Renault Clio III dci 106 Tyres

Drive a Renault Clio III dci 106? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault Clio III dci 106
Kumho Ecsta HS51 (22) 88% 86% 78% 81% 78% 84% 74% 81% 337,205
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (149) 87% 85% 80% 75% 60% 83% 66% 77% 1,353,496
Infinity Ecosis (9) 82% 74% 71% 66% 69% 78% 82% 75% 48,500
Continental Sport Contact 2 (224) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,121,532
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Event GL695 (9) 60% 36% 58% 51% 50% 38% 29% 46% 25,010

Renault Clio III dci 106 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Infinity Ecosis given 92% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I was pleasantly surprised by these budget tyres. Bought via Asda Tyres at £50 per tyre, conveniently delivered and fitted at a local garage. I have purchased budget tyres at a similar price previously, which have turned out to be borderline lethal in the wet. However, in the three months I've had these, doing nearly 1700 miles per month, I've had no issues whatsoever. Good grip when driven briskly in cold and mild temperatures, and wet, dry and snow conditions. Quieter than my last set of budget tyres. Haven't really noticed any wear, but early days yet. No complaints so far, would recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-13 15:54:36
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 92% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7 average miles
Great grip in the dry also excellent in the wet , cornering also very good , what I like best is very low noise and very comfortable. The only thing is if you have a tyre of this great quality I replace the front tyres on a front wheel drive car with power steering every year , but the backs will last easily 2 years maybe more with 37psi in them . Normally I put around 36psi in the front tyres because I drive a Diesel engine car and the weight of the Diesel engine is more than a petrol engine . But these tyres are great , tried lots of different tyres before but these are easily the overall winners , not I just keep buying Dunlop Blu response 88V .
Heavy duty weight .
Overall very happy indeed
Excellent tyres ,
Well Done Dunlop .
I can see why Essex Police use them .
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-16 19:33:56
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 90% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
A remarkable tyre, not cheap but better than anything else I've tried before. They are very strong in every area, I liked them used when I bought the car and fitted the same ones again. A different experience, they were fantastic on the dry at the end of their life and still very good when new but more reassuring in other conditions. They offer a good feel, I wish the power steering did the same. Good on fuel economy, especially when used, excellent on wear, the rear lasted 45000 miles and the front about half as much. An all rounder that is not afraid of being pushed from time to time.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-19 19:34:06
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 90% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
Fantastic tyres
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-13 00:36:46
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 87% (185-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5500 average miles
Used these tyres for around 9000km this season, 50% in the city, 50% on "B" roads (almost no motorways), average driving style.

The main thing I would like to point out is that, in the real world, despite the high EU ratings, the noise reduction and fuel economy is non existent / insignificant when compared to "normal" tyres.

Other than that, wear seems average, grip was good, not only on road, but also off road. However, since I have a conservative driving style, I cannot elaborate on the grip, since I tend not to push the tyres to their limit. On the few occasions when I did, the tyres remained predictable and regained grip in a controlled way.

Bottom line - I wonder if these tyres - or any other top-EU-rated tyres - are worth the extra money, considering that noise reduction and fuel economy are insignificant. In the future, I will only consider the EU grip rating, and ignore the other two - noise and fuel economy.
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-20 17:43:25
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HS51 given 85% (195-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I'm really satisfied with this tyres, despite they are less comfortable then previous ones (Hankook Ventus Prime 2), tyre feedback is more responsive, manufacturer's approach is more Dunlop-like. I still can't estimete tyre wear but they promise good.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-10 15:54:04
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 73% (185-60-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-04 12:45:44
Writing about the Event GL695 given 16% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 easy going miles
Must be the worst set of tyres ever purchased, road noise & handling is now bad, fuel comsumption also increased. Not told by garage it was a budget tyre
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-23 23:56:02
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre