Subaru 04 WRX Tyres

Drive a Subaru 04 WRX? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Subaru 04 WRX
Nokian zLine (78) 92% 92% 90% 89% 77% 86% 85% 87% 614,390
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (390) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,740,737
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (29) 94% 72% 91% 91% 70% 75% 91% 83% 178,100
Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S (8) 86% 86% 79% 84% 68% 86% 81% 83% 52,500
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (67) 91% 79% 83% 86% 69% 74% 84% 81% 745,006
Sailun Atrezzo ZSR (24) 85% 77% 78% 81% 79% 77% 82% 80% 202,000
Neuton NT8000 (32) 90% 74% 80% 75% 81% 82% 77% 80% 230,381
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (120) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81% 80% 79% 1,228,286
Mastercraft Avenger Touring LSR (3) 85% 75% 65% 70% 95% 75% 85% 79% 165,000
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84% 87% 78% 173,406
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79% 73% 77% 1,145,558
Sportiva Compact (5) 90% 78% 76% 72% 66% 74% 74% 76% 57,000
Toyo Proxes C1S (34) 79% 70% 72% 70% 67% 71% 64% 70% 336,050
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Laufenn I Fit Ice (3) 90% 73% 77% 73% 40% 93% 70% 69% 10,000
Pace PC10 (9) 76% 59% 59% 61% 79% 69% 60% 66% 86,040
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (126) 70% 48% 57% 54% 69% 48% 43% 55% 1,244,457
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

Subaru 04 WRX Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU39 given 96% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Kumho have been my tyre of choice for years now and they keep getting better. I fit Kumho because I have total confidence in them not because of price, the fact they are cheaper than the "premium" brands is merely a bonus. I've had Bridgestone & Goodyear on Impreza's and neither can hold a candle to Kumho. Dry grip is great, wet grip is astonishing! Never had an issue with wear or ride quality either.

Fit them, you too will wonder how they do it.

tyre reviewed on 2012-05-15 19:46:15
Writing about the Laufenn I Fit Ice given 95% (205-70-15-R)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
This first set of I Fit Ice remains a price attractive product. The Lufenn tire model did better than expected and driving in the ice and snow with a Subaru Outback. I am pleasantly surprised at the handling and traction received. This Montana winter of 2016/2017 has been determined in this area to be one of the top 10 most undesirable winters on record. I have no regrets on my tire purchase and the handling I have received. This is a recent purchase and will have to wait to see how the tires wear.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-10 17:41:06
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S given 93% (215-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-07 23:06:43
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 90% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
I'm a big fan of Nokians winter tyres, so as I needed to get a full set of summer tyres I thought I'd give the Zlines a try. The first few dozen miles were a bit slippery, but this is normal for any new tyre. After they were broken in they settled down well and are performing brilliantly.

I tend to push my car, and after going a bit tentitively to begin with while I got used to the tyres, I have got to the point where I trust them and find them very reliable in dry or wet conditions. Turn in is very nice and predictable (it's all relative - my benchmarks are the BFGoodrich gGrips which were on the car when I bought it, and Goodyear Eagle F1s that I've had a few times no previous cars of simliar performance (older versions of the twin turbo legacy so AWD, with plenty of power). Also a set of Vredestein Ultrac Sessantas. I find the Zlines to be better than all of the above, with particularly note worthy performace in the wet.

I'll have to update this later to comment on the wear life as I've only done about 5,000 miles so far, but as I said I push quite hard nad so far the fronts have just over 1.5mm of tread scrubbed off. Another reviewer mentioned the wear slowed down once it got to 2mm so I'm hoping that turns out to be the case. Also it may be worth noting that most of my driving is on narrow country roads which don't tend to have the best road surface, so wear may be slightly exaggerated than it would on predominantly motorway/A road use.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-17 17:35:27
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Stick like Velcro on my Impreza. No heart stopping moments when putting the power down and no squirms or slides in the corners. Very sticky compound and soft when you get some heat in them.
Too early to comment on wear but I've been told they are good.
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-07 20:34:39
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Changed to a set of the RE003's at 25,000 km's on my 2015 STI. I am now at 55,000 and looking at replacing them with another set. These tyres make the grip levels so high that I can't actually find the limit in the dry on the street. I am not brave enough and I need a race seat / harness as the grip see's me moving around in the cabin to much... I highly recommend these tyres to everyone I know and I am really impressed with how well they have lasted. Correct tyre pressures would be the key here I think. I am running 39psi all round with -1degree of front camber and 0degree toe.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-27 09:10:20
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 87% (215-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
Fitted these Falken HS 449 2 years ago to my Subaru and very impressed all round. Great in the dry, very good in the wet and completely capable in heavy snow. A tough tyre that I use all year round. Very recommendable.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-14 08:18:05
Writing about the Toyo Proxes C1S given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
its a good tire for both wet and dry roads. in a Subaru WRX you need such tire
tyre reviewed on 2012-11-05 20:42:15
Writing about the Pace PC10 given 81% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 55000 spirited miles
I was running achillies on my car and the wore terribly.
Went to pace tyres as there were in the perfect price range for the value you get.
Very gripy in the dry.
For the price they are the perfect tire for all day use.
Will buy again and again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-07-01 09:24:54
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 given 79% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-15 11:47:28
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre