Jeep Patriot Tyres

Drive a Jeep Patriot? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Jeep Patriot
Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 (12) 84% 91% 86% 85% 88% 83% 93% 87% 115,000
Zeta Antarctica 6 (2) 80% 80% 80% 65% 90% 80% 95% 81% 25,300
Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV (21) 82% 75% 76% 74% 66% 73% 66% 73% 402,594
Continental Premium Contact 2 (187) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,279,189
Wanli Snowgrip S1083 (7) 70% 49% 60% 49% 70% 63% 50% 50% 48,500

Jeep Patriot Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Winter Sport M3 given 100% (215-60-17-R)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
Back in October I was unable to locate a set of Vredstein's excellent Wintrac Xtreme tyres for my new car, so I looked around & had my local Tyre Fitter source these Dunlops for Winter period use instead.

Now at the back end of January I can confirm, (despite my reservations) in cold weather conditions these are as good as the Xtreme !

In the dry I can put power down from a standing start, without wheel spin; & in real wet weather downpours, the tyres road grip under breaking is nothing short of superb !

In the snow & ice you get really positive feedback from the tyres; whilst everybody elses tyres are spinning, you are making safe & surefooted progress !

The Dunlop's SP Winter Sport M3 is SO much a better tyre than the vehicle's factory fit Contipremium Contact2 tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-25 13:43:55
Writing about the Wanli Snowgrip S1083 given 99% (215-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I've tried them in the high snow and in a snow storm as well as on ice.
on my 4x4 Jeep patriot they've been amazingly successful! I would have never expected! I've been going uphill and downhill on 1/2 meter snow and my car has never gone back!
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-02 18:38:16
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV given 96% (215-60-17-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Put a set on my jeep patriot and the grip was unbelievable! Drove like a sports car, chucked it into corners and it just gripped, never found the limit before I sold the car. Really good tyres, did a bit off soft off roading and they performed well, never spun or struggled for traction. Would definitely recommend to anyone over any other tyres I tried on the jeep, especially the continentals it originally came with
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-22 21:14:01
Writing about the Zeta Antarctica 6 given 85% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 300 average miles
Great winter tires! I recently had them installed and immediately upon leaving the garage they got their first workout as it was a slushy, snowy, freezing rain storm and the roads were very slick. I noticed they had great traction on a unplowed wet slushy road. I have four wheel drive but didn't have any need to engage it. I tried to overpower the tires to make them spin but to my surprise I simply accelerated smoothly with no spin or slip. They're very quiet on the road and make no more noise than the all-season radials I had on previously.
The handling is a bit more "floaty" than with standard tires but not very noticeable compared to most winter tires.
Will definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-16 13:55:26
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 46% (215-60-17-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Continental tyres are definitely overrated! I've tried lots of different tyres and these weren't good, they were average grip on dry and wet, cost a rediculess amount of money and started cracking in the tread very quickly in summer but that never got bad as they were bald in 6000 miles and the car didn't have enough power to wheel spin and they were original equipment on the car. Wouldn't buy again, get goodyear efficientgrip suv!
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-22 21:20:07
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 37% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 9000 average miles
Factory fitted, so I had no choice on the selection of these tyres; & I have no clue now as to what Jeep were thinking of when they specified them !

Unlike their name, there is nothing actually 'premium' about these tyres !

I had assumed that the poor tyre feedback in dry conditions, was as a compromise for a hard compound choice to improve longtivity ?

Actually after 9,000 Spring, Summer, Autumn road miles usage they are, a.)close to end of life, & b.) there was no way I was going to risk driving the car with them on over the Winter anyway !

So for Winter I elected to fit Dunlop Winter Sport M3's, & they REALLY have showed this Conti tyre up !

In the wet whilst breaking, these Conti's add yards on your stopping distance.

From a standing start, (& with some power dialled in) the tyres would love to spin up,(if you were to let them) rather than grip & get you off the line.

Tyre grip in general from these Conti's is poor such that on a certain roundabout on my commute, the lack of it regularly panics the vehicle's Traction Control !

Do yourself a favour and fit ANYTHING else other than these !
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-25 14:26:46
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre