Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (57) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87% 94% 86% 324,343
Falken ZE914 (95) 89% 82% 85% 81% 82% 82% 85% 84% 959,155
Matador MP 59 Nordicca MS (11) 87% 75% 82% 71% 90% 85% 88% 83% 56,300
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85% 88% 82% 1,254,817
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (60) 85% 91% 80% 80% 76% 79% 85% 82% 658,266
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80% 82% 81% 2,156,251
Linglong Green Max (33) 79% 73% 69% 72% 70% 77% 78% 74% 263,652
Continental Premium Contact 2 (187) 84% 77% 75% 72% 62% 73% 62% 72% 4,279,189
Avon ZT5 (29) 81% 67% 73% 65% 73% 74% 60% 70% 342,422
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (119) 78% 67% 70% 68% 69% 65% 58% 68% 2,355,806
Dunlop SP Sport 2020 (4) 65% 60% 55% 63% 63% 45% 48% 57% 168,000
Wanli S1088 (82) 57% 35% 40% 38% 58% 37% 30% 42% 643,289

Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian WRG2 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15 spirited miles
I know I'm more than 5 years late with this review, but I just found thes tyres in my garage, I had used them in the winter of 2010, where it didn't seem to stop snowing for months. These tyres were absolutely incredible in snow, slush, and rainy conditions. In fact the more it snowed, the better they seemed to get. I went up a steep hill with three people in the back, in the snow! Nokian know what they are doing. Bloody brilliant.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-11 21:46:59
Writing about the Linglong Green Max given 83% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Very good budget tyres for both dry and wet road.
tyre reviewed on 2013-02-14 19:03:28
Writing about the Matador MP 59 Nordicca MS given 83% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 average miles
Brilliant. £240 set me up for winter driving in a VW Sharan. (Good ground clearance helped in the deep snow (15cm)). I can totally recomment these. During the recent snow in December 2010 I kept moving when the only other vehicles were 4X4. I even managed when it the snow became sheet ice and no other ordinary car could go... Seriously, there were at least 12 occasions when other cars failed to get up a hill and I just passed them... even a FreeLander and a Volvo Cross Country. Bring on the snow!
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-12 11:52:50
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 2020 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 96000 average miles
Had these fitted to my VW Sharan diesel, which I did 96,000 miles in 6 years. It was a heavy car but I could regularly get 18-20,000 miles out of the front and 45,000 out of the rear. They are a great all round tyre and suited my 7 seat MPV, they are reinforced too so no worries when it comes to full loads on holidays etc. Also tried Continental but they were worn out in 12,000 miles on the front and Avon which were amazing but only lasted 7000 miles. If you want value, longevity, excellent performance in wet conditions and a reinforced tyre, this one is a good choice!
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-01 15:23:28
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given 77% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 800 average miles
Bought 4 Falken ZE914 215/55 R16 97W tyres for a VW Sharan 1.9 TDI. Existing tyres were Dunlop SP Sport 2020E and had around 2-3mm tread on the back tyres and 2mm left on the front tyres. I've driven on Firestones and Dunlop SP Sport 9000 on previous cars. Dunlop advised changing to SP Sport 01 as they had stiffer shoulders so better road holding, because the VW Sharan has higher center of gravity. However I took a risk and went for an untried brand Falken Ziex 914 due to £20 price difference per tyre. I definitely made the CORRECT choice. Tyre pressures were kept the same as on the old tyres according to VW recommendations on the fuel cap. I ran in the tyres for 250 miles on local trips and on a motorway journey at 55 mph as advised. I''ve driven over 800 miles on motorway and local roads now and in comparison to the Dunlop SP Sport 2020e I got the following results in order of benefit. 1. Lighter steering, makes driving and parking much much easier, the tyres are somehow very light, even after running in. 2. Fuel MPG improved considerably by 4 + mpg as shown on the vw dash meter average. The MPG has gone up by at least 6 mpg on the motorway speeds of 55 to 75 mph 3. Comfort has improved, car is smoother over minor bumps, and slightly better over bigger bumps than the Dunlops. I've kept tyre pressures the same as the Dunlops. 4. Dry grip has improved slightly. I've noticed that the car no longer understeers or oversteers at 30mph - 40 mph on dual carriageway and motorway slip road bends. 5. Wet grip has considerably improved and I can feel control of the car at speed in the rain and can change lanes on a motorway feeling in control when I need to quickly move the car left or right when lane changing. 6. Noise is not noticeable locally but has slightly improved on the motorway. 7. Tyre Wear - Still too early even after 800 miles, will try to leave another review after 10K miles
Overall Verdict. After lots of research and nearly buying the SP Sport 01 or the SP Sport Blueresponse after reading reviews, I'm happy I made the right choice and saved money by choosing the Falken Ziex ZE914. I feel performance and comfort has increased. Previously only bought the bigger brands but now MUST consider mid price brands like Falken.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-19 19:06:44
Writing about the Avon ZT5 given 75% (190-65-15-H)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
Replaced Front tyres on my VW Sharan 1996 with 195/65 R15 XL 95H load tyres. I was looking for a set with the 95 Load rating vs the 91 rating. Overall the tyres seem good, only replaced the fronts to start around 3 month ago, wear seems ok, done around 3000 miles. The ride is a bit nicer than when on the 91 tyres but saying that the noise is slightly more, not sure if that normal or not. Mainly I was attracted to these by the price and Avon being a know brand. I am considering replacing the rears now and will probably opt for the same one.
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-29 12:04:40
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 8 given 72% (195-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-27 08:00:45
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 2 given 70% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 31068 average miles
I bought this tyres 4 years ago. They are 215/55ZR16 93W. Grip of this tyres is excellent. This tyres are looking very narrowly. I won't buy them again because there is RainSport 3 tyre a newer model.
Everyone who drive VW Sharan 2001-09 on 16 wheel buy XL tyres. I have made a mistake buying standard tyres instead XL. I will replace them with RainSport 3 XL
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-14 12:50:42
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 01 given 66% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Accidentally bought these for my VW Sharan 1.9TDi instead of Dunlop SP2020s, grip AMAZIN but the ride was awful! The reinforced side walls transmitted every last bump into the cabin and made the steering very heavy, I took them off after only 2000 miles because it was that bad!
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-04 18:34:32
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 2 given 61% (215-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 easy going miles
Bought Continentals as thuoght at £160 a time would be a good tyre and they have performed well mostly but, having them on the front of my Sharan with front wheel drive and steering has seen them last for a little over 10K miles. I am in no way a heavy footed driver and manage pretty good fuel returns of around 45-48 MPG. I was hopping to find some good recommendations on this site......
tyre reviewed on 2011-04-12 10:57:26
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre