Triangle TR918

Dry Grip 65%
Wet Grip 30%
Road Feedback 58%
Handling 46%
Wear 76%
Comfort 63%
Buy again 34%

Triangle TR918 Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 54% while driving a Honda Accord Euro (205/50 R16) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I had these tyres on my car a while back and to be fair they did what was required. From reading other reviews and listening to other people I think it really depends on what car you drive and perhaps more importantly what sort of driving you do. They seem to work best on smaller cars and if you drive mainly in town then they'll do the job just fine. But for those of us who do more driving on country roads and motorways or have heavier cars I would honestly spend a bit extra and get a better brand.

I went through two sets of Triangles, since whenever I went to a tyre shop they were all they had in stock for my size wheels. But after the last set I was so disappointed with their performance in the wet, that I didn't even wait until they wore away before I shopped online for a better brand. The Maxxis I bought instead aren't even a premium tyre but the difference in grip is unbelievable. I don't want to completely mock Triangle since they weren't at all bad in the dry and the feedback from them was fairly decent. However I'm afraid they were completely useless in the rain, I remember in heavy downpour my car would try and oversteer far too easily on roundabouts and I would often be one of the slowest moving cars in such weather. In snow and ice I avoided taking out the car as much as possible as it was really that bad. I often thought my car was just naturally bad in such weather and even started to question my own driving, until I switched tyre manufacturer and now my confidence is far higher. They last reasonably well, but one thing I noticed was how easily the tyre walls started to crack, especially during summer in the higher temperatures.
Overall I would suggest that if you do low miles and live in a city, then go for them. They will do their job and are very cheap and easy to find. But if you're in anyway enthusiastic about driving or do a lot of miles then I strongly suggest you spend the extra money on a better brand. As many mechanics and experts will tell you; tyres are the most important part of your car. If you can afford to splash out on a better tyre, don't think twice.
4 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2017   
Given 79% while driving a Ford Galaxy (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 100,000 average miles
I'm a taxi driver based in the wilds of Somerset. I driver on all road surface including slippery muddy country lanes. I've never had a problem with the tyres. If you drive sensibly, like the majority of drivers do, these tyres are absolutely fine. Many of my colleagues also fit them and none have had any criticism as far as I am aware. Respect your car and the tyres and they will be perfectly safe and are excellent value for money.
24 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2014   
Given 64% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 3,500 spirited miles
I discovered why these are called Triangle: You have to entrust yourself to the holy trinity while driving on the wet. On dry surfaces they're not bad at all, but add some water and they become a skidfest.

Another thing I should note, the sidewalls look kinda flimsy.

Anyway, they're not bad for a budget tyre, they cost the equivalent of USD $89 in Chile so that's that. Just be careful when driving on wet surfaces.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2014   
Given 47% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra cdti (150) (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
Bought these as I was on a tight budget at the time, and MOT was nearing. If youre planning on driving around the city or at low speeds then this is the tyre for you. Anything else then forget about any kind of grip on the road.
20000 miles ago I put them on the front of my diesel vctra, and have just put them on to the back. There is still about 3-4mm of tread left in them.
Hard compound which wears very well, however if it gets wet the grip is diabolical, almost dangerous. Avoid if you can afford to
1 - tyre reviewed on February 5, 2013   
Given 29% while driving a SEAT Toledo (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
These were fitted to the rear of my 05 Toledo when I bought it. In the dry they are fine, in cold / damp conditions they are a nightmare. I have had two massive tail slides, the last one being at 25mph on a roundabout, which I only just managed to hold on to. The tyres have very little wear, but I will be changing them at the earliest opportunity.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2013   
Given 43% while driving a Saab Automobile 93 Sportwagen 150 TiD (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Basically rubbish, I paid £104 fitted pair so should have realised. Had uniroyal rain expert before. My review is probably bias as it has rained virtually non stop since fitting them a 3 thousand miles ago. I was that dissapointed i was going to change them but havnt yet had the time.
I should have paid the extra £40 for a quality brand..........
1 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2012   
Given 39% while driving a Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
Decent grip when dry, and seems to wear very well. After 20,000km it still looks 80% new.

Complete crap if wet/damp. Causes massive understeer when going around corners and struggles to find any grip what so ever during take off.

Would recommend to stay away from these tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2012   
Given 36% while driving a BMW 528i Touring Sport (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Utter rubbish.
Needed 4 tyres a year ago and all I could get at the time was these, being BMW and an odd size I couldn't justify binning tyres with good tread on for new ones.

Dry the traction control comes on
Wet the traction control comes on

In the dry there is no progressiveness about them they are always on the limit, they are just dire constantly awful, the sidewalls are flimsy and make the already barge like handling even worse.

The wet is a different matter all together, pull out of a junction to quick traction control is on, go around a roundabout to quick and the back end wants to kick out whilst the front is understeering towards a kerb, clearing water is crap, honestly they may as well call them Triangle Jesus or Triangle Aquaplaner 5000, because that is all they do, they walk on water and throw the car everywhere, when you're driving at 50mph, the rain is coming down so hard you can barely see 10 feet in front of you and all your car wants to do is become the messiah and plane its way home on a thin layer of water they are down right dangerous.

Honestly these tyres should be banned, and I mean banned they are so bad I think plastic wheels would be better.

That said, there is only one good point of these tyres, the rears on the BMW considering the amount of times I have had the back end out unintentionally have lasted 20k miles, but the down side of that is the tyres hit a point of wear and that is it, sideways city, if you have to stop and turn left or right going up a hill, all there is a bend on a crest expect it to start going wrong quickly.

I can't wait to get rid of these, annoyingly only the rears have worn out, meaning I still have 2 fronts which still have 4-5mm of tread left, only a complete idiot would ask for these to be fitted to the car again, they are not good for the money, no way in hell are they good for the money.

I even took the car around the 'Ring as it was close by when I was in Germany, 60mph around some bends and they were in agony, screeching like banshees.

Pay the tiny bit extra and get some Kumhos fitted at least, but for the love of all things holy do not get these tyres, unless you want to end up in a ditch on fire.

0 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2012   
Given 56% while driving a Ford Galaxy (215/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
Slides all over in the wet.DO NOT BUY. Get Event as an alternative budget tyre
0 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2011   
Given 86% while driving a Toyota Mark X (215/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 3,000 easy going miles
Really good for the prices that i paid for this TR918 tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2011