Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v
Uniroyal RainExpert 3 (28) 84% 93% 76% 74% 65% 84% 83% 80% 170,303
Michelin Energy Saver (125) 83% 72% 76% 71% 85% 79% 69% 77% 2,815,008
Michelin Energy E3A (10) 84% 60% 74% 74% 86% 77% 65% 74% 284,060
Toyo T1R (281) 83% 70% 75% 75% 63% 70% 71% 72% 3,640,683
Kumho Solus KH17 (55) 76% 71% 70% 69% 68% 70% 67% 70% 974,007
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (147) 80% 69% 70% 67% 65% 64% 54% 67% 2,197,560
Nankang NS2 (203) 76% 58% 66% 62% 74% 63% 60% 65% 1,760,279
Petlas Elegant PT311 (4) 70% 33% 63% 65% 83% 63% 35% 59% 42,000
Infinity INF 030 (7) 59% 36% 47% 50% 57% 44% 33% 47% 49,252

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang NS2 given 100% (165-50-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 1470 spirited miles
Brilliant I'm running stretch and there sick tyres for your vw
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-20 22:05:31
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 97% (185-55-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 30000 spirited miles
Good performance last 3 years with my Polo.Highly recommended.
tyre reviewed on 2011-11-29 18:19:22
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 91% (195-45-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very good tyres for the price. Extremely good grip when drip and just as good in the wet. They arnt the quietest tyre but no bad at all. Would buy again no doubt.
tyre reviewed on 2010-09-24 21:39:36
Writing about the Michelin Energy E3A given 89% (185-60-14-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 average miles
Great tyre's. When I bought the car in 1997 these tyre were on them. They lasted 50k miles. Never had any problems with them, performance is great, lower fuel consumption, low noise and very comfy on road. Only minus is that they make squealing noise in corners during summer but I've used to it.
First michelin lasted 9 years and now I bought same tyres again.
I'm using the in winter also, since they are all season tyre but you need to be very careful driver cause grip is not so good on snow.
tyre reviewed on 2011-07-05 09:15:51
Writing about the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 given 83% (175-65-13-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
65% 13" tyres are getting rarer in a quality brand, so unable to buy this size in Michelin, I tried these on my Polo 1.4 CL. Now I don't do many miles, but do make occasional 90 mile cross-Pennine or motorway journeys at speed. Wet weather grip and braking on these tyres is superb and very confidence-inspiring. For day-to-day running, I set the car with 30psi front/28psi rear (add 2psi all-around for motorway/load) that dials-out excessive understeer, while giving a neutral but safe handling balance. I've no complaints about dry grip that seem on a par with the old Michelin Energy, (unlike the cheap tyres fitted by the previous owner, where you didn't so much as steer the car, but made a suggestion on your desired direction. My favourite roundabout was not so much fun when it looked like I would be going over, rather than around it) they make it able to dart around sudden hazards in the road without drama, and cope with high speed cornering. Being a VW the steering doesn't communicate much anyway, but I know what's happening. The tyres give a handling balance that makes a cross-Pennine journey, with a “spirited” drive through the many swoops and dives an entertaining experience, nevertheless. Most likely not the highest-mileage tyre, but if fitted to the household’s second car, or your daughter/son’s first car the grip levels will keep them safe without too much of an outlay.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-05 02:13:46
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH17 given 70% (175-60-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I was looking for some replacement tyres, with a smaller sidewall for improved responsiveness and found these within my budget.

At first I was quite unimpressed with the lack of grip, although that could have been toe out related, they felt very hard and solid, after putting a few miles through them, and having the alignment sorted they really came into there own, especially compared to other tyres.

Wet grip was pretty average, and when loaded up you could accurately predict the limit, Dry grip was very good, almost surprising infact, you could really load up the tyre, feel the flex in the steering wheel and just hear it roar slightly in the corners, approaching a chirp as it got to the limit or if you carried too much speed. SO it goes hand in hand that the feedback and progressiveness of these tyres was great, there wasnt a sharp cut off it warned you before hand.

There are a couple of drawbacks, all the luxury of grip and feedback does come at the quick wear rate, I went through a set on the front a lot quicker than I would have liked, at the price they were though, not big money to replace. Road noise wasnt that bad, relatively speaking, but my cabin isnt the best for sound proofing, comfort wise, the sidewalls do flex quite well under load, but you can tell theres stiffness there when tootling over speedbumps etc.

I would reccomend these to anyone looking for a good tyre on a budget.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-04 20:47:47
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 61% (215-45-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 40000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-07 23:41:50
Writing about the Petlas Elegant PT311 given 59% (175-65-13-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-02 13:21:58
Writing about the Infinity INF 030 given 21% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
Dangerous tire. No grip in wet conditions with new tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2010-11-24 13:20:53
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre