Skoda Rapid TSI Tyres

Drive a Skoda Rapid TSI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Skoda Rapid TSI
Continental WinterContact TS 860 S (6) 93% 93% 95% 93% 95% 100% 98% 96% 33,000
Barum Polaris 3 (17) 81% 89% 83% 81% 86% 86% 87% 88% 129,740
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (28) 90% 94% 87% 88% 83% 90% 90% 86% 207,671
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (43) 89% 88% 86% 84% 79% 85% 81% 84% 170,265
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (205) 88% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,636,045
Jinyu YH12 (28) 81% 74% 79% 69% 79% 80% 73% 76% 151,181
Barum Polaris 5 (7) 77% 77% 74% 71% 78% 81% 67% 74% 21,300
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (145) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64% 54% 67% 2,105,560
Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 (14) 74% 58% 71% 54% 74% 77% 60% 67% 189,000

Skoda Rapid TSI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 S given 100% (185-60-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 easy going miles
What a tyre, extremely satisfied, mainly Iam driving on motorways 70% and 30% in the city. Till now I have done approx 9-11k Km.
Excellent handling on wet, dry or snow conditions, never worried or felt a fear, I am so comfortable that I really drove the same way like I have a summer tyre.
Exceptional performance on snow, usually going for a week at alps for skiing and have to say they shine, exceptional grip control and very good road feedback, you totally know when you can push more or you are pushing too much.
Few times I had to break hard on highways I felt comfortable and confident.
No wear issues till now.
Deff would buy it again and I would recommend it 100%

Please note, generally Iam an easy going driver with gentle foot.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-30 11:07:13
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 97% (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 average miles
One of the best tyres I've ever used. Comfy, quiet, very good dry handling and pretty good wet.
They stop very very good especially if there warmed up plenty.
I drive mostly outer city single / duel carriageway and motorways, at a speed around
55mph, occasionally upto 90mph when overtaking. Feedback and steering response is
Precise and straight line stability is good. Overall very sure footed.
Best of all is the life of these tyres, they are at 3mm now and have done 38,000 miles.

Car original came with pirelli cintauro tyres which were also very good but didn't last half as long. And the dunlop tyres were £48 fitted each compared to original pirelli around £60.

Next month I will replace with the same.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-22 14:21:32
Writing about the Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 given 96% (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 easy going miles
A trully efficient tyre!
This set of 4x kumho tyres cost just over £200 fitted, and the fuel it is saving me will pay off the cost of the tyres over its lifetime. I am getting 6.5% better fuel econemy running these over the standard continental tyres fitted from factory.
Dry grip and wet grip are exceptional and wet grip braking is among the best i have encountered. Tyre noise is minimal and balancing the tyres were easy.
overall these are among my favourite tyres i have fitted to any previous vehicle. When pushed these tyres can hold there own, either under hard acceleration, braking or cornering, with no imminent feel of braking away. But when driven sensibly they are a wonder, transforming the vehicle into a comfortable quiet car, hiding many pot holes and uneven road surfaces common to the uk.
These tyres are better than leading premium brands for my style of driving on my current vehicle. Wear after 1000 miles is next to none And for just over £200 for 4x fitted, new valves and balanced tyres there are little other options to choose from, none of them would be as good.
A revolutionary tyre. Well done kumho. 9/10.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-21 11:30:22
Writing about the Barum Polaris 3 given 96% (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
Exceptional winter Tyre. Best Tyre I've used yet on wet roads and offers lots of traction and safety on snow and ice. Only covered 3000 miles, but Tyre looks like new. Easy and comfy to drive on, but also surprisingly agile and sure footed when pushed. Best winter Tyre I've used to date, ideal for cold wet British roads.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-30 21:48:20
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 96% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24981 easy going miles
Excellent tyres.
Faultless really, better than dunlop sport sp01 that came originally on the car. Lasted very well, got a good 25,000 miles out of my 1st set of Goodyear effecientgrip performance tyres. Replaced when they were on 3-4mm.
They are fitted on the family car, very safe, excellent wet handling and braking in all weathers. Biggest benefit is fuel savings. I get around 61mpg average on a decent run, compared to original tyres of 52mpg average.
I have replaced these tyres with a new set of the same.
£66 each fitted & balanced per tyre by Protyre, excellent value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-26 12:38:55
Writing about the Jinyu YH12 given 91% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 average miles
This is an update of my last review of these tyres.

These tyres still remain impressive for their price.
Over an additional 7500 miles these tyres have worn well only 1.5 mm.
This tyre is best in the wet. Its stability and grip in the wet is impressive and in the wet, the braking is at its best. It resists aqua planing well at reasonable speeds and offers great levels of confidence in adverse road conditions.
In the dry the tyres perform pretty good. Dry grip and control is satisfactory and the braking in the dry is pretty decent up to the speed limit.
Wheel spin is limited even under hard acceleration.
These tyres are very quiet and comfortable on the road. And fuel economy is no worse than the original Dunlop's fitted from factory.
These tyres also are also great to apply tyre shine too. For some reason the tyres hold their product longer than other tyre brands, possibly in the chemicals or materials used.

I commute 50 miles to work and back daily @55 - 60 mph, from city centre to the motorway. And for this type of driving at these speeds this tyre is highly recommendable.
And at £49 fitted per corner for my tyre size it's an easy choice.
I rate this tyre 7.5 / 10 and the best used on this vehicle/tyre size to date

(Note: Other tyres used; Dunlop sp 01, kumho ecowing, Michelin energy saver).

Shabby
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-16 00:56:24
Writing about the Barum Polaris 3 given 91% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 easy going miles
Review update.
I've don't 7500 miles on these tyres now and have just rotated them. After 7500 miles the front tyres tread depth is 6.5mm and the rear tyres tread depth is 7mm. Original depth was 8mm. So they are wearing well and evenly. Better than other winter tyres I've used in the past.
Wet traction over the last month has been very impressive both handling and braking are sharp and precise. The last few weeks has allowed me to test them on ice. Again very good, offering good steering feedback when accelerating and cornering. Ice braking is quite impressive for a non studded tyre (around 25mph). Not yet tried it on snow.
Only down side would be fuel consumption. But it could be due to fitting heavier steel wheels. Fuel consumption has dropped 3.5mpg over summer tyres.
Still joint top safest tyre for winter I've used. 9/10
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-15 08:41:02
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 90% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 easy going miles
Exception set of tyres, have covered nearly 40,000 miles and are between 3.5-3mm tread left. I have checked the tyre pressures every week and run them pretty high for economy at 38psi. Handling is good still, good turn in. Getting abit louder in the wet now but still sharp and precise braking even in the wet. Minimal signs of wear or cracking. It's an older model tyre now and has been replaced, but if I can find a set of these tyres writhing a few years of manufacture I will defiantly purchase again.
Only down side is rolling resistance, compared to the newer blue response or goodyear efficient grip performance.
Still a fab tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-10 21:11:21
Writing about the Barum Polaris 3 given 90% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19700 easy going miles
An update on my previous review.
I've done just under 20,000 miles on these Polaris 3 tyres now and they've been nothing short of incredible.
Rear tyres are down to 4mm, the sipes in the tyre are just about visible.
Front tyres are down to 3mm and there are no more sipes visible.
The tyres are perfectly drive able, still perform well in the wet and dry. I have just ordered a replacement set because the sipes in the tread are pretty much worn and from previous experience this can severely impact the traction and braking on snow and ice. Although the tread depth and the tyres could safely go on for a few more thousand miles.
To sum these tyres up there a perfect mix from the motorway to the snowy hills.
Last winter I drove from the south of Devon through sheet rain for 7 hours then further on to Inverness through a pretty nasty snow storm. The last 50 minuites of the trip in particular were through 4" of fresh snow up and down hills. Did not at any point feel out of place in those conditions. Really designed well and when your commuting at 50mph+ there quiet and comfortable.
Only bad points is the fuel consumption. It's not really bad, but going from Goodyear efficient grip performance tyres with a fuel B rating to these barum Polaris 3 tyres that are a fuel E rated tyre it's about 3-5 MPG less depending on speeds.
But seriously for cold wet weather safety there great!
Shibby
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-18 22:22:26
Writing about the Jinyu YH12 given 90% (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 average miles
One year on since my last review. - Still good!

I have just replaced all 4 tyres and bought new set of these jinyu yh12 tyres. £29.50 per tyre.
The previous set that I'm reviewing covered 28,000 miles! The tread depth was 3mm, and at this shallow depth there was a noticeable reduction in effective breaking in very wet conditions from new, tyres were also louder than before. Dry grip was still top notch and the comfort and reasonable fuel economy remained. Overall these tyres are great for my driving style. Still commuting at around 55mph with the odd overtake here and there, but generally quite easy going, I checked tyre pressure twice a month and these tyres lasted along time, longer than other premium tyres I've used, for an economy or budget tyre at the low cost it's great.
I highly recommend these tyres to all who drive at reasonablely sensible speeds.
The weather permitting, I've pushed the tyres a little harder than usual, three things stand out.
1, the tyres are very stable at higher straight-line speeds, possibly due to the continuous centeral rib.
2, my car has very sharp turn in due to electronic steering not hydraulic power steering and these tyres match the turn in rate and are very responsive.
3, when pushed to the limit it tyres are reasonably forgiving, an audible squeal is heard before the tyres break away and loose lateral grip. These tyres corner well for its size and type, it's no track tyre so don't expect that but it's safe for some fun.

The newer tyres have a redesigned tyre sidewall. The text jinyu yh12 is no longer raised but flush with the tyre and that addition text gallopro is also visible. Still holds tyre shine well so compound hasn't changed much. Balancing is easy I can only recall getting my previous set balanced 2x over the life of the tyre, and that was due to swapping the jinyu for barum winter tyres.

Great tyre, safe tyre, we'll constructed for the money.

9/10

Shibby
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-11 07:57:20
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre