Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 94%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 92%
Wear 89%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 90%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Show All

Tyre review data from 76 tyre reviews averaging 90% over 254,761 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 ViBilagare SUV Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good dry handling, excellent aquaplaning resistance, good wet performance.
  • Negative - Steering not as sharp as the Bridgestone, high price.

2020 UHP, UUHP and Track Day Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good natured and easy to control in the wet, with high aquaplaning safety. Good handling in the dry, very low rolling resistance, good comfort levels and very quiet.
  • Negative - Slightly slower to steer.
  • Overall - Top performer with top liability and low rolling resistance.

2020 Gute Fahrt SUV Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in the wet, ahead of all the competition, very good dry performance, good comfort levels.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Very good - when water appeared on the track, the goodyear dominated.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W XL   E A 72 7.88kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   E A 72 8.50kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/40 R17 91Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 71 8.36kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 8.76kgs
215/45 R17 87Y XL   E A 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 70 9.50kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   A B 70 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y XL   E A 70 9.50kgs
235/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 9.48kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.48kgs
245/45 R17 95Y XL   E A 70 9.68kgs
205/50 R17 93Y XL   E A 70 8.80kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL         10.47kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 70 10.47kgs
225/50 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.57kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.95kgs
225/55 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 11.74kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   C A 71 12.26kgs
245/55 R17 106H XL MO-V A B 71 17.00kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.43kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 72 10.23kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.49kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL   C A 73 11.09kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 71 9.44kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 9.00kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 9.67kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 70 9.77kgs
245/40 R18 93Y XL   E A 70 11.96kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   B A 70 9.36kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL FIAT JEEP B B 71 9.49kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 70 12.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL         10.69kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.02kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.25kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 11.77kgs
255/45 R18 99Y XL   E A 72 11.25kgs
215/50 R18 92W XL         10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101H XL   B A 69 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL         11.75kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 72 11.13kgs
225/60 R18 104Y XL   C A 71 11.80kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 9.90kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   C A 73 11.49kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 9.20kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 9.58kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 9.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.30kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 11.51kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   B A 69 9.58kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL         11.79kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 72 10.33kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 72 12.23kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 72 11.31kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   B C 70 12.25kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 9.81kgs
235/45 R19 99H XL   B B 70 10.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 72 13.94kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 72 10.51kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 12.10kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 73 11.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 72 12.91kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL   C A 71 10.58kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.15kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 8.00kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   C A 73 11.56kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   C A 72 10.83kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL   C A 72 16.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 15.00kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 72 15.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tyres. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tyre size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear wonít be producing the tyre in size 265/30R19 as they havenít produced an Eagle Asymmetric tyre in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tyres are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tyre? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tyres are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tyre. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tyre for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tyres? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


2020-03-05 - I have a VW caddy maxi with 19inch wheels with Goodyear Eagle 1 asymmetric 5 (225 /35 ) what should the tyre pressure be ??

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2020-03-26 - Does anyone know if the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 also in runflat (ROF) version available is? Size 225/55 R17.

I believe as of writing (April 2020) only the Asymmetric 3 is available in runflat in 225/55 R17.


2020-04-02 - I am looking for the GY F1 Asym5 for my 2008 Lexus gs450h. Lexus recommends 245 40 r18 93 y. But is it better to go with the 97 xl as the car has 345 horsepower? Or is the difference too small?

Fitting the higher load rated Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 5 is perfectly legal, and while the differences might be small between the 93 and 97 load rating tyres, there's no disadvantages if you're looking for improved handling.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £78.31 - £112.64 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £77.00 - £96.08 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £71.00 - £90.88 (25 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £90.90 - £117.73 (23 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £136.50 - £160.32 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 58 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Review

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
441 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2019   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 >>

Given 100% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
Amazing tyres!
0 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2020   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen MK 7 R Line (235/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Iíve decided to switch from Pirelli P Zero to Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 5. I was considering Michelin PS4S. But due to the price differences, Iíve decided to go with Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetric 5. I feel more confident driving through corners in wet and dry road conditions. Overall, it is an excellent tyres. I would highly recommend recommend this tyres for those whom are looking for performance and comfort.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Replaced with Michelin Pilot sport 3, and the Goodyear are perfect, got them on my golf 7 gti. Perfect fit, and not too expensive!
11 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a SEAT Ateca Xcellence (245/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 35 average miles
With 30,000 miles I have already had to replace the Falken that my Seat Ateca mounted from the factory. I do a normal driving but the Azenis FK453 at various times lost grip. They recommended me to mount the newest FK510 but I was looking for something of greater prestige and the best option in quality / price exists in the tire market are these Eagle F1 Asymm 5. The change has been much better ... the dry grip is very good but in the wet these GoodYears are really surprising ... you can see that they drain a lot more water being more difficult to cause aquaplaning. Cornering handling is superior to previous Falken.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a Honda Civic Type S 2.2 i CDTi (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 200 spirited miles
I've had Michelin pilot sport 4's on my civic 2.2 diesel ever since I owned the car. The car has been remapped and I do enjoy driving on twisty bendy roads. I find that in the wet the michelins lose grip and the car ends up understeering. Not something you'd expect from michelins with at least 5mm of tread on them. I fitted these Goodyear Eagle F1 asymmetric 5's on the front wheels I went for the extra load version as the civic 2.2 is a pretty heavy car. straight away I could tell a massive difference in grip and handling. Way less body roll than before and way more grip in the wet compared to the michelins. Really impressed with these Goodyears. Noise level is not bad at all. maybe a touch quieter than the michelins. Haven't noticed any difference in fuel economy bearing in mind Have a heavy foot. Overall great tyre and will definitely purchase again.
8 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2020   

See all 70 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (newest first) >>