Renault Megane RS250 CUP Tyres

Drive a Renault Megane RS250 CUP? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Renault Megane RS250 CUP
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (7) 99% 90% 94% 99% 75% 84% 98% 91% 21,900
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (56) 93% 90% 88% 89% 85% 89% 87% 89% 244,200
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (93) 94% 85% 90% 88% 85% 86% 87% 88% 801,885
Nokian PowerProof (7) 92% 98% 86% 75% 85% 92% 85% 87% 12,670
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (126) 95% 86% 90% 86% 83% 82% 89% 87% 1,037,402
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (390) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,740,737
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (138) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 82% 85% 1,155,474
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (51) 88% 83% 83% 82% 81% 83% 77% 82% 254,744
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (10) 97% 61% 91% 91% 57% 72% 79% 78% 87,800
Continental Sport Contact 3 (241) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,233,337
Achilles 123S (10) 90% 69% 82% 81% 61% 61% 77% 74% 51,200
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (111) 85% 74% 78% 77% 69% 66% 64% 73% 1,226,403
Jinyu YU61 (44) 82% 67% 70% 64% 76% 78% 74% 73% 321,400
Toyo T1R (278) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,615,683
Maxxis M35 Victra Asymmet (13) 83% 69% 73% 67% 68% 75% 69% 72% 102,516
Nexen N6000 (63) 81% 70% 74% 65% 71% 74% 65% 71% 630,469

Renault Megane RS250 CUP Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 93% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
I have changed my ContiSportContact 5Ps with these. Quite happy so far. The car feels like more responsive and quiter. I have preferred these over SportContact6s purely because of the price advantage but it doesnt feel like a wrong choice so far. The rim protectors, which dont exist on 5Ps, are also nice. I have just painted my rims before installing these and these protectors have already save me from scratching the rims couple of times.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-30 12:36:18
Writing about the Maxxis M35 Victra Asymmet given 93% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Please dont listen to a couple of berks reviews on here ! I have bought a lot of tyres in my life and changing from continentals to these has been fantastic, the conti's were lumpy noisey and wear rate was pretty fast, the maxxis m35's were a little more than half the price and twice as good ! I am using them on my renault megan sport which eats commodore v8's for breakfast and have timed it at 5.9 seconds to 100kmh....a true performance car, these tyres are excellent.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-21 02:20:27
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 92% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
One word: fantastic! Truly a Michelin PS4s competitor!

Tyres I already drove on my 322hp Megane RS: PS4, PS4s, PS3, Nokian Powerproof and now the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport in 235/40/18.

Dry grip and feedback is great! Full throttle out of the corner is easy (works great with some added negative camber). It gives you so much confidence. The feedback is superb and now I really can push the car to its limits. I think they behave the same as the PS4s but it is difficult to compare because I've changed the suspension this year.

These Goodyears are a bit stiffer than the normal PS4 and Powerproof but I like that. Turn in is very good and it is hard to overdrive them. The ride is stiffer but the response is so much better and more direct.

In terms of noise: I find them quiet. At least, they don't drone at any speed. The Powerproofs do drone at 50kmh.

The looks: they look nice! Nice pattern and I do like the rim protection.

I would buy these tyres again! Great value for money! It shows me that Michelin is maybe a bit overpriced..
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-06 11:50:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 89% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2500 spirited miles
A full set on my RS250 Cup cost ~£650 235/35 r19 (An expensive tyre dimension) which I was very impressed with.
Previously the car had Conti Sport Contact 3's which we're good in the dry, excellent turn in but poor in the wet, the inner side walls failed with still 4-5mm tread remaining meaning an MOT fail on all 4 tyres, not happy!
Eagle F1 Asy 2
Initial thoughts, quieter than the SP3's but still noisy, that may be something to do with 35 profile though.
Grip, dry grip is superb, it grips and pulls very well in all gears, even first once they are warm. Wet grip is substantially better than the SP3's, as they have worn this has decreased but still a 9/10. Full power second gear, 250bhp in the front wheels whilst raining and it grips and goes, no spinning(possibly the car setup has something to do with this).
Feedback, very progressive, you can feel the car start to slip on slow and high speed corners - Feedback negative, the only gripe I have is the following, the sidewalls are softer than the SP3's making initial turn in a little soft, once turned in and the sidewalls loaded then very happy, I just find i'm making a few too many inputs at higher speeds negoptiatiing small corners when driving hard.
The tyre's are noisy, again this could be due to the car on 19's with 35 profile.
Wear - A front drive hot hatch will always chew it's tyres up, it's done 2.5k on them and they still have 8-9mm remaining which is good I think, if they get to 9k I will be impressed, 10k astounded.
Buy again? I will definitely recommend them to anyone, an excellent tyre for the cost. I would love these with a stiffer side wall as that really dampens the driving experience at times so may look at Michelin PS2's.
I would probably buy again
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-13 18:54:08
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 86% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Superb tyres for a hot hatch (with 315bhp and 370 lb/ft) - Monumental grip on track and fantastic on a winding back road. Great grip in the wet as well, inspiring mega confidence. Only slight downside being they seem to wear a bit quicker than I'd like, due to the softer compound, but my driving may have something to do with that as well! Will not buy anything other than these for my car.
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-27 20:31:08
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 84% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
Best Cheap 235/40/18 Tyre for me so far. Used Asy2/ PS2/595RSR on my Renault RS250

My Ranking
PS2
595RSR
T1R
Asy2
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-11 13:37:54
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 84% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 spirited miles
Damn Expensive in Malaysia it is sad that i could only afford after my bonus payout, I between have to settle on cheaper tires.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-23 16:07:12
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 79% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
12,000 miles and the fronts need changing. Plenty left on rears. This is probably what I had expected given how I drive but another 3k would have been nice. They do run wider than I would like when cornering tight corners hard but in faster bends you do get a good sense of communication from them. Not great in the wet you have to be careful through standing water. Noise levels good given they're on a hard sports chassis. I think this car needs a grippier tyre but on the whole I like them.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-29 09:31:29
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 given 79% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4500 spirited miles
In the dry probably the best tyre I have ever had, but for maximum grip it needs to be hot. Have them on Megane rs250 in 235/35/19 and 235/40/18. On wet drive normally and no problems. Be aware of aquaplaning.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-06 11:50:09
Writing about the Nokian PowerProof given 77% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
Fitted them to my Megane 3 rs with 322hp. It is my daily car so I wanted tyres in the UHP range like Michelin PS4. Since I am very positive about the Nokian winter tyres, I wanted to try the Powerproof's as they claim in to be UHP and a PS4 competitor. When I bought them no tests or reviews were placed on the internet.

First of all: this is not as good as the Michelin PS4 and PS4s which I had both the Megane. Not as precise and direct. Also, full throttle in second gear comes with quite some wheel spin. I did not have that with the PS4S's.

It does not give me that confidence as the Michelin's but maybe I have to "read" the tyres better and learn how to push them.

The pro's are more comfort and less noise.

Overall: very good tyre but I don't recommend these if you do a lot of spirited driving or track days. Great for all day though!
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-15 15:26:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre