Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons SUV (7) 84% 86% 87% 86% 95% 86% 94% 88% 22,523
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (178) 93% 91% 85% 87% 77% 82% 82% 85% 1,693,329
Bridgestone Blizzak LM35 (3) 87% 87% 80% 80% 83% 80% 90% 84% 20,007
Joyroad HP RX3 (1) 90% 70% 80% 80% 80% 90% 90% 83% 3,000
Uniroyal RainExpert (129) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86% 85% 83% 1,253,762
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (53) 84% 73% 79% 77% 93% 83% 82% 81% 1,423,233
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (209) 88% 86% 78% 79% 74% 86% 75% 81% 2,711,080
Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 (25) 78% 85% 75% 71% 88% 88% 86% 81% 251,250
Michelin Energy Saver (120) 84% 73% 76% 72% 86% 80% 71% 77% 2,703,008
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83% 92% 76% 518,216
Continental Sport Contact 2 (226) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66% 60% 71% 4,138,562
Firestone F700 (8) 84% 61% 74% 73% 71% 69% 60% 70% 138,510
Kumho Solus KH17 (54) 75% 70% 70% 69% 68% 71% 67% 70% 954,007
Landsail DH2 (11) 73% 65% 68% 60% 67% 66% 78% 68% 113,100
Continental EcoContact 6 (20) 82% 76% 61% 65% 45% 77% 52% 66% 110,124
Nankang NS2 (203) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 60% 65% 1,760,279
Sava PERFECTA (15) 69% 47% 59% 59% 51% 61% 36% 55% 144,300
Event MJ683 (4) 50% 35% 45% 45% 23% 45% 10% 36% 35,765

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Solus KH17 given 100% (185-60-15-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 easy going miles
not sure how to make the rating for these : (Dry Grip, Wet Grip, Raod feedback, Progressiveness, Wear, Comfort, Buy again), because i have not got others to copare it with - this is my first one.

basically, i have just done the full service and from the vehicle health check, i have still 6mm. however, i have already drove 30,000 miles (yes, 30k. i work everywhere in England regios, travelling 600-800 miles per week, sometimes more)

so, 6mm left after 30000 miles, this should be good?
i dont know.

my car: Valkswagen polo 1.4
i don't normally speed, and went above 80mpg once (from manchester to leeds)

sometimes i do fel a bit of noise when driving on motorway, but again i can't give review as i haven't got otehr to compare.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-06 11:15:00
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 100% (165-70-14-N)
Driving on mostly motorways for 33 easy going miles
Even the fronts lasted 33,000 miles (& still 2mm+ left). With fuel saving low rolling resistance might even have paid for themselves in that time.
tyre reviewed on 2014-08-26 12:13:59
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver Plus given 93% (185-60-14-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-21 12:27:44
Writing about the Firestone F700 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 38500 easy going miles
Original tyres on the rear of the car have just been replaced at 38500 miles.
There is still 3mm of tread on one tyre but the other is 2 - 2 -2 so decided to replace.
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-11 11:09:01
Writing about the Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Gen 2 given 86% (195-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
Great tyre for the little Polo, which has now gone. They kept me moving when others struggled. Will now buy again for the winter months to fit my Golf R Variant.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-24 16:08:38
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 84% (175-65-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
Nice , very nice and comford for my polo 9n.
Very stable when i drive for 120-150 kmh at motorways , warm early at town but note is very soft for long distance every day use .
Fine for daily use at town and a cool trip every weekend , thats all .
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-19 13:24:14
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
on dry roads are perfect , on wet roads are ok but on off road destination choose another tyries because they are too soft
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-17 12:29:44
Writing about the Bridgestone A001 given 83% (195-55-15-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 19000 spirited miles
These were my first set of replacement tires on my 58 VW Polo 1.4 FWD, and at the time of purchase Dec 2011 with 20875m on the clock, all I asked for was for a set of tires that would last me through the winter and also the summer. I must confess I couldn't care less about which tires they put on my car only that they were from a reputable brand. Fast forward two years and 19k+ miles later, and I'm still on the same tyres. The fronts have about 2-3mm tread left in the centre, and the rears don't look as if they have aged much at all with plenty of tread to last me another couple of years. Being a total tyre newbie, I'm quite impressed by that, especially when I'm quite hard on my car. My usual routes take me on highways around the south/south-east/mid Scotland on a daily basis, and often in adverse weather too. What I definitely have noticed was how easy it has been to drive the car even in very heavy rain and also in bone dry conditions. I can't remember ever running into problems like aquaplaning, even during the wettest of days, and stability on the motorway during the few days a year of heavy snow we get in Scotland has been exemplary. The only bad points I can think of are 1) fuel economy (probably a combination of my driving style, inefficient dated petrol engine, and the tyre), and 2) road noise.
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-08 17:10:24
Writing about the Joyroad HP RX3 given 83% (185-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
Fitted for 37.50 Euro each, with balancing and new valve included, it's a real bargain.
Used under a 2004 Polo 75 hp, with normal driving (city and highway) these tires work just fine under any situations. On dry tarmac they roll very well, with no noise on highway; on wet, despite of the very bad not-draining tarmac here where I live, the grip is good. Braking is good in both conditions and aqua-planning is not an issue.
The only downside is that the sidewall is a bit soft, hence I always prefer to use tire pressure close to max-load, so that the handling is better, even though the comfort decreases.
Overall I recommend them and probably I will buy them for my BMW also, if there is the required size.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-03 17:59:37
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Been driving on these for about 20000+ miles on these on kinda messed up Croatian roads and so far they've been handling well. A bit noisy,but nothing unbearable. The only thing that concearns me is the overall tire life-got about 5+ inch grooves but considering my driving style (got the engine modded to about 180 bhp) and the overall road quality,they might wear out quite quickly.
Wet handling is quite good for a semi-performance tire and has plenty of grip. And aquaplaning capabilities are amazingly good. The only thing that is a concearn is extended breaking even at lower speed.
Dry handling is above expectations. These tires allow moderate to aggressive cornering although I personally don't support noor recommend aggressive driving. Also,the breaking path lenght is somewhat reduced even at higher speed.
Definetly recommend these tires and will buy them once these wear out completely.
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-25 10:34:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre