Volkswagen Polo 6R 1.6 Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Polo 6R 1.6? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Polo 6R 1.6
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (162) 93% 91% 86% 88% 77% 82% 81% 85% 1,571,623
Viking Wintech (7) 87% 82% 80% 79% 86% 79% 87% 82% 25,500
Pirelli Cinturato P1 Verde (34) 87% 79% 81% 74% 87% 82% 80% 81% 465,450
Sava Eskimo S3 (31) 73% 65% 69% 72% 76% 73% 76% 77% 480,000
Momo Outrun M3 (17) 84% 73% 73% 76% 70% 82% 72% 76% 72,727
Michelin Energy XM2 (38) 79% 73% 73% 71% 85% 71% 67% 74% 715,350
Continental Premium Contact 2 (184) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,228,189
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (40) 82% 85% 77% 73% 70% 74% 66% 72% 130,300
Continental PremiumContact (13) 82% 65% 69% 66% 74% 72% 60% 70% 349,025
Viking CityTech II (4) 65% 55% 57% 43% 80% 80% 50% 61% 79,000
Autogrip P308 (21) 70% 59% 60% 52% 61% 66% 53% 60% 89,018

Volkswagen Polo 6R 1.6 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Autogrip P308 given 100% (185-60-15-)
Driving on for 0 miles
EXCELLENT TYRE BOTH ON WET AND DRY WEATHER, I HAVE MY SECOND SET OF TIRES FITTED ON AND ON THE FIRST SET I HAVE GOT 73251KM , I AM ALREADY OVER 40 000KM ON THE SECOND SET AND IT STILL HAS ENOUGH THREAD, THERE IS NO VIBRATION AS I CONSTANTLY ROTATE MY TIRES EVERY 10 000KM
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-07 10:34:10
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 94% (215-45-16-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 spirited miles
Had these on my mk5 vw polo. By far one of the best tyres in the premium class.
Grip in the dry is very good and confidence inspiring. Still excellent in the wet. Will aquaplane a little in extremely wet conditions. Does well to maintain traction when taking off from standstill. Wear is also reasonably good. I like how quiet they are as well.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-30 19:33:18
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 90% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Superb grip on dry or wet. Previosly using Bridgestone RE003 195/55/15. Change the 17 inch rim and decide to use PS4 (205/45/17). Previous tyre were lousy on wet condition.

Only the noise level is higher than RE003 but i can cope with it as it is low profile tyre

As the tyre are low profile, dont expect the comfort level to be compared with high profile tyre. But still i can cope with that

As per now, still can't confirm on wear rate as just using it for 5000 miles. Will review it after it reach 50% of threadwear.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-06 07:20:20
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 89% (205-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 19000 spirited miles
I've been using my PS4 since 2017 April. Up till now (30k km), it still work quite impressive. Dry condition, superb... wet condition, excellent until you reach 50% of usage...then it start to skid a little bit when its raining and when you hit puddle ( note that this happen when i drove my car above 60mph)

Dry condition, yes totally superb. I'm a spirited driver and once have a trackday in Sepang using this tyre. The feedback was superb and I love it. Sharp turn is predictable and easy to handle around Sepang. Sidewall is stiff and makes the tyre last longer.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-24 13:40:25
Writing about the Viking Wintech given 87% (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-07 21:15:18
Writing about the Viking Wintech given 83% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-16 21:41:28
Writing about the Viking CityTech II given 83% (185-60-15-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-14 19:40:07
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P1 Verde given 81% (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Excellent all round tyre on my daily driver. takes a lot of abuse before hearing screeching. steering response and road feedback is slightly low, however i attribute that to the high sidewall of my standard wheel/tyre combo.

Verdict: excellent tyre, would definitely buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-22 13:23:03
Writing about the Continental PremiumContact given 80% (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 34000 average miles
Great tyres especially for a daily.
tyre reviewed on 2014-04-26 11:13:35
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 78% (185-60-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
This is my first set of All Season tyres. Before I was using summer tyres (Dunlop) and Nokian winter tyres (can't remember on top of my head models). I am driving with WeatherControl tyres for almost 1 year now.
What I found is that Bridgestone A005 are incredibly comfortable compared to the Nokian as well as to Dunlop. Nokian were very noisy and handling was not always pleasant because too soft on side. Dunlop were simply terrible tyres even if handling in summer was a little bit better than the A005.
During summer A005 perform well on dry surfaces but the best you can get out of them is on wet. I was really impressed by the stability of the car and even by the sense of safety that you can get from the steering. During winter and wet condition I had same feeling.
On Snow unfortunately is not really the best tyres you can have. Of course compared to my previous Nokian we are far behind but I was expecting to have a bit more. I had issues a couple of times on soft snow and ice where was quite complicated to arrive up to the hills (I am quite experienced driver with almost 25 years of driving, living on mountains for almost 20 years).
If I will be asked to buy A005 again I will definitely go for them again but only on small-mid size car. For bigger cars I would look at Michelin CrossClimate/CrossClimate+ or the newest Verdestein Quatrac Pro.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-20 21:14:57
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre