SEAT Leon 1.9TDi Tyres

Drive a SEAT Leon 1.9TDi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the SEAT Leon 1.9TDi
Kleber Quadraxer (41) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87% 88% 83% 623,731
Mabor Sport Jet 3 (3) 90% 80% 73% 83% 83% 80% 90% 83% 74,500
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (49) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78% 74% 80% 393,670
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (263) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83% 76% 79% 1,941,205
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (60) 86% 81% 78% 79% 73% 78% 79% 79% 524,173
Toyo T1R (278) 84% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,615,683
Michelin Energy (39) 69% 63% 58% 62% 85% 75% 64% 68% 898,474

SEAT Leon 1.9TDi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kleber Quadraxer given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
One word - Brilliant!

These Kleber Quadraxer's are made by Michelin and so you're getting excellent quality 'brand name' tyres under a budget name at budget price!

I wanted tyres to help in the snow/heavy rain/slush and these all season tyres seemed to be the answer. They are a million times better in the wet than my old tyres (Bravius), it feels like driving in the dry even when it's wet.

The tread is nice and chunky, so if (WHEN!) the snow arrives again, they should also give a bit more traction than before.

Overall these are excellent all-season tyres for the price (£68 each at Event tyres) and I would highly recommend them to anyone!
tyre reviewed on 2011-01-17 21:37:45
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 0 miles
Replaced Toyota T1R's and immediately noticed the difference. A superb tyre and really impressed. Am running a Leon FR upped to 186 bhp. Grips well, quiet. Wet grip is fantastic and dry grip is good. Toyota T1R are nothing but dangerous in all conditions. If getting new tyres highly reckoned UK I royal rain sport 3.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-27 02:12:13
Writing about the Mabor Sport Jet 3 given 81% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 32000 average miles
225/45/17 91Y
use time about 3 years
kms aprox 50.000 for 4 tyres (rotate)
nice use. nice dry drive. never flat tyre.
i have buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-05 00:02:48
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 76% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
For my daily driver, I have always been an Goodyear Eagle F1 fan. They provide a good balance between price, wear, performance in all conditions.

When I went to replace them last time, not only did they only have 2 in stock but they had a deal on the Hankook Ventus V12's which I knew were beginning to get a bit of a following as a decent semi performance tyre that were being fitted as standard equipment to some half decent new cars.

So re-booted the whole car with them and drove away. It is hard to be negative about their actual peformance in terms of grip, roadnoise and ability to handle my fairly aggressive driving style. They have been on a FWD Diesel car which is light and nimble and thrown around a little. In the dry, they really are very very good, better than the Eagle F1's easily I would say. Wet grip is so so. By no means terrible but hardly confidence inspiring but then if you are driving to conditions, they are not dangerous. I don't feel they part standing water as effectively as other tyres in the price bracket. However, in the dry, they stick like s*** to a babies nappy and it is very difficult to get them to part company with the road surface. If you really push, obviously you can do it but when you do, it is always consistent. You know where the limit will be. Always a good point in my book if you like to push it.

Where these tyres fall down and fall down badly is wear rate. I normally get 20k miles from the fronts on this car and these tyres were dust in less than half that time and being honest, I should have replaced them sooner than I did, as performance really dropped off about 2kmiles before I replace despite there just being legal tread left. I reckon they gave me about 6.5k decent use.

With that in mind, I could not recommend these for a standard daily driver. If you are looking for well priced performance tyre for a weekend play thing whilst not wanting the degradation of some aggressive Yokies or the sort, then these could be up your street but I would still probably opt for some Toyo's personally.

Just replaced them all and gone straight back to Eagle F1. Instantly you can feel a bit less grip and slightly more twitchy where the Hankooks would give more confidence but it will nearly 2yrs before I shell out £500 rather than a handful of months. The Eagle F1's perform better in the wet and whilst not as grippy in the dry, have the same level of progressive performance before letting go.

Hankook Vetus V12. Really good tyre but ultimately disappointing for my own personal use.

tyre reviewed on 2018-06-15 09:36:11
Writing about the Michelin Energy given 44% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
These tyres came fitted to my Leon when I bought it. Had previously had a Renault Megane and tried several tyres to find a decent all rounder. I drive my cars reasonably hard on all types of road. The Energys were frankly rubbish. Couldn't wait to replace them. Cannot fault them on wear; still got them on the rear after 33,0000 miles and at least 4mm left. Only reason I still have them is cost. The hard compound means, unfortunately, a serious lack of grip in both wet and dry conditions - especially the wet - and they give way suddenly rather than progressively when cornering. I never felt confident with them at all. I've plumped for Continental Premium Contact 2's for my last few replacements as although they wear much more quickly - especially given the amount of miles I cover - I'm happy to compromise this factor for vastly improved grip. Also the Conti's are more progressive and so I know what's happening at all times. The softer walls mean they do give under sharp cornering but this is much more manageable giving you time to react and control the under steer, rather than loads of grip to nothing at all in an instant with the Energys. Braking is excellent as well due to the 'tiger paw' effect of the side walls spreading out to put more rubber on the road.
So, in conclusion; if you want a tyre that will last longer than the Polar Ice caps but won't get you round many corners with any confidence then go for the Energy. Otherwise, try something else, like the Conti's. Any which way it's a compromise between longevity and grip.
Happy hunting.
tyre reviewed on 2009-05-11 20:28:07
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport given 43% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-27 02:05:52
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 41% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Have these on my Seat Leon FR and to be short they are dangerous!
Appalling in the wet, little grip, aquaplane easily. They wear out way to fast.
In the dry they give some road feedback and the grip in tight corners is just adequate. Will never have these on my car again (car came with them on).
Although lots of tread left on the rears, as soon as I need fronts which is soon they are all being binned and replaced with Nexen Blue HD plus.
tyre reviewed on 2016-08-02 12:05:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre