Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86% 88% 87% 314,931
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (394) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,769,737
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (150) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 89% 80% 85% 1,343,276
Michelin CrossClimate (120) 88% 86% 84% 80% 85% 91% 86% 82% 1,487,350
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91% 85% 74% 510,743
Michelin Pilot Primacy (50) 79% 75% 71% 68% 85% 71% 65% 73% 974,067
Continental Sport Contact 5 (190) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73% 55% 72% 2,074,548
Kumho Ecsta LE Sport (31) 77% 72% 73% 72% 70% 74% 62% 71% 355,408
Goodride SP06 (23) 82% 71% 67% 66% 73% 68% 68% 71% 260,640
Pirelli P 7 (81) 79% 69% 71% 68% 74% 66% 57% 69% 1,792,559
Aoteli P607 (18) 76% 61% 64% 62% 78% 69% 64% 68% 103,100
Nankang NS2 (204) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 60% 65% 1,765,279
Infinity INF 05 (67) 56% 31% 42% 40% 62% 45% 32% 44% 387,897
Joyroad Winter RX808 (2) 35% 30% 40% 35% 45% 60% 25% 43% 800

Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Fulda SportControl given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
235/45R17 ... very quite tyre, compared to previous Dunlop sport. On changing surface smooth to rough hardly notice any noise. Rolls well, didn't see any mpg improvement. Wears well, expecting 20k miles out of my rears.
Surprised to see comment about 1L extra fuel per 100km. Going from thin 195 to 225 and expecting same fuel consumption? On average every 10mm extra width will equal about 0.4L extra fuel per 100km.
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-28 16:47:19
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given 86% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
I live in Yorkshire. Little snow to be had. Two winters back we had a snowfall and it laid in the country. I set off in my Yeti on Continental winter tyres (850s I think}. They managed the snow fine and in pushing the Yeti I did manage to create a skid on a bend. Now over to the Cross Climates on my 2.0 tdi Passat estate. I travelled the same route and I was just as impressed. Whilst the winters on the Yeti (2wd) were excellent, I couldn't really tell the difference between the winter tyres and the Cross Climates. I was careful on the compacted areas but far happier than I would have been on a traditional summer rubber. The Cross Climates have been excellent in all weathers including 33C last summer. I have completed 15,000 miles and this autumn have swapped front to back. Front having 4mm and back 6mm remaining. I expect to get to 30,000 and will replace with new all seasons although I will review others when I get to that point and the 4seasons from Goodyear maybe the next ones on my car. One thing for certain - I'll be buying all seasons tyres for any car I own for the rest of my driving days. It's really silly not to - and furthermore ....for the cost of a bar snack for four you can move up to a premium tread and have the best quality on the road. It might just save a life.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-26 17:27:04
Writing about the Goodride SP06 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 average miles
I was drawn to these tyres by the unlimited mileage accidental damage warranty. For what is branded as a budget tyre, this knocks the socks off premium tyres! Quiet on motorways, great grip when throwing it around country lanes!

I bought these tyres for my wife’s Golf after the success of these on a high speed, high miler reps car.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-10 15:36:03
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 81% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I bought a VW Passat 2:0 tdi with budget tyre fitted and it was dangerous to say the least with terrible understear and braking. I looked at all the reviews for tyres and decided on the goodyears F1's and I have to say it was like driving a different car understear gone good braking performance superb in the wet. I had the same issue with my next car an Audi A 5. 3.0 tdi same result in great improvement in grip. Covered around 12000 miles up to now and probably good for 2 or 3 k more
Recommend
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-18 08:16:12
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta LE Sport given 77% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
Have had Kumhos on cars previously and loved them for the handling and long lasting wear, but have not been impressed with them on the Passat.
The wheels spin very easily in the dry and feedback hasn't been great nor has the wear, only 12000 miles of normal driving on all road types.
All that said, they have never let me down and certainly not the worst tyres I've had.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-16 12:42:14
Writing about the Aoteli P607 given 74% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
On my second set of these. Unlike some reviewers I have found these to be a decent budget tyre. No, they are not a Michelin, Goodyear or Pirelli but at 35 each for a 234/45/17 you shouldn't expect it. Grip in the dry is near excellent. Grip in the wet is good and will give feedback if you're pushing it a bit too much. They don't just let go. The only downsides I have found is that the wear isn't great but is comparable to a set of soft expensive branded tyres. Also they are tight on the rims and fight a bit getting them on and off. Overall if you drive WITHIN the law and keep your racing on the track where it belongs they are a good tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-08 12:27:56
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 74% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 16000 average miles
Factory fitted tyres... Lasted 16k on the front axle and 48k on the rear. the tyres were good but I expected longer lifespan from the fronts
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-10 15:25:41
Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 71% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Good tyres and value for money. Only down side is the rear tyres feathered a bit and made a little more road noise.
Otherwise all good.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-25 14:42:58
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 66% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 18000 average miles
Very poor wear, i had to change those tires after 2 seasons, however usually tires using for 4 seasons.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-08 13:49:41
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 64% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 easy going miles
These tyres just dissapeared; have no ability to take wear despite efforts to make them last till next summer they balded by Christmas and looked overinflated despite being run at lower than manufacturers recommended pressure for more than half their life to try and help them last. A pathetic tyre unless you like money fires.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-04 12:11:37
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre