Porsche Boxster 2.5 Tyres

Drive a Porsche Boxster 2.5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Porsche Boxster 2.5
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (75) 95% 94% 89% 92% 89% 83% 90% 90% 254,261
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (149) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,702,203
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (139) 91% 88% 82% 79% 71% 80% 79% 81% 1,618,123
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (8) 100% 78% 81% 93% 57% 40% 99% 78% 52,400
Bridgestone Potenza s02 (16) 89% 79% 86% 85% 66% 62% 71% 77% 163,300
Continental Sport Contact 2 (226) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,562
Marshal Matrac TX KU17 (8) 81% 68% 64% 66% 71% 69% 61% 69% 92,014
Pirelli PZero Rosso (108) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62% 54% 66% 1,298,806
Accelera PHI (134) 69% 46% 54% 53% 67% 59% 51% 57% 1,183,762
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (127) 70% 48% 57% 54% 69% 48% 43% 56% 1,252,457

Porsche Boxster 2.5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 100% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have just had these put on the front and straight away I could feel they were really smooth and had tons of grip like I have never experienced before. The road feedback is awesome, very quiet and they handle brilliantly which instantly gave me confidence to throw the car around bends and they just don't let go.

I will be replacing the rears in a few days time with 265/35/18 and the way the fronts feel at the moment I know the handling will be even better with these on the rear. Currently I have P Zero with about 2mm left and although they are good tyres the Eagle F1 Asymmetric are just on a different level. I can not comment on wear yet as I have only covered 1k but if these last at least 15-20K I will be happy and anymore than that these tyres will be a standard fitment for life.

In the wet these tyres are awesome and give you so much confidence to push the limits and still feel safe. So if you want Ultra Hi Performance tyres look no further.
tyre reviewed on 2009-03-12 20:58:31
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric given 100% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
I have now got these all rounnd on the Boxster and they are the best tyres I have ever had on any of my cars. They are superb wet and dry and have transformed the handling completely. They let you know when they are about to go and you can still push them a bit more which I like. And they come out top in Autocar 2007 tyre test beating the Michellin PS2, Continental PS3, Bridestone Potenza RE050 and Pirelli P Zero Rosso/Nero for a reason.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-11 00:16:12
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 93% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 25000 spirited miles
These were fantastic tyres, could not fault them , had them on a old astra 2.2 a while ago, same again very very good, shame they have gone up so much in price, now over 150 each yet in 2016 i got a pair for 200.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-07 11:21:37
Writing about the Pirelli PZero Rosso given 87% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2009-12-08 17:26:59
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
I'm running these tires on a '98 Porsche Boxster. 225/45-17 in front and 255/40-17 in the rear. When I purchased the car, it came with a mismatched set of all weather tires that I took to an HPDE session at the beginning of 2019. Those tires were terrible and the ABS was constantly engaging. The first session of this year was at the same track and the difference was night and day. ABS no longer engaged, turn-in was spectacular, grip phenomenal. In my most recent track session, with the tire warn about 50%, I've seen cornering forces in the 1.4G range and the tire just sticks. It appears superior to the Michelin PS4S for track use (the 4S isn't really a track tire) and in my opinion (and without having actually driven a car using them) the RE71R is closer in nature to the M PSC2, but at a much lower price. Keep in mind that the following comparison is made in two very different cars, so take it as you will. Comparing the RE71R to the PS4S (BMW Z4 sDrive35i 225/35-19 F, 255/30-19 R) the RE71R's wear faster, and run noisier (and as someone else mentioned the tire has a funny/different sound anytime it crosses painted lines). On the other hand, it has better turn-in, better cornering grip, and better feel. Also, it does not appear to heat up as much on the track as the PS4S. Keep in mind that the Z4 is a much heavier car and has a lot more power. Also, the Z4 is front-engined vs. the mid-engine Boxster which probably accounts for some of the improved turn-in for the Boxster. While the PS4S have now survived the equivalent of 5 track days with relatively little wear, there are a coupe of spots where the tread has chunked. With the RE71R's at 3 track days and an autocrosss day, the wear is in the 50% range and I expect to have to change them sometime during the next track season. On the other hand, beyond wear, there is nothing wrong with the tires; no track damage whatsoever. I have no opinion on their wet weather or cold weather behavior as I live in Phoenix, AZ and if it rains I don't go out. We also don't track cars mid-summer because no one want to put themselves (or their cars) out on the track when it is 120F in the shade. If money were no object and I was looking for a road only (daily driver, if comfort and noise were important to me) tire, I would go with the M PS4S. But for what I use the car for (mixed daily driver / track use), I find the B RE71R to be superior. I will also make the statement that I *think* the PS4S will outlast the RE71R even on the track (or maybe especially on the track) so, even though the PS4S costs a fair amount more, overall the RE71R's may end up being more expensive. I think that I will be able to get at least 2 seasons out of the 4S vs. about 1 or maybe a little more with the RE71R. One last thought. I have the same tires on my '97 E36 M3 (225/45-17 F, 245/40-17 R) and I love them on that car. Even as a daily driver (I have not tracked that car in 22 years) I think I will stick with the RE71R's when the current set wear out. But that is just me. I'll take the slight comfort, noise and wear penalty to have a tire that I know will just stick when I need it to. And if I ever decide to take that car to the track again, I know the tires will be up to it. Perhaps in a colder climate I would not feel the same way, as cold weather and extreme performance tires don't get along. In fact, I will probably end up putting the RE71R on every car we own, for which they have the correct fitment (other than our BMW X1).
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-19 23:27:02
Writing about the Marshal Matrac TX KU17 given 83% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I have these on the rear of my Boxster and the tread is nice and they handle well. Im impressed with the performance for the price and these are a good mid range tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2008-08-12 19:23:42
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 68% (225-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1400 spirited miles
Wet grip = Horrendous. The back end has come away and oversteered on roundabouts in the wet on a few occasions. This was driving at speeds I usually would have with the Hankook Venus V12 EVO K110 tyres (HIGHLY RECOMMEND) I had fitted prior to the Epi Accelera PHI tyres. Unexpected yet a good laugh nonetheless. Tokyo drifting around roundabouts! I also had an instance where I exited a roundabout (no drifting on that occasion! Boo!) onto a dual carriageway with a slight uphill gradient, I put my foot down in 2nd at low speed to get up to speed and also to leave some cock end in a pimped up BMW 320d E92 behind due to him being provocative via tailgating my the rear wheels lit up and the car snake tailed... regained traction easily enough and the roads were damp to be fair. It was either that or I'd have brake tested the little shit for being so irresponsible. I'd have won with the 4 piston Brembo monobloc's on all 4 corners. It wasn't like I was driving like a granny! Must have had the Porsche/BMW inferiority complex. To conclude; great in the dry, shit in the wet. So if your car is RWD be careful moist/damp and wet roads!
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-08 08:05:18
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 61% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
Have a porsche boxster and the rear tyres are bald after 8,000k. Very bad wear. excellent tyre in dry conditions but slippy in wet and pointless in snow. i'll shop around instead of buying them again.
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-04 09:59:11
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza s02 given 60% (255-40-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 spirited miles
A nice looking tyre, which I know is important to some people...., though really not that relevant! When I bought my car it had these tyres fitted, so I just replaced like for like. They gripped well in the summer, but lost all adhesive properties through last winter! When the temperature dropped as low as it did, the rubber appeared to go pretty hard, which led to a lot of slip, even when on dry surfaces. This was especially noticeable when parking, when, the first time I realised I had a problem, I thought I had a worn track control rod allowing the wheels to jump! It was a really strange sensation. As it was, and after inspecting all joints, it was purely as a result of the extreme cold affecting the tyre. I realise that summer tyres aren't even 50% effective in the winter, and hence why most of Europe switch to a winter tyre to maintain performance and grip. Of course 'N' rated winter tyres are hideously expensive, though can be purchased for £200 each rear tyre, and £160 each front tyre. Non 'N' rated can be obtained cheaper, but the practice of using non 'N' rated tyres, always causes extensive debate. The Bridgestones have only lasted me 8000 miles on the rear, were very poor in the winter, though are cheaper than Continental, and Michelin alternatives. If you are going to be using the car all year round, I would recommend switching to winter tyres in the winter once temperatures fall below 7 deg, until they rise again. A swap to a spare set of 16" wheels would reduce the cost of the winter rubber, or budget for the cost of swapping the rubber twice a year on your existing wheels for £10 - £15 a wheel (valve and balance). I have just fitted a pair of Continental Sport Contact 2 Tyres (N2), as I can't afford unfortunately at this time to put on winter rubber. I will review these tyres in due course, especially with how they fare over the winter. On a side note....., summer tyres also wear much quicker in the winter than in the summer!
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-22 17:24:03
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 56% (245-40-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 17 spirited miles
Had pilots on and got a good 25k miles out of them, thought I would give these ago, I'm just about to change them out at 17k as just over 1m over the marker left, found them also a bit Skippy on some bend at speed, don't get me wrong they were OK but I guess I expected more from the brand, would I buy again, nope but will give other brands a try.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-06 16:37:52
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre