Volkswagen Transporter T4 Tyres

Drive a Volkswagen Transporter T4? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Volkswagen Transporter T4
Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 (4) 83% 95% 77% 55% 100% 100% 93% 88% 26,000
Semperit Van Life 2 (1) 90% 100% 80% 80% 100% 60% 50% 80% 55,000
Nankang SV2 (29) 84% 78% 75% 75% 84% 74% 78% 79% 203,040
Viking TransTech II (1) 90% 50% 80% 80% 80% 80% 30% 70% 3,000
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (45) 66% 53% 52% 54% 62% 41% 44% 53% 487,884
Durun A One (13) 63% 31% 51% 36% 51% 44% 29% 44% 118,015

Volkswagen Transporter T4 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang SV2 given 81% (205-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
They don't do well in 'proper' tyre reviews, but I have nothing but praise for these black circles of amazement. More comfort than my summer tyres and they have always found some grip in the worst of winter. Had them for 5 winters, note that my car is actually a van, I fitted 99XL rated SV2's. Favorite day was when at a party in a country pub and the snow came down, all taxis phoned to cancel due to the weather but my van took all 13 guests home on freshly laid snow with no problem, maybe a lucky number after all?

For the price they are easy to reccomend.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-19 22:24:30
Writing about the Semperit Van Life 2 given 80% (205-65-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 55000 easy going miles
Good summer tire for vans. Very good in heavy rain. Already 7 years old and still over 5 mm depth left. Living in Norway were the roads, through use of studded tires in winter, are very rough and have deep grooves where the water collects itself when it is raining, have i never once had problems with aquaplanning or loosing control in heavy rain. The reason may be combination of the narrow tire and the heavy car. (205/65 R15 on a Vw Transporter).
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-14 15:43:24
Writing about the Nokian Hakkapeliitta R2 given 75% (205-65-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 easy going miles
Living in one of the colder parts of Norway there were only 2 studless wintertyres that were recommended. The Nokian Hakkapilitta R2 and the Continental VikingContact. I bought the Nokian for my 1997 Vw Transporter and i would buy them again. The soft compount makes it really comfortabel and much more silence than the summer tire. Grip on snow and ice is as good as it can get with studless winter tires. But i think that the Continental is a little better on the ice while the Nokian is better in deep snow.
With a tire like this you dont need 4WD in Norway :D
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-14 15:31:43
Writing about the Viking TransTech II given 70% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 easy going miles
I bought the Viking Transtech (not Transtech II) tyres for my Transporter as they were cheap and they are generally pretty good for the money. Not noisy on the road, good grip, feedback & durability however, grip in the wet is less than I was expecting and they're absolutely useless for snow and mud. I use my van at weekends to transport my motorbikes around so we're generally in a field of at the bottom of a track somewhere in the countryside. Even relatively minor off road / mixed gravel and mud situations see you grind to a halt when other VW Transporters are ploughing on regardless. If you do any minor off road work I'd recommend you look at another tyre choice. That said, if I was just doing road work they would be great.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-07 11:29:49
Writing about the Runway ENDURO 916 Plus given 64% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 average miles
Fair price , Looks a good tyre , Disappointing they only lasted 18months and 14,000miles
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-18 22:49:53
Writing about the Durun A One given 33% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
Never buy again. DANGER. After 8000 miles start to be very noisy. Was thinking my wheel bearings gone. Start to split side walls. After 15000 no thread. Split on inside wall 12 inches long. Could see steel wires thru!
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-26 00:14:58
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre