Mazda 6 2.0 D Tyres

Drive a Mazda 6 2.0 D? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mazda 6 2.0 D
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (80) 89% 86% 84% 84% 85% 84% 83% 85% 714,475
Vredestein Quatrac Lite (7) 86% 87% 80% 81% 86% 87% 83% 84% 29,500
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (53) 84% 73% 79% 77% 93% 83% 82% 81% 1,423,233
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (209) 88% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,711,080
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80% 78% 81% 1,412,351
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (121) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,268,286
Yokohama W Drive (12) 81% 78% 84% 73% 76% 81% 75% 78% 175,000
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (79) 86% 81% 79% 78% 55% 74% 58% 73% 665,626
Continental Sport Contact 5 (188) 87% 83% 79% 76% 50% 73% 54% 72% 2,018,948
Goodyear Excellence (116) 79% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 62% 72% 2,514,856
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (55) 78% 73% 72% 70% 70% 71% 59% 70% 651,624
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (205) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 59% 58% 69% 3,452,628

Mazda 6 2.0 D Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 97% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Not given these tyres a proper work out yet, but utterly stable in the wet, and ludicrously quiet. A real cracker so far.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-22 21:09:33
Writing about the Yokohama W Drive given 94% (205-55-16-T)
Driving on track for 34000 easy going miles
Absolutely great tires! So far I have driven 34000 miles using them in various conditions, from dry cold through wet mud up to heavy snow and black ice. Thread is still enough deep. Wear is okay when pressure is okay or even a bit higher than recommended. Otherwise may worn be out far more quick.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-11 15:42:58
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 94% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 8000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-29 01:25:05
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 88% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
Grip: Superb - no complaints, even near freezing. Drags a fair bit in standing water but grip never flinches. Feels totally planted in the dry and wet.

Steering: Excellent turn-in, steering feels heavy but communicative. Lets you know about camber and tramlines, but I prefer it that way. Very stable and planted even with quick steering changes - never gets snappy. Heavy steering can be annoying for tight parking.

Noise: Not bad. Not great. Moderate road noise but fairly neutral sounding and not too rumbly. Worse at low speed. No whining or buzzing, just road roar. Overall I have no issue with it, but there are better options around if you want quiet. Note: my car is not great for road noise in general.

Ride: Fairly firm, taut and very well damped. Not bouncy or crashy. Overall very pleased. Doesn't crash all over the place over potholes even when cold.

Wear: no idea.

Fuel: Only used when fairly cold outside. About average. Not a fuel economy tyre, but not enough worse to bother me.

Overall: A good, solid, firm feeling sporty tyre available in non-sporty sizes with no real drawbacks. Lots of confidence, good fun to drive on, far better than I expected, and would totally buy again. Feels like I've had a suspension upgrade. Oh, and they're very reasonably priced.

Just beware that it's a tyre that lets you know what's going on at the front wheels. If you want to feel isolated from it, maybe there are better options.

Oh, and the tyre in general looks pretty classy, in case that's your thing.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-08 17:25:30
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response given 87% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 average miles
Great tire overall in wet grip is excellent even in tight cornering at speed exceed 70 km/h these tires are keeping very responsive and there are almost non under steer. In my opinion they are giving performance like high performance tires. Also on wet road responsiveness is impressive on cornering and even on sudden stops.
All in all very good tire and would definitely buy it again.
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-03 06:55:20
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Lite given 87% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Have used separate winters and summers in the past (north-east UK) but not doing enough mileage to justify 2 sets any more.

Not driven in snow or less than 4C yet, but in colder weather are very decent in the dry and wet. In warmer weather (18C) grip absolutely fine but feel a little squidgy. The steering is just a little 'slow' rather than vague and is absolutely fine once turned in. Not understeery like I had feared.

Fuel economy is excellent, they deal with potholes and poor roads very well and feel nice for general driving. They're fine for brisk driving too, once you get used to the squidgy turn in when warm. They handled some spirited driving round the Scottish Highlands just fine, and I didn't wish I had summers.

Overall, far nicer than Michelin Energys in every way and are a compromise I'm happy to deal with provided they are at least usable should snow arrive. Beware, are very slippy when new!
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-01 15:24:49
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver Plus given 85% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-15 13:42:41
Writing about the Goodyear Excellence given 84% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
I get this tyre with car. It's very comfortable and proves good filling of contol in any conditions
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-24 08:08:11
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 73% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
My experience with these tyres is similar to other reviewers here. They are a nice tyre in almost every aspect apart from wear. Only lasted me 1 year - 10k - on my Mazda 6 2ltr diesel. Wouldn't by again purely because of this.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-08 08:17:52
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 50% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Solid tire without any sporty intentions, no shine no big issues, tire for normal straight driving limousins. Can’t compare with previous Sport Contact 5, cause this is touring tire, unlike Conti is UHP. The biggest different is from the road feedback where Conti was top. Tire is comfortable, no special noise. I took Hankook because of the price and comparing quality among similar price level. But, definitely i am driver for UHP and Continental is in my top. Now, for BMW 3 no touring tires.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-05 22:02:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre