed by price, wear, and grip.

I’m located in NSW, Australia so my experience here has been a mix of new and old roads, smooth and coarse chip, mostly dry, and mostly at 60-100kph speeds.

My tyre search started due to the fact that I was previously using kumho ku39, and had discovered that one of the near new front tyres was out of round, and I wasn’t willing to take the risk again with a mid tier brand. My ku39 had 95% tread on the front and 15% on the rear.

The DragonSport grip has been good however I am not a spirited driver, with the exception of taking roundabouts a bit faster at times. I haven’t had any issue with these tyres on various roads. They feel quite stable and not floaty.

The tyres have fairly good noise levels over coarse chip roads, and are very quiet over smooth asphalt. I suspect it would be hard to do much better without going to a Michelin primacy, which has a significant price increase.

Comfort/harshness is good. They are definitely more comfortable than the ku39 and less “crashy” over joins in the road. A minus for me is there’s still a decent amount of road feedback, as I wouldn’t have liked for it to absorb the bumps a bit better. I am running them at 36 psi, instead of the jaguar recommended 32.

Fuel economy has been good, with around 5% better fuel economy than the ku39.

Ultimately I chose this tyre due to the number of reviews noting its noise level over coarse chip, a good treadlife rating above most of the competition, brand name, and the fact I found it on sale ($239 each). However I would still buy it at it’s more normal pricing of ($285 each).

Overall I would definitely buy this tyre again. Its a good touring tyre, that is well priced, which is surprisingly hard to find in the 245/40/19 size.

I did find that the tyres took a few hundred kms to break in. I had some steering wheel shake at 80ks despite having had a balance and alignment when fitted. Since then, it has gone except at 110kph where there is a pronounced shake but it is very specific to the speed so I suspect it just needs another balance after wearing in.

In my research prior to purchase I considered the Pilot sport 4 (too expensive, never on sale, noisy), RE003 (pricier, noisier, this would have been my #2 choice), Cooper CS5 (hit and miss reviews, USA based reviews particularly poor), Goodyear eagle f1 asymmetric (pricier), Primacy 3 (expensive, poor tread life), Falken FK150 (limited reviews online, mid tier brand), contisportconact5 (very poor treadlife), Hankook Evo2 (harsher,noisy, fuel inefficient)
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-24 10:53:57
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 spirited miles
I really cant fault this tyre, wear rate has been fantastic, grip is brilliant both wet and dry, even in snow and ice the grip is acceptable from a summer tyre. Driven slowly I had no issues.

I have just replaced the rear tyres with Vredesteins purely down to cost - £252 v £162 it really is a no brainer when the Vreds have a better write up from us consumers. I hoping im not going to be disapointed, as I loved the Dunlops they were awesome....Just hoping the Vreds perform as well.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-11 18:10:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre