Subaru Outback Tyres

Drive a Subaru Outback? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Subaru Outback
Radar RW 5 (1) 80% 90% 90% 90% 0% 80% 100% 88% 2,000
BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA (13) 92% 90% 85% 80% 88% 85% 88% 87% 100,220
Kormoran Suv Summer (2) 95% 75% 80% 80% 80% 90% 90% 84% 3,000
Michelin Pilot Alpin (4) 88% 88% 75% 85% 85% 78% 90% 84% 85,064
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (42) 87% 83% 81% 78% 81% 86% 85% 83% 222,300
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
GT Radial Champiro 228 (5) 84% 82% 84% 86% 70% 88% 80% 82% 100,000
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84% 87% 78% 173,406
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82% 85% 78% 55,100
GT Radial Champiro HPY (22) 88% 80% 74% 73% 61% 77% 73% 75% 210,215
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (40) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63% 70% 74% 864,661
Nankang SP7 (1) 70% 80% 70% 70% 80% 80% 70% 74% 2,000
Yokohama Geolandar G900 (12) 85% 79% 72% 65% 69% 68% 63% 72% 971,180
Bridgestone Blizzak LM30 (9) 77% 72% 65% 56% 76% 69% 66% 69% 62,350
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Kleber Krisalp HP2 (14) 75% 61% 64% 61% 84% 71% 60% 68% 157,000
Nokian eNTYRE (23) 79% 64% 68% 57% 78% 68% 54% 67% 296,990
Maxxis PRO R1 (14) 81% 65% 68% 63% 64% 71% 53% 66% 85,500
Goform GH18 (2) 70% 55% 65% 60% 80% 80% 40% 64% 15,024
BFGoodrich Traction TA (4) 75% 68% 60% 63% 80% 37% 50% 62% 14,041
Yokohama Geolandar G98A (14) 75% 68% 68% 73% 48% 61% 33% 61% 199,000
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57% 49% 55% 1,078,616

Subaru Outback Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE001 given 100% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2010-08-14 21:03:21
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G98A given 96% (225-55-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
Current set have done 33000 miles with normal and motorway driving - still 6mm left.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-14 12:42:42
Writing about the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA given 94% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
Probably the best all round tyre I've used and have tried many over the years. Bought Urban Terrains because one of my Landcruisers clocked up 50,000 miles on BFG AT's and still had plenty of life left with superb off road and excellent on road characteristics. Now I drive a 2014 Subaru Outback. Found the UT's good for their type in the mud, excellent in the snow (acceleration, braking and cornering all good and predictable) and with extremely good on-road performance and manners. Done 25,000 miles and according to the MoT tester all four corners were between 5mm and 6mm remaining so plenty left. Had to fit 225/65/17 as no 225/60 available. Won't look at anything else now, am very pleased. For a compromise tyre (which all season must always be by definition) they come close to being the perfect tyre for me.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-15 20:48:53
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 93% (215-60-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-10 15:03:32
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 90% (215-60-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
An interesting one this. These tyres seem to produce mixed reviews, but I can honestly say that on snow, frozen roads or very cold but waterlogged roads, they are predictable, grippy and confident when fitted to a Subaru Outback. I drove the 30 miles into work this morning starting on 3 to 4 inches of fresh snow that had fallen on ice. This turned to deep slush, and then deep puddles and heavy rain, and not once did I feel compromised.I live in the Cairngorms and have 2 miles on unclassified twisting, undulating track to drive before I get to a B road, and the car never once mis behaved. Even a sharp off camber junction leading to a steep uphill section saw no dramas at all. Last week we have a flash freeze warning and I drove home with large patches of black ice on the same road, and again, the car just pulled through it all on these tyres. I have only been using them for 4 weeks, but it has all been in conditions that would have had the previous tyres (Geolanders) asking questions (hence the change). Even mucking about in my field in snow and mud the car was extremely predictable and controllable despite provoked 4 wheel drifts. All in all a very capable tyre in typical Scottish winter conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2012-12-03 10:24:48
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 90% (215-60-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
Have driven for 11 years during harsh winters in Romania, but only had budget winter tyres so far.

Since I've moved from a WRX to a more sedated family car which is a 2008 Outback, I wanted something above the low budget tyres but didn't want to pay the price of a Conti or Goodyear or Bridgestone.

Price is really attactive for a brand like this. Everyone said the pattern is not good because it's not a V, but it bytes the snow and ice so well even at -20 as we've had these days.

But what I really like the most about them is how progressive they are and the level of control they give is incredible. The car slides so elegantly and can be stopped from a snow drift in a second with minimum input. If you don't get aggressive with the acceleration the car will just go and turn where you point the steering wheel.
They are not that good on fuel economy, can't say anything about wear yet, dry grip is really good beating all season tyres even, road feedback is fine and they are really confortable, though they can get a bit noisy on motorways.
tyre reviewed on 2017-01-12 13:12:53
Writing about the Kormoran Suv Summer given 89% (215-65-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
After one summer season. Tread in my opinion is ok.
Quiet, comfortable, fuel economy as weel, cheap for good quality.
During dry conditions very well, on wet they are good but aquaplanning comes out about 70km/h in deep water on regional road.
Would buy once more.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-23 17:07:45
Writing about the Marangoni Meteo HP given 88% (225-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
excellent tyres. Hugely impressive grip in snow - with the subaru 4wd I've had no issues whatsoever driving in hard packed, slush or 24 inches of fresh snow. The car still takes a bit of stopping but on bends and corners the grip is either good, or the sliding controllable.
Would thoroughly recommend for foul weather use.
Also quieter on the road than my 18" low profiles.
tyre reviewed on 2010-12-01 18:42:47
Writing about the Radar RW 5 given 88% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
I live in northern NY I put these on my car this year I never run snow tires on my outback before but I will be from now on the car drives and handles way better in the winter on slippery back roads that I drive can't say for wear rate just put them on this year but very happy with traction and noise a lot quitter than my wifes firestones on hear out back
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-07 17:58:04
Writing about the Yokohama Geolandar G900 given 87% (215-60-16-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 average miles
These tyres are developed for the Subaru Outback and Forester - and they truly meet the Outback well.

This driver has driven thousands of kilometers using so-called premium tires from Nokian, Goodyear and Continental. All of those are much more noisy and uncomfortable, since they transfer any small dents in the road surface in a very unforgiving way, as a consequence of their stiff side walls. Worst of all is the tracking on the uneven and worn road surfaces we have everywhere in Norway.

All of the above mentioned issues were completely cured by installing the G900s - no tracking whatsoever with the Geolandars.
tyre reviewed on 2015-08-11 20:30:42
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
https://bs.serving-sys.com/serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&mc=imp&pli=29943428&PluID=0&ord=[timestamp]&rtu=-1