Kawasaki ZX6R Tyres

Drive a Kawasaki ZX6R? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Kawasaki ZX6R
Michelin Power GP (3) 100% 77% 90% 93% 90% 97% 100% 92% 2,500
Michelin Pilot Power 3 (5) 92% 82% 92% 92% 86% 88% 88% 89% 24,885
Dunlop Sportsmart (10) 93% 78% 89% 90% 82% 84% 96% 87% 39,700
Michelin Pilot Road 2 (15) 90% 80% 86% 81% 89% 85% 75% 84% 108,000
Avon Storm 2 Ultra (26) 86% 70% 75% 75% 88% 83% 80% 80% 169,700
Michelin Pilot Power 2CT (12) 91% 69% 84% 61% 76% 86% 80% 78% 47,612
Pirelli Dragon Supercorsa Pro (10) 97% 48% 90% 89% 55% 78% 88% 78% 32,800
Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact (6) 87% 68% 76% 65% 63% 78% 65% 72% 26,500
Pirelli Diablo Corsa III (10) 87% 68% 81% 65% 55% 75% 61% 70% 32,756
Bridgestone Battlax BT 016 (24) 72% 47% 63% 65% 51% 64% 47% 59% 77,400

Kawasaki ZX6R Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Road 2 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 11000 spirited miles
Have 11,000 miles on my zx6r and they still look great. I expect maybe 2000 more miles left until their toast. These are mainly used for commuting 40 miles round trip to work at 90mph-100mph on the freeway. I am definitely buying another set. 40psi front and 41 psi rear.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-24 18:52:16
Writing about the Michelin Power GP given 93% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
Got these power gps fitted last week and we have had some dry roads so I took them for a full 2 day blast to see how they performed,
Initial ride was fantastic 100 miles in just shy of 2 hours and they were scrubbed in side to side, they warm up quick and offer amazing grip even in damp conditions even though they only have 6.5% tread on the face of the tyre, before these I was running on Michelin power rs. The predecessor of these and all I can say is Iím very impressed already and can not wait to get some 20+ degrees days to really warm them up properly and hammer them
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-15 12:01:58
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 3 given 91% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Great all rounder. Very good dry grip both on the road and track. They also behave nicely in wet, but you need to keep your bike upright without silly lean angles, because those tyres are pretty much like slicks on the edges. Once you run out of the thread on the contact path it's not going to hold you in wet. For road use it's never going to be a problem, plenty of thread where it's needed.
After 6000 miles and 3 track days there is still some life in them left. After a few more track days this year I'll buy another set of Pilot Power 3 tyres. They do all that I need from motorcycle tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-10 22:25:46
Writing about the Dunlop Sportsmart given 91% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Nearly 5000 miles on these tyres and Ive just gotten onto the wear bars. Very good even wear despite commuting for the first 3000 miles.

Extremely confident inspiring - 120mph knee drag and powerslides up to around 150mph. The tyre doesnt reach a "cliff" when grip runs out, instead it just taps you on the shoulder and gives you a quiet warning.

At the end of the tyres life, the grip doesnt just disappear, instead you start getting slides more frequently - I have had a few front end slides but more rear from early and abrupt throttle application.

These tyres really take a hammering and soak up bumps beautifully. These tyres also enable me to keep up with my buddy who uses D211 GP Racers
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-06 10:22:15
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 89% (160-60-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
Excellent tyres, especially on a sports 600.
Warm up quickly and grip brilliantly in both the wet and dry, had them on the edge in the wet loads of times now and they're so confidence inspiring.
There are other sport touring tyres out there that I'd like to try but for now these will be my first choice having tried the BT021 and rate the Avon Storm 2 Ultras much much higher in all respects so far.
tyre reviewed on 2010-07-24 00:37:02
Writing about the Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact given 87% (180-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 miles
I bought the bike with metzeler sportec M3s on the from and the rear, the tyres were nearly new, I've ridden the bike for 3.000 miles sinse I had bought it and the rear tyre 180 55 17 has 1.4m of treat left on the center and 2-4mil going to the edges the tyres grip has been excellent on corners and setting off, once or twice I have had very small wheel spin setting off very quickly but as quick as I set off they were gripping, even with 1.4mil left they still have superb grip I don't go out a lot in the wet but when I did I had no problems with these tyres although these tyres are the M3s they do not make them anymore I have recently bought an M5 for my bike, I am sure his review is relevant as it's still the same tyre only an upgraded pattern so the M5s should be just as good if not better than my M3s even having a passenger the bike grips excellent on bends and stopping, they are priced right for what they give I've no problems with this tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-19 13:32:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 2CT given 86% (180-55-17-R)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Just covered 3000 miles on this tyre and there unbelievable. Very sticky once warm. And incredible feed back
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-13 10:20:01
Writing about the Avon Storm 2 Ultra given 77% (170-60-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
A lack of grip in the rear in severe rain alerted me to the fact the rear was close to the wear limit. Having checked the mileage the rear had done almost 12000 miles! The front has done 6000 miles and still has life left.

The tyres have served me well on a mixture of commuting and weekend rides. I did lose the front in rain under heavy braking but can I attribute that to the tyre? I don't think I can but how any other tyre may have handled the situation I can't answer. For the price and life these tyre are a good choice for sport touring.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-15 21:15:41
Writing about the Pirelli Dragon Supercorsa Pro given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I have these on my zx6r road bike which are great for dry weather grip but living in the UK not so good because it rains too much,I will be putting them on my track bike and stick to an O16.
tyre reviewed on 2012-06-22 12:32:10
Writing about the Pirelli Diablo Corsa III given 64% (170-55-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Ambivelent feelings on this. Better than most if the conditions are right but awful if not. If the weather is below 30'C and its dry you'll struggle to find a better tyre they're great. When its really hot tarmac the grip loses consitency and responsiveness for some reason but mid range dry waether they are AWESOME. In the wet they work at about 50% of what they can be which is a big difference if you ride in Britan all the time. Very comfortable and smooth, first knee down on this set (2000NINJA6R) but conditions have to be right and the WEAR IS TERRIBLE. Dont know eactly how many miles but they lasted me two-three months of 'spirited riding' to work and locally on a nice day which is half of what i got from contis + michellin
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-28 14:49:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre