Subaru BRZ Tyres

Drive a Subaru BRZ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Subaru BRZ
Michelin Primacy Alpin PA3 (8) 91% 95% 91% 76% 96% 86% 91% 90% 37,416
Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222 (2) 100% 75% 90% 95% 80% 65% 100% 86% 15,715
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (37) 97% 75% 92% 93% 75% 71% 93% 85% 212,505
Accelera 651 Sport (13) 89% 76% 85% 87% 84% 86% 86% 85% 99,200
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (13) 88% 83% 78% 84% 93% 78% 87% 84% 127,815
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (35) 86% 82% 84% 85% 78% 79% 87% 83% 172,873
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (12) 85% 88% 88% 87% 83% 83% 83% 82% 90,810
Toyo R888 (35) 92% 66% 82% 82% 60% 56% 82% 74% 190,961
Zeta Ztr10 (27) 58% 43% 50% 49% 65% 59% 44% 53% 125,810

Subaru BRZ Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy Alpin PA3 given 96% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
I went to a short skiing holiday and drove my new car with anew set of winter tyres over the weekend
Rain on motorway, black ice uphil and a mixture of snow and ice towards the hotel at the top of the mountain (- 9 C). And driving at night on a previously unknown icy mountain road was something I would love to anticipate but withsthe family on board, that was not the case at all.
Driving a real wheel drive car in those conditions always merits extra care. I was carefjl and I felt safe at all times. Car behaved greatly as I thought Subaru would and this is due to the Michelins as well.
Great tyres, tested and prover.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-03 20:11:50
Writing about the Accelera 651 Sport given 96% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13600 spirited miles
very quiet tire great grip unbelievable performance before i had toyo r888 it was very noisy and non comfort for sure i will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-06 04:37:12
Writing about the Accelera 651 Sport given 94% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13600 spirited miles
very quiet tire for semi slick before i had toyo r888 that was very noisy great grip unbelievable performance good deal for the money for sure i will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-06 04:28:09
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 89% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 miles
Best budget performance tyres for my brz.
Comfort is irrelevant as this car does not have great insulation.
Dry..wet...not an issue.. tackle with confidence.
Handling and braking...I have no complaints..
Will review on a later date when they reach 10000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-10 14:37:33
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222 given 89% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9500 spirited miles
Amazing tyre with extreme amounts of grip in the dry, needing little warm up time. Feedback through the steering is sensational, little less than Federal RS-R's, but miles safer in the wet. These tyres are very progressive. Handle the rain and standing water much better than full 'semi-slicks'. Have lasted 13 months and 15,000km so far with 4mm tread remaining. Have withstood multiple heat cycles and mild track work. Will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-27 01:00:31
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 77% (235-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I'm currently on my third set of AD08Rs. All 3 sets have been acquired at different stage's of life over the last 2 years so i'd assume my review on them should be fairly comprehensive for my use-case.

1'st set i got was off a friend which were relatively new with about 85% thread left on them. 2'nd set popped up really cheap as a used set at around 60% life and i got the 3'rd set new.

For daily use:
Honestly, a surprisingly well-behaved race-orientated tyre for the road. No real drama. It's perfectly acceptable in terms of conform and noise (given i run pretty stiff coilovers and exhaust isn't exactly silent). Ran RE003 Potenza's before this which is more of a road-bias performance tyre and i barely, if at all, notice any difference in comfort. Dry grip undoubtedly, is excessive for everyday road use. Trust me, i'll hardly ever have a lack of it in the dry. In the wet, they behave well too. When they're new, cruising on the highway at 100-120kmph isn't much of a big deal but of course, don't go crazy and you'll be fine. Wear on these i'd assume are fine as well if you swap between track and daily alignments. As i had a string of trackdays, i made the mistake of leaving a rather aggressive track alignment on and yet, they lasted a 6 months on a combo of daily driving and track work.

For the Track:
In terms of outright grip, they're great. Comparable to the R888Rs and anything else in the upper echelon of street-legal performance tyres, if not better. They let go very progressively and you'll hear they screech long before they give-up on you. One complaint i have tho, is feedback. Perhaps it's the specific alignment i'm running or some weird steering geometry at play but they feel numb. Going straight, mid-corner, on full lock, on breaking, they just feel numb to me. Hence, if it's your first time out on them, it'll take you sometime to learn ther limit as you'll have to go off your other senses to determined whether or not you're gonna implant yourself into that wall out of turn-14.

Aside from the lack of feedback, overall a very good tire.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-21 09:56:11
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 P given 63% (215-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Very good winter tyre for a sportscar in dry condition. Pretty pricy and it wears very fast. Snow grip is good but I had loads of problems on ice and very cold temperatures. I expected more from this tyre expecially considering the price.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-05 00:24:56
Writing about the Petlas Velox Sport PT741 given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-27 13:39:06
Writing about the Zeta Ztr10 given 40% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
I recently bought a used Subaru BRZ and the dealer replaced the worn OEM Michelin Premacy rear tyres with a pair of Zeta ZTR10's.
In short the only tyres I can recall that provided such poor handling and feedback were a set of cheap remoulds many years ago. If these are a cheap tyre they may be OK for a shopping car, but don't put them near anything sporty. They'll be coming off as soon as I can decide whether to replace just the tyres or go for a new wheel/tyre package.

The longer version :
when cornering these made the car feel as if the side-wall was flexing under the lateral load, or as if a bush was worn. When I eased off slightly, it returned to shape. Attempting to take a moderate sweeping bend with any enthusiasm had the car tracing the path of a 50-pence piece.
As an experiment I rotated the wheels to have the Zeta's at the front, worn Premacy's on the rear. Now the rear was stable, the front vague.
As a further experiment I used a set of old wheels with old and worn no-name tyres and even they were noticably more stable and communicative then the Zeta's.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-27 18:20:15
Writing about the Toyo R888 given 20% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
can not drive with this tyre extreme noisy and non comfort and expensive bad deal
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-06 04:33:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
https://bs.serving-sys.com/serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&mc=imp&pli=29943428&PluID=0&ord=[timestamp]&rtu=-1