Vauxhall Signum 1.9 CDTI Tyres

Drive a Vauxhall Signum 1.9 CDTI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Vauxhall Signum 1.9 CDTI
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Avon ZV5 (110) 84% 79% 77% 78% 71% 78% 74% 77% 1,381,255
Tomket Sport Series 1 (2) 75% 60% 65% 75% 90% 80% 80% 75% 11,000
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73% 73% 74% 2,708,411
Three A P606 (42) 78% 71% 68% 67% 71% 75% 71% 72% 558,401
Continental Sport Contact 2 (227) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,592
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (89) 75% 62% 68% 61% 78% 69% 57% 67% 2,043,921
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57% 54% 65% 831,215
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66% 52% 63% 465,030
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57% 49% 55% 1,078,616

Vauxhall Signum 1.9 CDTI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 90% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Awesome. The original Continentals on the rear gave out at 29000 miles, but they are a trully awful tyre in this size, just waaay too hard making the car very pointy at the front and skippy on the back. An interim pair of Flaken FK452's on the front were still showing 3mm after 10000 miles, but a great deal and fantastic recomendations drew me to the Vredestiens.

Now, I was a stonewall Goodyear Eagle F1 fan, but having tried these on now for 500 miles, I'm converted. The back ones still have traces of the sticker on them, but the sidewall is softer than either Conti or Falken making the ride superb, the noise much lower and the straight line tracking fantastic.

Put it this way, if they make them in your size, don't mess about, just go and get some, put them on and enjoy!
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-20 21:12:39
Writing about the Tomket Sport Series 1 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Good grip, wet and dry. Feel fine, no issues.
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-11 14:45:52
Writing about the Three A P606 given 83% (245-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
Good grip in dry and wet, they never let go within reasonable use. Feel good on the road, non of the issues others have mentioned.. Comfortably did over 22k miles. Very good value, more than happy to buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-11 14:31:22
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle NCT5 given 80% (215-50-17-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 37000 easy going miles
Got a set of 4 put on my car July 2007. 16 months and 37,000 miles later, the fronts are down to the legal limit and the rear still have about 5.5mm left!

Can't grumble on the wear rate, they are great motorwa munchers, as long as you don't drive like a pillock. Bit pricey though at this size.

Looking for a couple of replacements for the front, wanted to try the falken fk452's but i'm put off slightly about the wear rate. Anyone any recommendations ??



tyre reviewed on 2008-11-12 23:11:22
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 73% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
Put these on the front of my car, replacing a pair of OE Continentals, which were dire!

First impressions were a bit worrying, I found the car wandered and squirmed, I really thought I'd made a big mistake, however after a few hundred miles, they suddenly came on strong!

Overall, 10000 miles of reasonably hard use, still had 3 and 4 mm on them when I replaced them, so the wear is reasonably good, only thing that I wasn't happy about was the grip on wet greasy surfaces, they felt they'd let go a bit too early.

Comfort is good, certainly more supple than the conti's.

I'd buy them again, if the price hadn't recentley shot up, bringing them in considering distance of Vredestein. I'd happily recommend them to anyone for pretty much any car.

Good tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2009-04-20 21:22:34
Writing about the Avon ZV3 given 64% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
I cover 15000 miles per year on rural town and motorway, roughly 30/30/40 split. I only got 10000 miles on the fronts before I swapped to the back, now all four are on the limit after 15000 miles At £110 per tyre I expected better, I previously ran Nexen budget tyres at £75 a tyre, only a minor difference in the wet and lasted longer c 18000 miles on the front.... Definitely not buying again
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-19 18:51:14
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE040 given 60% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 29000 average miles
The 040's were fitted to my vauxhall signum from new. I managed to get 29500 miles out of them - which i think is excellent. I now have toyo TR1's fitted.

The only reason I changed was because of the poor road noise. At speeds between 40 to 65 mph they rummbled constantly. They often got even worse in cold temperature, and became very annoying on long distance driving.

The dry grip is ok and in damp condition is not bad. But on large amounts of surface water, it can be exciting - when the tyres are half worn (around 3-4mm) the car often aquaplaned.

I was also cautious in snow or icy weather. My ABS often kicked in, even at very slow or light breaking.

I found them to be expensive when I priced them up too.

If your after a long lasting / hard wearing tyre then I would not hesitate to buy them. But if comfort or road noise is important then I would choose something different.
tyre reviewed on 2008-12-27 18:08:41
Writing about the Avon ZV5 given 53% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150000 average miles
i do about 15000 miles per year, last year I replaced a pair of Nexen (mid range)on the front for 15000 miles and some budget tyres that came with the car on the rear so no idea on those. The Avon ZV5 were starting to look worn on the front after 10k while the rear looked almost new. I swapped back to front and now coming upto 15k miles, looks like I am going to need 4 new ones. For an average tyre that only lasts 15K costing £120 each I will go back to budgets.
tyre reviewed on 2014-01-09 13:03:27
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 47% (215-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
I didnt buy these, but were on the car when i got it.

i wouldnt touch these again, i hate driving in the wet, grip is so poor in wet!!!!!
on the plus side ive done 15000miles and i still have 3mm of tread.
id rather buy grippy tyres and get 10000 miles than risk poor grip for a slightly higher weare rate.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-18 18:26:22
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 39% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 26000 spirited miles
Really disliked these tyres fitted as standard to my car. Under general driving, they were very twitchy and could break traction in second and third gear.

However, on an emergency high speed cross country dash, they were very good, Gripped well, didn't slide about at all, but this was with the car being ragged to within an inch of its life.

So for me, too much of a comprimise, I replaced the fronts at 21000 miles with Falken FK452's, which are half the price and much better all round tyres.

Won't consider them again, even if they were the same price as the Falkens.
tyre reviewed on 2008-11-27 19:32:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre