Kia Motors Picanto Tyres

Drive a Kia Motors Picanto? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Kia Motors Picanto
Hankook Optimo 4S (31) 86% 86% 79% 78% 77% 87% 90% 83% 334,352
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (42) 87% 83% 81% 78% 81% 86% 85% 83% 222,300
Hankook Optimo K406 (9) 90% 83% 87% 61% 66% 66% 66% 74% 223,964
Kumho Winter Craft WP51 (11) 81% 71% 67% 69% 80% 83% 66% 74% 42,600
Kumho Solus KH15 (24) 76% 69% 71% 60% 75% 80% 72% 72% 240,604
Rapid p309 (3) 87% 63% 53% 75% 60% 77% 77% 70% 3,200
Kumho Solus KH17 (54) 75% 70% 70% 69% 68% 71% 67% 70% 954,007
Silverstone FTZ SPORT EVOL8 (8) 71% 70% 69% 66% 68% 63% 55% 66% 121,022
Dunlop SP10 (2) 65% 60% 70% 70% 50% 60% 45% 60% 27,100
Nexen N Priz AH5 (1) 80% 60% 30% 30% 70% 90% 50% 59% 1,000

Kia Motors Picanto Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Rapid p309 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 200 easy going miles
Not long fitted, put on a Picanto, driven by the misses, mostly shopping, all town driving and never driven above 40 - 50 mph. No complaints for what they were bought for
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-15 15:05:44
Writing about the Kumho Winter Craft WP51 given 81% (175-50-15-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
These do not seem to perform any better than my pirelli summer tyres. I have 2 cars and have been grip testing these in the wet in a car park by going in a circle and they seemed to have the same level of grip as the summer tyres. Temperature was about 4 degrees. They seem to cause a bit of noise and you can hear the grip noise change when accelerating or braking vs rolling. They are pretty good. But I get the impression that they will not be great in the snow as I have a 1 litre car and in the wet its fairly easy to get a tiny bit of wheel spin if pulling away fast.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-27 11:31:46
Writing about the Hankook Optimo 4S given 77% (160-60-14-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5400 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-20 23:44:38
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH17 given 73% (170-60-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 4500 average miles
I had these tyres with my new Kia car. I was shocked that the quality suddenly deteriorated after 15 months of use for about 8000km only. The braking distance increased a lot and the handling became less certain. I think that was due to the poor wear rate and poor quality of rubber. I decided to change to Falken ze912 and they are now quieter and more comfortable than Kumho KH17.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-31 14:27:22
Writing about the Silverstone FTZ SPORT EVOL8 given 73% (175-50-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 55000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-21 14:33:42
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH17 given 64% (165-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-12 18:13:48
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 63% (175-65-14-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
These tyres are OEM on my KIA. They are stiff and noisy. I would not buy them.
I would fit Falken which are 4db quieter and softer.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-26 20:54:10
Writing about the Nexen N Priz AH5 given 59% (165-60-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 miles
I am actually reviewing the nexen npriz ah5 and not. Ah8. I had to choose ah8 as the ah5 model was not available on here.

So I decided to try nexen after trying Goodyear duragrip and Hankook kinergy on my Kia picanto. They were about $20 cheaper than the Hankook and Goodyear. Price was not the reason for me to choose nexen. I chose nexen to give a Korean brand a try.

I think it's a bit too soon to right a review, but anyway. The tires are good in dry and I am not sure how they are in wet. Really, sometimes they grip great and sometimes grip poorly. I'm not sure if they are very affected by asphalt type, but it seems like it. I always inflate my car's tires at a professional shop to the recommended oem psi. Alignment is always done when new tires are installed. But these tires confuse me, I'm not sue if the good grip will gradually disappear after a course of thousand of kilometers.

I have to admit, they are the quietest tires. They are also the worst handling tires I've tried. Steering feels numb, roadfeedback is also nonexistent. I feel detached from the road when driving with these. Good year and Hankook had great feedback, I could feel the road and feel when they're about to lose grip. Wet grip was also good except for when the temperature starts dropping below 10C and that's why I decide to try the all season nexen tires ( others were summer tires).

With nexens I found the tires to be too soft and unpredictable. I think they're OK tires. If you're on a tight budget, then yes they're definitely better than Chinese tires. Based on my 1000 km test, I'd probably pay a bit more and get a better tire. It feels like nexens are somewhere between Chinese tires and great Korean brand tires like Hankook. Will keep you posted at 10,000km.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-31 21:43:12
Writing about the Hankook Optimo K406 given 53% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 56000 spirited miles
These tyres have great grip, combined with my hard suspension I get to go around corners pretty well. However I have had three sets of these tyres already and my car isn't even over the 90 000km mark yet, the wear is terrible. For each set I have gotten bubbles in the sidewalls of the tyres within the first 4-6months at first I replaced these tyres but it was getting to be very expensive. The only reason I kept rebuying these tyres is because it is the only brand that fits my rim size, it will cost me the same to replace both my rims and tyres with continetals than it would cost to rebuy a set of 4 tyres.So that is what I am doing next.
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-09 18:38:37
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 51% (195-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Had these on a rental car whilst on holiday in Kefalonia for a week and wasn't even thinking about the quality tyres whilst driving in the dry until we had some rain and had to nip to the super market quick then I noticed just how terrible these tyres are in wet conditions not only under hard braking but also quick steering in emergency situations.

Tyres need to be safe, they should perform in the most dire situations to help you avoid potential danger and on narrow roads, and in Greece that's an unfortunate yet imminent situation you'll find yourself in as the locals like to drive rather spiritedly. With loose road laws and no road markings on mountain passes you need to be on your toes even within speed limits.

I was heading round a bend doing 30mph when the tyres slid causing tremendous understeer luckily there were no other road users as I ended up on the other side of the road. luckily for me not off a cliff or into the front of an oncoming coach!!!

This is why I am rating this tyre as very dangerous in wet conditions.

After this I conducted an emergency stop to find that even the ABS couldn't stop them from locking up.

Absolutely unacceptable...

Do not recommend to anybody wanting to drive outside city limits. Beware you have been warned.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-03 16:39:59
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre