Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI
Continental AllSeasonContact (19) 87% 94% 88% 90% 81% 86% 94% 89% 103,570
Michelin Alpin 6 (13) 88% 93% 88% 86% 81% 90% 93% 88% 36,100
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (50) 89% 91% 86% 86% 85% 90% 90% 86% 401,130
Semperit Speed Grip 3 (5) 88% 90% 82% 82% 88% 90% 90% 86% 15,200
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (85) 89% 86% 84% 84% 86% 84% 83% 85% 907,475
Continental Premium Contact 6 (62) 93% 88% 86% 89% 78% 81% 79% 85% 379,840
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (73) 88% 89% 84% 77% 91% 87% 86% 84% 682,705
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (40) 88% 84% 81% 82% 79% 84% 88% 84% 283,655
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance (9) 86% 88% 74% 76% 88% 87% 80% 83% 100,000
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (60) 88% 86% 82% 82% 77% 82% 76% 82% 290,357
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (53) 84% 73% 79% 77% 93% 83% 82% 81% 1,423,233
Continental Sport Contact 6 (53) 93% 91% 88% 84% 58% 81% 70% 81% 282,575
Michelin Primacy 4 (69) 85% 84% 77% 79% 84% 84% 71% 80% 869,335
Vredestein Sportrac 2 (6) 73% 87% 82% 77% 90% 67% 80% 79% 135,500
Sava Eskimo S3 Plus (24) 77% 76% 72% 73% 76% 83% 81% 79% 244,000
Michelin Primacy 3 (160) 86% 81% 78% 78% 68% 81% 68% 77% 2,321,783
Landsail LS588 UHP (73) 82% 77% 71% 70% 77% 81% 73% 76% 758,755
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (179) 83% 76% 77% 72% 77% 70% 67% 75% 3,800,546
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (48) 83% 87% 79% 75% 68% 76% 68% 74% 173,226
Continental EcoContact 6 (24) 81% 74% 62% 66% 53% 78% 54% 67% 120,924
Pirelli Cinturato P 7 Ecoimpact (8) 70% 70% 69% 61% 76% 59% 46% 64% 28,350
BCT S800 (84) 51% 30% 38% 37% 61% 32% 24% 39% 381,346

Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Semperit Speed Grip 3 given 100% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-11 17:52:46
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 6 given 96% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-26 08:35:27
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 96% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 25000 average miles
Great tyre! I replaced Dunlop which was originally fitted to a car, and which had poor steering on wet with this Michelins. From now on, I will not consider any other tyre but Michelin.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-29 16:40:05
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate Plus given 92% (205-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 easy going miles
Replaced Michelin Primacy 3 205/55R17 95V XL, with CrossClimate+, car is VW Golf Alltrack DSG (estate)

Large reduction in road noise, and the noise is of a different character, with less of the annoying 'drone' frequencies. Also a very noticeable improvement in small-bump response, such as potholes and sunken drain covers (epidemic of both round here) - the Primacy 3 thumped and jarred noticeably, the CrossClimate is more like I'd expect for this profile tyre, even allowing for its XL load rating.

Running at 34 psi (bit below VW's insanely-high recommended 38 psi 'comfort' and 42 psi 'normal'). No fuel consumption penalty, no noticeable adverse effect on handling or feedback - but then I don't drive at the ragged edge of grip, but more like a normal, sensible human, using some mechanical sympathy.

These tyres have made my car much more enjoyable to drive, and I get the added bonus of all-season tyres for the cold weather. Totally recommended - would buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-10 14:34:33
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-08 11:36:41
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 90% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on track for 7000 average miles
had a set off these fitted 1 year ago and 7000km ago
they are great tyres
had pirelli before en these are much less road noise
after i got impressed by these i bought the snowtracs for winter same size en happy with them to.
i think il stay with vredestein for now
will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2017-09-02 19:56:13
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 2 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-11 09:38:10
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 86% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Bought these for my 2014 Golf TDI only a week ago so it's early days. I noticed immediately they are much quieter than the Bridgestone Turanza's I had previously. They hold the road well in the dry and as far as comfort is concerned they are exactly what I wanted, the ride is well balance and smooth and the tyres soak up minor road defects without fuss, they are altogether a very good tyre for low noise and comfort. I have only really pushed them hard into a bend at high speed once and I didn't think they gave great feedback but they did not feel as if they would give way. I felt safe and in control but think they will improve after a few hundred miles.
My test drive was over the same route I tried the Turanza's on which included good tarmac roads, poor concrete surfaces and poor quality country lanes. The Turanza's gave a comfortable ride but couldn't cope with different road surfaces being very prone to increased noise on poor surfaces. in contrast the Michelins' didn't suffer from increased noise levels very much at all.
Generally I feel these are great all around tyres which suite my Golf very well and will cope with whatever the roads throw at them. I would certainly buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-25 15:53:42
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 spirited miles
Really quiet, no aquaplanning; but not good on snow espacially driving to uphills.
On my old car; i was using 175/65/14 Sava Eskimo + ; those were much more better that Ug8 performance
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-24 09:05:42
Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 83% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-23 20:41:40
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre