Volkswagen Golf MK5 1.6 FSI Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Golf MK5 1.6 FSI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Golf MK5 1.6 FSI
Achilles Winter 101 X (2) 95% 80% 80% 85% 90% 100% 95% 89% 7,500
Bridgestone Turanza T001 Evo (6) 92% 88% 88% 88% 80% 94% 74% 86% 24,000
Achilles Winter 101 (9) 84% 84% 86% 83% 84% 84% 91% 85% 71,750
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81% 88% 81% 292,536
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83% 92% 76% 518,216

Volkswagen Golf MK5 1.6 FSI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 Evo given 100% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Excellent dry and wet grip.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-03 15:18:40
Writing about the Avon Ice Touring ST given 91% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
the best tire I've ever purchased! superb value for money. excellent and reliable grip on wet surfaces. safe in the snow and low temperatures. very quiet and comfortable.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-04 15:34:24
Writing about the Bridgestone A001 given 90% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
After a terrifying experience with mixed budget tyres fitted by the previous owner on my Golf I decided to quickly ditch them and go for a whole new set. I almost went with the Bridgestone T001 but since it was Autumn at the time and nearing Winter I thought it be wise to go for the All Season A001 tyre and I’m glad I did in the end.

On the dry I found there is little difference in grip levels compared to a standard summer tyre and it holds corners very well. In fact it has a sporty feel to it which is surprising for an All Season tyre! It coped very well on Hot Summers too, I drove 120 MPH with these tyres on the German Autobahn in 30c heat and it never felt like it was going to waver - safe and stable.

The wet however is the A001’s trump card, it is absolutely unstoppable in terms of grip and aquaplaning resistance in these conditions. The special compound and mixed tread pattern enables the A001 to cope standing water at high speeds (motorways) very well, a fantastic wet weather tyre.

I found the A001 to have coped fine in the Snow & Ice, on a slippery snowy incline I saw a Mercedes C-Class tail sliding and got stuck midway, a tiny Nissan Micra followed after and tried to power its way up but failed in the end which surprised me. I had to stop on the incline to allow the two cars to clear a way. But once they did, while the A001 did slip slightly at first it had enough traction and bite to power my relatively heavy MK5 Golf up the snowy slope, I have to admit feeling a bit smug in the end! Generally it can cope compacted snow and ice fine but can struggle if there is really deep snow (like 4-5 inches) so you will need full on winters if deep snow is frequent.

Wear is good for an All Season tyre, after over a year and covering 13,000 miles in various conditions the tyres still have loads of tread left, I think they can last me another year at this rate. Overall if you want a single tyre to cope the British weather all year round with confidence then the Bridgestone A001 is a fantastic choice, highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-11 08:59:57
Writing about the Achilles Winter 101 X given 89% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 easy going miles
I purchased these tires for the cheap price. I wanted to go to the mountains in safety, and enjoy some snow. I could appreciate these tires on snowy surfaces, even late at night when the snow threatened to freeze. The traction is extraordinary, and the feedback gives a feeling of security. I was worried about the official reviews, because of the poor performance in the wet, but even in this case Achilles does not disappoint. The wear of the tread is very low, confort is great, and stability on the dry is always guaranteed. I am sincerely satisfied and recommend it to those who do not have access to premium tires.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-14 16:03:43
Writing about the Achilles Winter 101 given 86% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 spirited miles
I purchased these tires for the price only, my previous AVON ice Touring St were now consumed.
The day after the installation I was able to test them on the highway, I was pleasantly surprised by the silence and driving comfort.The poor week I could try them on the icy roads of the hills of Slovenia, very icy believe me, although I did not trust much of these cheap tires, the driving impression was safety and road feedback (the greatest strength).I have not had any dangerous situation. On wet roads, I must admit that nothing can compete with my loved AVON, however, the impression is overall positive even in this situation (esp intervened in rapid trajectory changes).Unfortunately I have not yet had the chance to test it on the snow. I can recommend this tire, because of the current price range.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-29 10:20:58
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre