Saab Automobile 9000 Turbo Tyres

Drive a Saab Automobile 9000 Turbo? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Saab Automobile 9000 Turbo
Kumho IZen KW23 (9) 82% 82% 76% 74% 85% 84% 91% 82% 18,499
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (200) 88% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,533,045
Linglong Green Max HP010 (9) 81% 78% 78% 79% 85% 76% 89% 81% 104,177
Continental Premium Contact 5 (106) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 79% 66% 75% 1,141,638
Continental Premium Contact 2 (184) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,228,189

Saab Automobile 9000 Turbo Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 100% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
I was not interested In mpg / environment / mileage ... all I wanted was a tyre with fantastic grip and safety . I drive a powerful heavy front wheel drive and the grip ,quiet ride and feedback I get is fantastic . Although it was not important to me they have covered 16k swapped front to back at 7k and the fronts are still not near the wear markers . I was in the motor trade for 26 yrs so know my tyres !
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-15 22:00:32
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 93% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
Very quiet. Superb grip in both wet and dry conditions. Much better than the P6 Pirelli's that were fitted to the car previously. Coming up to 50,000 Kms and due for replacement. I will fit another set.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-15 07:41:05
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 93% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
A fantastic tyre, better than all other tyres I've had in the past of various makes and values. I bought them for their performance in wet and dry and for the price - I don't think there's better value around. Used on a 9000 Turbo, so medium-heavy car, soft suspension with a lot of power and torque, these tyres deal with it superbly. Car instantly felt more stable and planted and gave me so much more confidence - even pushing the car you'll struggle to lose traction unless you really force it. The other great attribute to these tyres is the comfort, they are extremely quiet (noticeably) and great for motorway cruising. Very comfortable to drive on, I'm guessing due to fairly soft side wall which does take some feel away from them but I'd still say it's pretty good. After nearly 10000 miles there's still loads of tread left. If the price stays the same I'll probably be buying the same next time.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-08 02:27:53
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 87% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12 easy going miles
Replaced a set of Continental PremiumContact 2 tyres which had done 50,0000 kms.
So far I am very happy with the PremiumContact 5's. I have found that increasing the pressure to 38 p.s.i. has helped reduce wear, but at the expense of a little ride comfort.
One thing I cannot understand. I see reviews for 245/17 versions of this tyre posted on this site, but according to Continental, they do not make this tyre in that size. What gives?
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-22 01:01:38
Writing about the Kumho IZen KW23 given 81% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 easy going miles
I bought some of these for winter 2010 before the weather got really bad and I'm so glad I did. I've never used winter tyres before so I have nothing to compare to but compared with normal summer tyres they are a revelation. I used them throughout December and they got me to work everyday with no drama, great on the ice and snow and not really noticeably worse than my summer tyres in the dry and wet.
They felt much softer than summer tyres and absorbed bumps better, but the downside of this was a bit of steering feel was lost. No noticeable increase in noise or fuel consumption.
I've just bought another set for my new Volvo ready for the coming months before the prices of winter rubber sky rockets!
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-05 22:36:07
Writing about the Linglong Green Max HP010 given 77% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Drove these tyres last summer. I got these symmetric Greenmax HP010 tyres due to an confusing website from which i thought i was ordering asymmetric Greenmax UHP -tyres. These two are completely different style of tyres, and not to be confused together. This HP010 is comfortable touring style tyre, as opposed to UHP which is supposed to be the sporty one. HP010 is not a "High Performance tyre" as it is described in "Tyre reviews" description of the tyre.

Anyways, this fact doesn't make this tire a bad one, not at all. It is a very comfortable and quiet, plain and symmetric passenger car tyre. Although it is not a crisp handling sporty tyre, it's straight line keeping ability is good and steering response is sufficient to daily drive and occasional country road trips for fun. Steering response is rather soft, but still logical and stiffening towards ends without surprising behaviour.

As to grip in wet roads, even relatively cold ones (Finland), i could not get these tyres to slip on wet asphalt, even as i was deliberately punishing the car and the tyres in winding country roads. Of course they will slip, but at that point the speed is mindless anyway. Chinese are catching up in this area, obviously.

These tyres could perhaps be best described as "Old Man Style" -tyres, without negative connoitations. They are comfortable (civilized even on rotten roads full of potholes around here), quiet and dirt cheap, and seem to be lasting rather well by their tread. Also due to being a symmetric tyre, this ensures easy seasonal cross-rotations.

tyre reviewed on 2014-01-07 20:25:19
Writing about the Kumho IZen KW23 given 73% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 easy going miles
These have been on my car for just over a month now so I can't really comment on the wear.
In the wet they aren't brilliant but neither are they terrible, and in the dry they have been perfectly adequate, but where they excel as you would expect is in cold and snow.
The past week has seen a lot of snow and these tyres have taken me places where the only other cars on the road were Landrover Defenders! You find yourself stuck behind cars without winter tyres wondering why they are going so slowly!

They don't offer much in the road feedback and handling stakes in the dry when you can push on a bit, they just feel a bit vague but this is not what you buy this tyre for. You buy it to get where you need to be in bad weather and at this they are brilliant at.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-04 11:07:16
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre