SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD) Tyres

Drive a SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD)? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD)
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (7) 99% 90% 94% 99% 75% 84% 98% 91% 21,900
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (125) 95% 86% 90% 86% 84% 82% 89% 88% 1,022,402
Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 (26) 90% 94% 89% 88% 80% 80% 89% 85% 283,520
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (160) 93% 91% 86% 87% 76% 82% 81% 85% 1,559,623
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (76) 86% 81% 79% 78% 55% 73% 57% 73% 623,626
Pirelli P Zero (104) 85% 72% 78% 73% 62% 67% 58% 71% 1,787,673

SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD) Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 95% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Initial review of an 'old' tyre. Originally discounted the PSS as they don't win any tests anymore.

But with 18" downsized rims, which on the hot hatch MQB format is a great size on real roads, unfortunately there is no PilotSport 4S available. Which could be a reason to stay at 19". But I'm more of a back road handling driving enthusiast, and want the sidewall and the light weight of an 18". Anyhow, in 18" I have been using Pilot Sport 4 tyres for two years, and objectively they are the best tyres. They justs work in all conditions. But when I set out to make my hot hatch a bit more focused in the handling department, I realised the PS4 don't give that much feedback, and I was left wanting for more. With the TR youtube videos of the PPS vs SC6 and vs PS4, I started to realise I don't need to go all mental with a Cup2 or semi slick on a daily driven car, and that perhaps the PSS could be the solution. It is still delivered on quite a few good hot hatches: the 308 GTI, the new Fiesta ST, Mini JCW and I30N (18") amongst others. I got the HN spec for the latter on my car, and I have not regretted the change. This tyre has loads of feedback and is a lot more dynamic in it's behavior than the otherwise excellent PS4. Dynamic in the sense that the whole car is just more eager to change direction. This is with running quite aggressive toe settings and more camber front than rear. Really makes the handling that much more enjoyable and that is the very reason to run this kind of car.

The catch is.. not the comfort, I don't notice a, well, noticeable reduction in road manners which I feared for. I've yet to have some rain, but I'm pretty sure they will be worse than the PS4 which are hard to beat for grip in the rain, they stick as good as the average tyre on dry tarmac. Still, I think I'm sticking with the PSS anyhow, I can drive a bit more carefully in the rain, or make hard progress so they heat and grip there too, a bit of a challenge.

So initially, I'm happily surprised by this tyre, and it is probably still the go to daily road driving enthusiast tyre under 19". I understand now why the above hot hatches still use this 'old' tyre...
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-24 16:00:34
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 87% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
This is a mid life review, as I change these to another set of PS4 mid-life as I like to have a lot of thread. This tyre must be the best rain tyre ever, I drive a very powerful FWD car on relatively skinny 235 section and, if it isn't greasy for other reasons, it is amazing how well these put down the power. It grips in the rain like many an average tyre can't do in the dry. It is also comfortable, quiet and seems to last very well considering my driving style.
That said, I've you are a nerd driving enthusiast like me, the PS4 isn't the most dynamic sports tyre in terms of feedback or dancing on the edge of grip. In that aspect, they remind me of the PS3, a friendly benign tyre. They are very progressive, but don't give as much feedback like the Supersport. Which is the tyre I changed to for that reason, sacrificing some wet grip and comfort in the process I suppose (not tested that bit yet). A question about priorities...
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-24 16:24:24
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 84% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
My first impressions on this interesting tyre, especially for us who choose to run 18” - kudos for GY for providing the 18” market. Also used on a powerful FWD hot hatch in estate form, with various chassis mods, lighter 18” wheels, rear arb, a few bushings and the odd spherical bearings. Compared to previous mounted Michelin Supersports (MPSS) 225/40R18 (235 not available). Before those, this car had two sets of Pilot Sport 4. All tyres changed already at approx. 5-4mm left so not comparing completely worn to new.

Off the car impressions of the ‘F1SS’ (’EF1SS’ is bit too much to be short, not to mention the other versions…) in 235/40R18 95Y:
Thread depth new: 7mm. Weight 10,2kg. Sidewall is substantial, with more thickness than I’ve seen before even on trackday tyres but without the cord, ‘meaty’ is a good description. Nice protection for the rim. Thread pattern relatively open, both between the large thread blocks on the edges and circumferential channels that are wider than the MPSS, so expecting aquaplaning properties that are not much compromised.

On the car impressions. Tested at 2,3bar cold pressure.
Dry traction very similar. Side dry grip a bit more than the MPSS, with reservation for them being a little wider although that is marginal at best. Wouldn’t want more grip in the dry, really. Tyres very happy to be pushed to the limit, feels like they were made for this, feels very progressive and, indeed, ‘meaty’ once they start sliding. Very confidence inspiring. The MPSS are a little lighter (225 MPSS is 1kg less) though and communicate more the surface condition. Definitely sportier than the PS4 that is relatively soft and safe in its limit behaviour. The other side of the coin is that the F1SS are more comfortable than the MPSS, my subjective noise levels are down (we have some really rough roads due to studded tyre use) and potholes are not as sharp compared to the MPSS. Subjectively I would say these sit halfway between the MPSS and the PS4 for comfort.

In the wet, the F1SS is on another level than the MPSS, and not far off the PS4. The PS4 is ultimately maybe a bit more tenacious and progressive on the limit in turns in the wet, but I could find surprising grip with the F1SS when the roads weren’t greasy. This is progress in compound for sure. So this tyre is much more a PS4S competitor than a Cup2 and for me a clear upgrade on the MPSS in the wet, they broke traction very easily when cold and only a bit greasy.
Not yet driven in downpours so no aquaplaning impressions yet.

Obviously cannot comment on wear yet, can’t see though that the thread suffered anything from a few spirited drives on country roads. Hopefully these aren’t too far off the excellent wear properties of the Asymmetric 5.
Will review these again before I change them, from what I've seen so far a definite recommendation, a very well rounded tyre for enjoyable road performance driving. The price was good too. All of course my highly subjective findings, YMMV.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-02 14:58:53
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 73% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
I thought this car would lunch front tyres. I really did. 290hp through the front axle couldn't be sensible. 24,000 miles later the P-Zeros still have 1mm of tread spare. I haven't checked the rears yet but they were at 6mm after 17,000 miles.

I've maybe done 65% motorway driving and 35% country roads in what is always a heavily loaded daily driver and for me the Pirellis have always felt secure, maybe not as responsive or sharp in feedback, but a really solid drive. They do suffer in the wet but again no more than most. The feeling of grip didn't diminish until the last 20% of driving, but I have noticed a serious drop in grip since clearing 20,000 miles, so that's something to watch out for. I have also noticed a train-track effect in the last 4,000 miles too.

Sadly the main strength of these tyres seems to also be their main weakness. They are so hard and and so loud to drive on. Admittedly 19 inch rims always suffer for ride, but these tyres seem exceptionally hard. Road noise is a real terror. I think this may also hurt the ability to put the power down, as they feel so stiff. Bearing in mind getting off the line is the Achilles heel of a FWD car, I would really want the tyre to help the car set off smoother.

Reading other people's reviews, it looks like you can solve the noise problem by going for Goodyear E1A3s, or you can solve the off-the-line issue by going to PS4s or PSSs. However, I haven't seen any reviews that have got the kind of mileage I've had with the P-Zeros.

On balance that's also a budget argument; E1A3s are cheaper and quieter but you may get through them quicker, P-Zeros are more hard wearing but more expensive and loud, PSSs and PS4s are the ultimate for performance but you're going to pay through the nose.

Personally with the amount of motorway miles I do I'm probably going to go for the E1A3s. It's the sensible move.

Now how do I tell my wife I've spent £340 on a pair of Michelin Super Sports? XD
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-15 15:26:57
Writing about the Pirelli Winter Sottozero 3 given 61% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
This is an excellent winter tire but... They are pretty much fabulous on every surface except... they don't last on B category roads and break easily. It's hard not to be dissapointed given the price you have to pay. I check my tire pressure every 2 weeks so it's not a matter of not taking care. I had no problems with my summer tires so far (Michelins) but I lost two winter Pirellis within 2 months so I'm questioning their endurance. I won't buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-14 08:21:39
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 47% (235-35-19-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Terrible quick wearing, factory fitted as standard on Cupra 290 brake FWD vehicle, down to under 2mm after just 6000 miles! Not hard driving, just standard journeys, quite a short commute with a lot of stopping and starting, but this is still pathetic!
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-29 17:51:29
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre