Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (394) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,769,737
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85% 87% 86% 2,266,907
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (31) 87% 87% 81% 80% 86% 83% 84% 85% 221,600
Continental Premium Contact 6 (62) 93% 88% 86% 89% 78% 81% 79% 85% 379,840
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (149) 89% 88% 83% 82% 82% 89% 80% 85% 1,343,238
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (280) 90% 88% 84% 84% 73% 83% 80% 83% 3,762,734
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (269) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83% 76% 79% 2,016,705
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (64) 85% 80% 80% 81% 77% 81% 71% 79% 441,244
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (161) 89% 86% 83% 82% 59% 83% 69% 79% 1,492,770
Nexen N9000 (12) 84% 80% 81% 80% 77% 77% 69% 78% 106,962
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (14) 80% 72% 72% 71% 81% 82% 76% 76% 100,000
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (40) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63% 70% 74% 864,661
Continental Sport Contact 5 (190) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73% 55% 72% 2,074,548
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (206) 83% 70% 75% 72% 66% 60% 58% 69% 3,455,628
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (48) 84% 73% 73% 75% 62% 63% 50% 69% 496,560
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (147) 80% 69% 70% 67% 65% 64% 54% 67% 2,197,560
Yokohama S306 (17) 82% 59% 68% 62% 74% 64% 53% 66% 184,050
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49% 33% 44% 869,429

Volkswagen GOLF MK5 R32 3.2 V6 4MOTION Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
Put these on my R32 after reading comments on here !

Boy they transformed the car !

The ride was so quiet and comfy, but wow did they change the handling, stuck like glue

Brilliant tyre in all weathers - just wish they did them for my bmw 520d m sport in run flat !

doesn't handle like the R32 0 but is far more economical on juice - but not as much fun to drive !
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-22 22:47:10
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Got these on my Golf MK5 R32 - excels in every area when racing the grip so well!!
tyre reviewed on 2013-08-11 12:31:16
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 given 96% (225-35-19-V)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-10 12:29:37
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 93% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I've had various makes of tyre over the years last 4 sets I have bought are 2 sets of Vredstein Sessanta's and 2 sets of Good Year Asy 2's so I have history of good tyres to compare to.
When I bought the R32 it had Toyo T1R's which I didn't like at all (I'd driven lots of R32's before buying and these almost ruined the car) as they were noisy, uncomfortable and didn't inspire confidence so I was going to swap over my GY Asy 2 from my previous car when these came up on a deal and I am very very glad I bought them.
I have now done 5K on them and driven in lots of weather and can say they are easily the best all round tyre I have ever driven on.
They have incremental improvements in every area over the Asy 2's except comfort and noise where they are miles ahead of the previous generation tyre. Wear is a bit difficult to judge as this is a new car to me but they still look new after 5K in a heavy car.
The only thing I would point out is they do "look" a little chunkier than other tyres of the same size so not for those where aesthetics are top of the list but for those where driving dynamics are important and you only have 1 car these are just about perfect.
tyre reviewed on 2016-06-22 11:20:10
Writing about the Nexen N9000 given 93% (225-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 easy going miles
Ecellent tyres and cheap too! I wouldnt use any others! They suit the 4 wheel drive superbly!
tyre reviewed on 2011-03-28 14:49:58
Writing about the Nokian WRG2 given 91% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2 average miles
I got these tyres just after the first flurry of snow here in the UK (Nov 2010) as I didn’t want to get caught out again like I did last year. At the time, I had Goodyear F1's during winter months, which gave really poor grip on snow and were dangerous on ice (as most summer tyres are). So this year, I decided to get some winter tyres. Reading all the reviews, I went for the Nokia WRG2's as they seemed to get good comments and also had good dry performance with a high speed rating. Here is my opinion on them.

On Dry Roads, (+7oC) they performed better than I thought they would by giving superb driver feedback, accuracy and good grip levels. They did feel a bit soft, but what do you expect as the compound is much softer than a summer tyre! Then, winter came to Britain.....

Along came snow then followed by-7oC so lots of ice (December 2010), in short: these tyres, never let me down. I was driving on roads that were sheet ice, I kid you not, you would have not walked on them! The thing you notice the most about these Nokian tyres, is the confidence they give you and the ability to drive on roads you wouldn’t have gone near with summer tyres on. They just have superb traction in snow and Ice compared to a summer tyre and I was able to drive up hills on untreated roads. In town, I saw many people sliding into parking spaces on flat ground, and there was me parking on a icy incline with no problems at all!

In Summary, as soon as it gets icy or snowy, these tyres give a really grip combined with good driver confidence and I highly recommend them for winter driving. Even if there is no snow and it just starts getting cold, you can feel them still working on the road where as summer tyres lose their performance. Equally, as soon as it gets a bit warm you will appreciate the dry qualities of this tyre, as their performance is not far short of a premium summer tyre with just a slightly softer feel. I will be buying these again and will have no worries what the weather brings, as these tyres seem to cope with all conditions UK weather throws at them. I realize they are a little expensive (mine were £40 extra a tyre compared with a summer tyre) but after fitting these, you will never drive with summer tyres on in winter again.

tyre reviewed on 2010-12-21 09:58:15
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 90% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
Previously had Yokohama’s but these are ten times better. Much better grip and traction. More noticeable in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-09 20:21:02
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 90% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
I just went from having the bridgestone re001 to this fantastic tyre's the Goodyear eagle f1 assy 2, and i can't rate them enough, they are very smooth the grip is fantastic and also in the wet, and the main thing is very very quiet and that's how i like them when it comes to high performance hatchbacks like the R32 mk5 Dsg.
tyre reviewed on 2012-08-11 13:55:56
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 87% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
These tyres replaced the shocking fk452's that were on car when i purchased it.Iknow they had good reviews but that must have been from deaf people!noise under braking was shocking,etc,etc.ANYWAY!the change was a revelation,quiet,grippy in dry and as good as most in the wet.the main thing is the feedback,i now feel back in control and feel i can push her as hard as i like into bends and not mess my pants in the process.Good price too,?84:95 each from CAMSKILL.Wear is not looking bad so far.ALONG WITH EDAM,TULIPS,AND THE BICYCLE,ANOTHER GREAT THING ABOUT THE DUTCH-VREDESTIEN!!
tyre reviewed on 2010-02-10 15:36:15
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 2 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Had these tyres a week and they have transformed my R32, it's fun to drive again, and bordering on comfortable, wish I'd bought them years ago instead of the yokohamas I put on it, wish also that I'd realised that it was the tyres that were spoiling the ride of my car so much and not tracking / suspensions etc.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-19 13:56:24
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre