Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 96%
Road Feedback 92%
Handling 94%
Wear 90%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 96%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

Show All

Tyre review data from 34 tyre reviews averaging 93% over 118,940 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 SUV 4x4 Summer Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent handling, precise steering response and very short stopping distances on dry and wet roads.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - Test winner.

2019 Auto Bild Sports Car Tyre Test - 2nd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent handling in the dry and wet, accurate steering, short braking distances, good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - High rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Exemplary.

2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent wet handling with high steering precision, short braking distances, extremely low wear leading to an excellent price / performance ratio.
  • Negative - High purchase price, average comfort.
  • Overall - Highly recommended.
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

2019-03-16 - How is sidewall stiffness, steering response and precision characteristics of this comparing to Falken Azenis FK510, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (not S), Conti PremiumContact 6 ? Thank you.

I am testing the Asymmetric 5 against the PC6 (and Asym 3) next week, keep an eye on youtube for the video :)


2019-04-05 - Merc E350 amg coupe 2015. The front and rear have different size tyres. The asymmetric 5 make a size to fit the rear, but not the front. Any problems with asymmetric 5 on the rear and asymmetric 3 on the front?

While it's not ideal, there's no problem to run that combination of Asym 3 and Asym 5.


2019-04-21 - do you think the correct tire pressure for 225/45 r17 91Y PS? (vehicle: dsg golf 1.2 2015 110hp)

The tyre pressure for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is vehicle and load specific. The correct tyre pressure for your vehicle can usually be found on a sticker in the door shut of the driver's door, or in the manufacturer's handbook.


2019-05-29 - Does anyone know if / when Goodyear will release a 205/40r17 in the Asymmetric 5. Currently using the Asymmetric 3 but this tyre size has now been discontinued. Also looking for it in a 225/45r19 again just recently discontinued in the Asymmetric 3 range.

Both 205/40 17 and 225/45 19 are now available in Asymmetric 5, so you should be able to find them in the marketplace :)


2019-06-21 - When will 255/30/19 and 265/30/19 sizes be released within the UK please?

The Eagle Asymmetric 5 in size 255/30R19 is now on sale it was released earlier this month. It looks like Goodyear won’t be producing the tyre in size 265/30R19 as they haven’t produced an Eagle Asymmetric tyre in that size since the Goodyear Eagle Asymmetric 2.


2019-09-10 - Can't decide between these ASM5 and Michelin PS4. My my top requirements is Comfort, Wet and Dry Stopping performance, Aquaplaning and Wear rate. the PS4 is now quite a bit more expensive, so that is also a factor. To be fitted to an Audi A6 Avant 255/35/19

There there is a big difference in price, I would go for the Goodyear as the two tyres are very close in all other aspects.


2019-11-10 - Deciding between the standard ASM5 or the ASM5 XL 225/45R17. prices are the same but the XL boasts better fuel economy according to the labelling, however will the ride quality suffer due to the reinforced tyre? are there any reasons not to go with the XL variant? or are the differences relatively unnoticeable?

The differences between the non-XL and XL versions of tyres are usually very small, and in some cases, they're actually the same tyre. As these have different label scores, there are differences in the tyre for the Asymmetric 5, but I wouldn't let that put you off the XL version as they're likely to be small.


2019-11-29 - Will these be ok on an Audi A5 quattro or is it best to stick to RO tyres? If RO is best what would you recommend?

I'd have no problems putting an aftermarket version of the Asymmetric 5 on an Audi.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £77.99 - £104.77 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £70.80 - £90.95 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £62.40 - £85.00 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £88.50 - £116.00 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £110.90 - £132.41 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 52 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Review

Given 100% while driving a BMW 3 (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I have had fitted in my BMW and they are absolutely great. Precise steering, great on wet and excellent on dry roads.
341 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2019   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 92% while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003 2007) (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Although just fitted and only tested in rain these tyres have transformed the feel of my ST224, previously I had Pilot Sport4's all round but from around half worn they just didn't grip so well in wet. From the off the GY tyres bite into the wet tarmac and have given me more confidence in the cars handling, was well worth ditching the Michellins.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Renault clio 197 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Usually always use ps4 on this car but they didn't have them in stock and the car came with the f1 3 which I could not fault.

I cannot fault these tyres at all I replace the steering arms at the same time aswell as tracking done and even 6 months later I'm still impressed so much I have started using these tyres on all my cars I would go as far as saying they as good as pilot sports and I'm sure if its cause the are just released but they are cheap £120 cheaper for 4 that mps it's a no brainer...

Only a fool would buy anything else bar pilot sports, I have done 4k of abusive miles and they still look new....
7 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2020   
Do winter tyres really work on supercars? Watch this video to find out!
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 GTI (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
Got them on my stage 1 mk7 golf GTI all corners. Not as good as mpss in the dry but still very good. A lot better in the wet than the mpss. Would take these over the mpps for UK roads. Also cost £350 for all 4 tyres fitted at Kwik Fit.
5 - tyre reviewed on December 31, 2019   
Given 88% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (205/45 R17 W) on for 3,000 miles
I've used the tyres for road use and one very wet track day. Dry handling is excellent on the road, although I never push super hard. Wet handling is excellent both on road and track. When my regular track day car was down for maintenance, I used the Swift on a very wet Oulton Park. The Goodyear's were superb and made up somewhat for the lack of power. Cost was cheap for premium tyres and the only downside is that I suspect higher rolling resistance than the previous Conti's.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Audi A7 3.0TDi Auto (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
From PS4 to F1A5 and i must say this all-rounder is crazily amazing . I just shut up and gave them my money .
7 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2019   

See all 31 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (newest first) >>