Mercedes Benz E280 Tyres

Drive a Mercedes Benz E280 ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Mercedes Benz E280
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (150) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 89% 80% 85% 1,343,276
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (34) 86% 89% 82% 82% 85% 89% 89% 84% 318,850
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,243,837
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74% 74% 76% 1,643,400
Zeetex HP103 (4) 83% 65% 70% 63% 87% 75% 60% 72% 85,000
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482
Mastersteel PROSPORT (4) 68% 50% 48% 65% 65% 55% 53% 58% 77,000
Autogrip F107 (126) 57% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50% 28% 43% 1,112,461

Mercedes Benz E280 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 93% (245-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Compared with the F1 Asym 2s, much better wet grip (seldom any slip when pulling out of a T-junction in wet, unlike before). Braking is very reassuring too. Rim protection has done a perfect job in light of some really clumsy kerb strikes. One welcome improvement: if I parked when the Asym 2s were hot, when they cooled, the first 5 minutes of the next drive was accompanied by some vibration through the wheel, not with these though. The main negative is the wear, say over 2mm in 6k miles, but cheaper than an alloy refurb and recovery from a ditch.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-09 13:23:05
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 830 P given 90% (225-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
Have used a variety of winter tyres since 1995, ranging from some phenomenal Scandinavian made Gislaved NordFrost to no-brand budget tyres. The hard braking performance of the Continental on ice and compacted snow is excellent, which for me is where performance is most important in the conditions the tyres are bought for. Road noise is low (very low for a winter tyre). Very stable through standing water. Wear is good for a tyre of this type (3.5mm of wear over 13,000 miles). Traction breaks on hard acceleration through tight corners in the dry more than on my summer tyres, but that is only to be expected - likewise with lack of feedback, as One usuallu mounts narrower winter tyres on smaller rims with a higher aspect ratio compared with summer tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-13 09:52:49
Writing about the Nexen N3000 given 87% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 easy going miles
Excellent tyre. Quieter than the previous Continentals I had fitted and half the price. It's a no brainer for me when it comes to replacing them again.
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-11 00:22:41
Writing about the Avon Ice Touring ST given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4 average miles
Purchased these 2nd hand on a 2nd hand set of alloys for my E280. Off came my Continental Contact 2's and on went these Avons- still with 4-5 mm if tread. Dry road handling good and on a par to the Continentals. When the snow arrived a few days later, they were very good.
Lateral/sideways grip round bends - very sure footed.
Pull away/ rear wheel drive- minimal wheel spin.
Steering- confident with good feedback.
Braking- good grip, good feedback. Minimal ATC even on ice.
Noise- only marginally louder on dry roads.
Basically- massive improvement over a brand new sew set of Continental Contacts run last year in snow.
Tyre pressures run at 36psi- 50kg in the boot same as last year.
Hope this helps.
-I may try T830 P's next depending on prices, but will swop winter/ summer tyre sets.

tyre reviewed on 2013-02-01 17:03:38
Writing about the Mastersteel PROSPORT given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 easy going miles
I dont take tyres to the max. They have worked well for me and have lasted longer than the so called top brand Dunlop.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-24 20:13:22
Writing about the Zeetex HP103 given 53% (245-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
One word sums up the driving experience with these tyres: noisy. I also use Conti TS830P winter tyres with nice chunky treads that are surprisingly much quieter than the Zeetex. Just put them back on for the summer and on the first motorway drive I thought I had a wheel bearing failing.

I had hoped to wear them down and replace with something better, but they last really well - 3mm of wear over 15,000 miles.

Some unwarned oversteer in the wet at less than ambitious speeds, leads to a lack of confidence.
tyre reviewed on 2013-04-02 19:14:20
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 51% (245-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
Bought these as a replacement to the factory fitted Michelin Pilot Primacy tyres. Michelin have been unable to supply tyres in this size for 2 months and have not delivery date. The replacements were a big and expensive mistake. I read the reviews and thought the tyre would be OK. In use, they are noisy and make it hard to enjoy the drive. The fuel consumption appears to be 5% lower than the Michelins. There is vibration through the steering wheel despite having the balancing re-checked. They are also an 'ugly' tyre that would not look out of place on a tractor. I am replacing the two front tyres as soon as I can get hold of some Michelin's. Another ?300 down the drain. Driven on a Mercedez E280 CD1. May suit other cars but not this one.
tyre reviewed on 2010-04-10 13:16:00
Writing about the Avon ZZ3 given 46% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Within 10000 miles tyres started getting noisy. Now, I had the wheels bearings replaced becuase of the noise. I could not believe tyres could make this kind of noise, but now I do. I am a very calm driver, tyres seem not worn or damaged but the noise and vibration are unbearable.
tyre reviewed on 2013-07-05 18:49:23
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 27% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 easy going miles
I brought my 2007 Mercedes E280 last year, the garage fitted 4 new autogrip tires Before i took delivery, from day one i had a little vibration they re- balanced them & it was a little better, I found them VERY bad in the wet but
not to bad in the dry, BUT i had a puncture after traveling some 8000 miles, on removing the wheel we found a 15/20 centimeter split on the inside wall, on inspecting the other tires they were ALL the same, outside wall & tread no visual problem, Now with good tires fitted it drives like a new car, you get what you pay for,I could have been killed
tyre reviewed on 2012-07-05 22:20:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre