Renault Laguna I Tyres

Drive a Renault Laguna I? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault Laguna I
Hankook Icebear W440 (5) 82% 86% 80% 78% 82% 88% 88% 83% 26,450
Yokohama BluEarth Es ES32 (18) 85% 79% 83% 84% 77% 93% 81% 83% 45,270
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79% 85% 82% 658,266
Bridgestone Ecopia EP001S (3) 97% 97% 83% 93% 53% 90% 53% 81% 38,796
Michelin Energy Saver (122) 84% 73% 76% 71% 86% 80% 70% 77% 2,748,008
Falken ZE912 (198) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79% 72% 75% 2,162,908
Continental Eco Contact 3 (53) 80% 78% 72% 68% 74% 77% 66% 73% 1,132,800
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (79) 82% 73% 69% 65% 63% 72% 51% 68% 926,337

Renault Laguna I Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Icebear W440 given 100% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Excellent!!!! 10/10
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-02 10:12:33
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 3 given 97% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 13000 spirited miles
I have them for 20 000km so far very predictive and very progressive in grip loss in both braking and speedy turning providing very good feedback. I would say that they are even better than my winter tyres on wet surface in the 5C to 10C weather temperature range.I don`t have any complains about road noise. Unfortunately i think Sportrac 5 is coming on their place so they will be no longer available , so sad , cause they hold really steady in corners that i believe is because of the tread design with the big side contact surface :(
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-12 12:28:39
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 97% (175-65-14-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 60000 average miles
I was with this tire on the snow, others needs chains, i was drive slow but i drive. And i have all best for this tire. recomanded!!!!!
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-10 22:53:43
Writing about the Falken ZE912 given 94% (205-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I've used low end budget tyres for many years and after fitting a nice set of 17" alloys i decided to invest in some brand name tyres. I've used Michelin's, Hankook's and Pirelli's in the past and these Falken ZE912's are by far better. I admit i do drive like a tit on country lanes and so far these tyres have not let me down once. They stick to road in the dry exceptionally well and the wet is excellent too ( can get a little understeer if i'm over doing it but you really have be driving like a twat to get them to loose grip). I've only got a 1.8 8valve Laguna hatch but i can catch any hot hatch in the corners even some sports cars. Many have asked me what i've done to my car and all i tell them is decent tyres and subtle suspension mods. I've had the tyres on the car for over a year and they still have 5mm left on fronts and 6 mm on the rear... I was replacing bedget 14's twice a year so pound for pound these prove to be cheaper than budgets. I paid £65 per tyre fitted for the Falkens were as i was paying around £40 per tyre for the budgets, and the budget tyres did not handle well lots of tyre roll on corners and after 6months you couldnt tell what brand they were or what the size was due to the side walls being scrubbed clean. I WOULD SERIOUSLY RECOMMEND THESE TYRES. I also have these fitted to my Laguna II sport tourer and they feel great in wet loads of feedback and they last exceptionally well. For the price you cant go wrong... look around for best deals, I got a set of 4 tyres from Ebay for £216 and cost me £40 to have them fitted.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-23 15:47:12
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 93% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 43000 average miles
I installed these Bridgestone Turanza T001 tyres after having used 4xBridgestones Ecopia EP001S before (see my other review).
The T001s are much more solid and came with ~8mm tread, instead of the 6mm of the EP001S. Coming from a A-A-69dB tyre to a C-B-71dB tyre I saw my fuel consumption average go up a little to around 56-59 MPG and the noise also went up a little, although the main noise source remains the engine and the tyres do not sound anything like the bad bearing noise of other tyres I've heard in the past. The grip was always very good, in wet or dry conditions. Only now, almost to the 1.6mm mark (with 43k miles), I started feeling some aquaplaning when it rains very hard and the water accumulates in the road. They are stiffer than the EP001S, although they remain very comfortable. I think they have the best compromise between road feedback and comfort.
I tottaly recommend these tyres. In the coming days, I will probably install the replacement T001 EVO or the new T005 (B-A-71dB9) as I expect they are improvements over the T001 and I feel confidence on the Turanza line from Bridgestone.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-08 17:28:17
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth Es ES32 given 80% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6200 easy going miles
The Yokohama ES32 are very good tires for the price. A very progressive feeling, and a good grip even in bad conditions that make you feeling safe when driving. With 10.000 km, they have the same performance as new. The noise inside the car is low (a little better than my old tires Bridgestone/Goodyear). Ideal for my family car.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-12 08:44:27
Writing about the Bridgestone Ecopia EP001S given 79% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26780 average miles
When I bough my car (used) it came fitted with 4 Firestone Firehawk TZ300a (F-C-71dB) tyres with around 50% tread left and drove with them for 21338miles. It was a good all round tyre, although a bit uncomfortable on bad roads due to how hard the sidewalls were, and the fuel consumption was around 54-57 MPG (mixed highway and city).
The first thing I noticed when bough the 4 Bridgestone EP001S was that they came only with ~6mm tread when new, instead of the usual ~8mm. The second thing I noticed was how jello-like and lightweight they were compared to the Firestones.
The EP001S was a very comfortable, silent and grippy tire from new to old. The fuel economy went up to 59-62 MPG (mixed highway and city), and in country roads it was outstanding with 70-78 MPG !!!
The downsides of these tires were related to how soft the sidewalls are, even if inflated more (between 2.5 to 2.7bar) than the car manual recommends. The road feedback becomes reduced (good for confort) but very bad to know how the tyres are doing in the road. The grip was always assuring, although they wore pretty rapidly on the outside due to the sidewalls bending too much. I had to change them because of the high wear (they became slick) on the outside, although there was plenty of meat left in the inside and center of the tyres.
Maybe it it were a smaller and lighter car I wouldn't have this problem, but based on my experience I didn't buy the same tire again, as I enjoy taking turns fast. After these I went for the Bridgestone Turanza T001 (C-B-71dB) and they lasted ~ 43.000 miles without this sidewall problem!
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-08 16:37:23
Writing about the Continental Eco Contact 3 given 73% (185-65-14-T)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 easy going miles
Been using them at the front axle for about 30.000 km
They seem to be at about half thread.
Never had a problem with ther grip, but I'm an easy rider.

Well done
tyre reviewed on 2012-04-22 06:14:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre