Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp Tyres

Drive a Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (389) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,734,737
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (33) 88% 85% 82% 82% 80% 84% 88% 84% 240,955
Falken ZE914 (92) 89% 82% 85% 81% 82% 83% 86% 84% 915,155
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (256) 84% 93% 79% 79% 64% 83% 77% 80% 1,868,205
Davanti DX640 (54) 79% 71% 77% 75% 67% 81% 71% 74% 451,046
Continental Sport Contact 5 (183) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 74% 55% 72% 1,978,448
Nexen N6000 (63) 81% 70% 74% 65% 71% 74% 65% 71% 630,469
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61% 59% 69% 939,170
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67% 57% 63% 753,482

Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 93% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 average miles
I have had rainsports 2 in the past & i can not highly rate this tyre enough, i purchase all my tyres from camskill :) 2 x rainsports 3 in march for the fronts, so my rainsports 2 went on the back, overall i find the rainsports 3 better in terms of grip, dry/wet, & a lot less noise from the RS3, I have 225 40 18 92Y XL on the RS3 & RS2.

But for one strange reason the RS2 seem to look lower in height/diameter compared to the RS3? must be something to do with the shark skin technology making the RS3 look higher.

Every time i need tyres its all ways Rainsports 2 or 3 for me, I have used falkens in the past on the same vehicle & the falkens aint got a patch on the rainsports 2 or 3 :)
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-13 10:52:00
Writing about the Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
First time I have bought Roadstone tyres ...I usually fit Nexen tyres which are a great budget tyre and perform well on my Astra H 1.9 (150)
I read reviews on Roadstone Eurovis 04 and learnt that these are manufactured by Michelin in the same factory as Nexen decided to give them a run...(most leading manufacturers make budget branded tyres)
I am impressed so far I drive ‘normally’ I don’t rag my car and these tyres are proving perfectly well on the front feet so far.
I would have no hesitation in recomending these Eurovision 04 for ‘normal road use’
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-08 20:37:21
Writing about the Nexen N3000 given 80% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
I place the Nexen tyres in value for money mid-range tyre category.
Have had them on my 07 Astra 1.9 16v diesel under normal driving conditions these are fantastic tyres never let go on me driving 'normally' rain or shine.
I Highly recommend Nexen along ,both tyres have served me well front and rear .
Have used Nexen N3000 and N6000 tyres either are great
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-17 16:59:51
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 77% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Had my fair share of tyres and I went with these after reading all the good reviews.
Personally thought they weren't as good as my Khumo's and I've heard the GSD3's are better than the A2's.
But they are a good tyre... Just think there's maybe better.

They lasted 4000 miles putting 340lbs of torque down... Which is pretty good considering I drive it like I've stole it!

Car has DAP R springs with Bilstien B8 shocks and a whiteline RARB.
These are safe option to go for... And I would get them again.
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-06 17:02:21
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given 73% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Bought these after a friends recommendation. He has them on his fiesta zetec s a6nd the smaller profile tyre handles great. On my larger tyre the grip in the dry is v good, better than average in the wet. Though it does tend to under steer in high speed corners without much warning. Done 3000 miles so far. Decent mid range tyre for decent price
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-24 12:47:11
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Great grip in wet and dry but the wear is extremely bad
Wont be buying again

For a track these would be up there but on a road with holes and rough roads they will wear fast so they don't suit it.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-07 23:17:46
Writing about the Nexen N6000 given 57% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Good budget all round tyres. Need running in a little before they come into effect, but that applies with most tyres. The wear is average (I got 16k out of them). When the tread is around 3mm, I did notice a significant reduction in grip, esp in damp/wet conditions but when warmed up, they seem to be hold up alright. Would recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2014-02-05 07:04:30
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050 given 41% (235-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14655 average miles
Only achieved 14500 miles on these tyre, they are quite noisy and a hard ride not helped of course by the 18in wheels on the car.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-11 16:19:00
Writing about the Davanti DX640 given 41% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Last Year we needed new tyres and we were told by our tyre dealer that Davanti tyres were as good as premium brands. The tyres were only £10 cheaper than a premium brand but we were took in by Davanti's own site reviews. What we didn't realise at the time is Davanti only allow reviews within 2 weeks of purchase and it suspiciously only lists 4 and 5 star reviews.

Anyway after a Year I thought I'd write an unbiased review of these terrible tyres that I will never buy or recommend to anyone.

I own a Astra H Sporthatch with a 200bhp 1.9 16v CDTI mapped engine, with 19" wheels using 235/35/19 tyres, and as you might know these cars suffer from crazily bad under steer. Other tyres (Avon ZZ5s) have struggled miserably with the under steer but these Davanti 640s are on another level of poorness. The grip on dry roads is quite good (but aren't they all) but in the wet they are pretty dangerous. Even some Primewell P900s that I bought when funds were low out perform these tyres and they were £50 a corner.

So to sum up.

If you always drive sensibly, have a car with a good chassis and never drive in the rain you might think that these are as good as premium tyres..... But if you drive 'spirited' every now and then, have a poor chassis and It's wet these tyres are absolute rubbish and do not warrant the nearly premium price.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-06 19:53:17
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre