Michelin Pilot Super Sport

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 86%
Wear 83%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 89%

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

Show All

Tyre review data from 130 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 1,132,402 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

OE vs Aftermarket - Is the tyre your vehicle came with always the best tyre? - 2nd of 3 tyres

  • Positive - The BMW * marked PSS is a good all round tyre which suits the M2 well. Excellent dry grip.
  • Negative - Higher levels of understeer in the dry and wet.

2017 Motor Mag UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

2016 AutoBild UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 6 tyres

  • Positive - Fast accurate steering response, high lateral stability and short braking distances in the dry.
  • Negative - Poor resistance to aquaplaning, in the wet the car can oversteer quickly
  • Overall - Good
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R17 88Y XL * E A 71 8.91kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   F A 71 9.31kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 71 9.07kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL * E B 71 10.11kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL TPC E B 71 11.07kgs
275/35 R18 99Y XL TPC E B 71 12.17kgs
285/35 R18 101Y XL MO1 E A 73 12.75kgs
295/35 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 13.36kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL S1 E A 71 8.02kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   F A 71 8.84kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   F A 71 9.10kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL * E B 71 9.24kgs
225/40 R18 88Y * E B 71 9.24kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL HN E B 71 9.24kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E C 71 12.59kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 71 10.76kgs
245/40 R18 93Y * E A 71 10.85kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO E B 71 10.80kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL * E A 71 11.49kgs
255/40 R18 95Y * E A 71 10.74kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL MO1 E A 71 10.74kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL MO E A 71 12.29kgs
265/40 R18 97Y * E A 71 12.36kgs
275/40 R18 99Y * E B 72 12.09kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL * E A 71 10.10kgs
235/45 R18 94Y   E A 71 10.57kgs
265/45 R18 101Y   E A 71 13.90kgs
235/30 R19 86Y XL   E A 71 9.40kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 71 11.15kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   F A 71 11.20kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.27kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MO1 E B 73 11.92kgs
285/30 R19 94Y   E C 74 13.49kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.78kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL TPC E B 73 14.12kgs
345/30 R19 109Y XL   E A 73 15.80kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71 9.50kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71 9.60kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 71 10.23kgs
245/35 R19 89Y   F A 71 12.43kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL * E B 71 10.65kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO1 E B 71 10.50kgs
255/35 R19 92Y   E A 71 11.08kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 11.05kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL * E B 72 10.67kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E B 71 11.12kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL * E B 71 11.87kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO E B 71 11.25kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL N0 E A 71 11.33kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO1 E B 71 11.90kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL TPC E B 71 12.51kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL * E B 73 11.82kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 72 12.53kgs
285/35 R19 99Y   E C 73 15.18kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   E A 73 13.92kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL MO C B 73 12.94kgs
295/35 R19 100Y   E C 74 13.15kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL * C B 73 12.77kgs
305/35 R19 102Y   E C 74 13.93kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 9.90kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 10.60kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 71 11.35kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   F A 71 12.00kgs
265/40 R19 102Y XL * C B 71 11.34kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E A 73 13.30kgs
285/40 R19 103Y N0 C A 73 13.57kgs
255/45 R19 100Y N0 E A 71 12.53kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 73 11.56kgs
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 73 12.42kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 73 12.19kgs
325/25 R20 101Y XL   E A 75 14.11kgs
335/25 R20 99Y   E C 74 15.39kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 71 9.70kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 11.39kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL * E B 71 10.90kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL * E A 73 12.08kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL MO1 E B 73 12.14kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL * E B 73 12.13kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL K1 E B 73 11.12kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO E B 73 13.25kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL * E B 73 13.43kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL K3 E B 73 14.02kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL MO E B 73 14.21kgs
335/30 R20 108Y XL N0 E A 74 15.85kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 9.70kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL K1 F B 71 10.16kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K2 E B 71 10.62kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL * E A 71 10.53kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K3 E B 71 10.62kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL A VOL E A 71 11.00kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 71 10.59kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 11.59kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL K2 E B 71 11.02kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL * E B 71 11.50kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL * E A 71 12.41kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL K2 E B 73 13.51kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL N0 C A 73 13.74kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL K1 C B 73 14.00kgs
295/35 R20 101Y K1 E B 73 14.00kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL K1 C B 75 15.10kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL K2 E B 75 15.65kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL * E A 71 12.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E A 71 12.40kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL N0 E A 71 12.39kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 13.00kgs
305/25 R21 98Y XL   E A 73 13.02kgs
325/25 R21 102Y XL   E A 75 15.50kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 10.76kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 71 11.36kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 71 11.35kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL   E A 71 13.00kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL   E A 73 12.91kgs
295/30 R21 102Y XL   E A 73 13.62kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL * C B 73 14.95kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL   E A 71 11.34kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL A T0 E A 71 11.40kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL   C A 71 11.00kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL A T0 C A 71 12.20kgs
285/35 R21 105Y XL * C B 73 13.42kgs
245/40 R21 96Y   E A 72 13.90kgs
265/30 R22 97Y XL   E A 71 13.42kgs
295/30 R22 103Y XL   C A 75 13.00kgs
305/30 R22 105Y XL   C A 75 15.00kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   C A 71 13.40kgs
275/35 R22 104Y XL   C A 71 13.50kgs
305/35 R22 110Y XL   C A 73 13.00kgs
315/25 R23 102Y XL   C A 75 15.48kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Super Sport

2016-04-25 - I'm looking for a bit of advice on some tyres for my Megane RS250. Currently I am running Michelin Pilot Super Sport 225/40 ZR18 92Y XL. The correct size tyre for the car is 235. I've managed to find PSS's in 235/40 ZR18 95Y but not XL and have a DOT of 2012. With the 235 being a larger load rating (95Y), will the performance of the tyre be the same as that of the 92Y XL? And were the PSS made in 2012 different to those made now?

The performance of the two tyres will be very similar, the 235 might be a little stronger on the sidewall, but as it has a little more sidewall it will balance out. There's every chance the PSS will have gone through minor updates since 2012, and has now been discontinued in 235/40 R18. Michelin would recommend you try the Pilot Sport 4 instead.


2018-04-05 - Do you out think there is an appreciable improvement in noise if going from 19" Pirelli P Zero RSC (run-flat) to 18" Pilot Super Sport? (I'd like to consider the 18" PS4 or 19" PS4S, but they are not available in BMW star version. As I run a 1-series xDrive, I am cautious about fitting non-endorsed tires in case of warranty issues with the AWD transfer case / drivetrain.....)

Moving from any runflat tyre to non-runflat will give a big improvement in noise and comfort levels. Regarding * marking and warranty, you do not need to worry about this, legally they can't refuse any work based on tyres as long as you fit the OE size and load rating.


2018-08-07 - I have an E92 M3 that needs new rears (265/35/19). Does it matter if the tyre is not * rated? The prices vary by up to 30 per tyre depending on which of the following you get: 98Y, 98Y*, 98Y TPC, 98Y MO1, 98Y N0, 98Y MO.

I believe the * marked Pilot Super Sport was developed for the M2 not the M3, so it's not something I'd be concerned about having. My own E92 M3 tyres are not star marked.


2018-08-28 - I have a BMW M135i which is currently fitted with run flats. When I come to change them my two options are the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 or the Michelin Pilot Super Sports. I have read a vast array of information on both and am still no closer to deciding which one. The PSS is the OEM tyre for the car so I was inclined to choose those, however I have read multiple reviews saying they are very temperature dependent and not the best in the wet? The PS4 would does not appear not have this problem, however other people have complained that the turn in is quite vague on the PS4 and they feel very soft, something which it certainly isn't at the moment on the run flats. Having said that I believe either will be a major improvement over the run flats. Any advice you can give would be much appreciated.

You have the two tyres qualities understood correctly, so the choice needs to be your choice between comfort and wet grip, or sport handling. As you say both tyres will be a huge improvement.


2019-03-18 - I had understood that the Michelin pilot super sport was being phased out and replaced by the 4s. However I see that some new car models are being fitted with tbr super sports as standard when they could have chosen other rubber. Please can you advise. I have a C63 on 19 wheels. Love the super sports When they are warm but less keen in the wet.

There are existing OE fitments in place which take years to replace. All new OE fitments will be with the 4S.


2019-06-14 - Our 2008 46k XKR is currently fitted with Dunlop Sport 255/35 R20 on the front and 285/30 ZR20 on the rear. Just back from a 1.5k touring holiday when we found the road noise very intrusive over all road surfaces. Want to replace all four tyres with something much quieter. Good fuel economy, and dry and wet grip also essential. Car is not used for track days. What would you suggest, please?

Falken FK510 or Pilot Sport 4S


2020-05-06 - could you please tell me,if the Michelin pilot supersport is a good choice of tyre for my Mercedes sl 55amg ,could you advise me on the best tyre for my car 285/35 18

The replacement for the SuperSport, the Pilot Sport 4S is the better tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £108.20 - £134.89 (29 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £152.20 - £166.16 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £139.79 - £170.99 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R18 £154.00 - £167.74 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £140.74 - £161.99 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 65 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin Pilot Super Sport Review

Given 70% while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 9,500 spirited miles
Assuming this tyre to be the pinnacle for grip, I am disappointed. The dealer placed the 'star rated' (BMW) tyres on my 370z &there is little grip when cold and or mildly warm. When only properly hot do I start to get grip but that means a lot of wheel spin &sliding prior. Not ideal in public on the street. No issues normal driving or rain. Recently at CONSTANT throttle on a reasonable curving road the rear stepped out and was saved by the electronics. Unacceptable when I can drive that corner faster in a standard NA Ford Focus with no drama, in any other car either? Seems the Star rated is very different from the standard version, more a track tyre &terrible on the street
151 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2016   

Latest Michelin Pilot Super Sport Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Super Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Super Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Super Sport >>

Given 93% while driving a MINI R56 Factory John Cooper Works (205/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Overall the best tyre I've ever had fitted to a car. Use to have a set of PS4's which are the new version of the PSS but the PSS is far better than at wearing and in wet conditions then the PS4's. Shame that they do not make this tyre again as I now only need 2 tyres (front) and they will have to be PS4's not PSS
0 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Opel Astra H OPC (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 60,000 spirited miles
Michelin Pilot Super Sport, below 3mm tread depth left My point is to agree with Michelin about no need to rush to change tyres with the tread depth of 3mm and less. I have not noticed any dramatic changes in wet grip when caught by a torrential downpour on the highway (repeatedly). Dropping the speed to 80-90 km/hour is always enough, no metter how heavy it rains. As the rain exhausts its energy, I go up to 120-130 km/hour. After the rain stops but the highway is still wet you can go back to your 150 km/h. My wife and me are recreational drivers, sometimes having to cover 600 km a day. Safety is a concern for us. The car is Astra OPC (VXR). Cheers, YK
0 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best all season tyre? Watch this!
Given 66% while driving a BMW M240i (245/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 18,000 spirited miles
The tires came factory fitted to my M240i, which I use as a daily driver. The dry grip and dry handling was the best part of the tires, but they needed some temperature to grip properly. Wear wasn't bad considering I often drove spirited on twisty roads. Once you experienced the Michelin PS4 you soon realize the Michelin Pilot Super Sport has very weak wet grip. Aquaplaning was very bad. Comfort wise the tires were quite hard, but not runflat hard. Overall an excellent tire for dry conditions, but weak in dry conditions.
5 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a BMW M140i (245/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
This review has been prompted since putting the PSSs back on the car from running a set of winter tyres. Coming back to these after running a set of Continental WinterContact TS 850P (over a mild winter) has clarified my initial impressions. To properly understand the scores I have given the Michelins, I need to give some background to the car they are fitted to and its dynamic traits. The M-lite cars suffer on bumpy, broken UK roads in a similar way to their full M Division bigger brothers. Overly stiff springs, no LSD and 370ft-lbs delivered from 1500rpm taxes rear traction at the very best of times. The suspension is designed for smooth German autobahns when fully loaded. So this car (on standard suspension) is particularly sensitive to the correct tyre match and the pressure they are set to. On a warm (15deg+) dry day, these tyres are magical. Immense grip, fast steering reactions and great stability. I love them on these days. On 'most' northern UK days i.e. cooler and damp, these tyres seem to stiffen up with the net effect of giving traction problems, having noisy tread-block movement on full lock and a fidgety unsettled ride that lowers confidence because I feel the car is skimming the surface of the road. Interestingly with full heavy rain, they seem to find more traction than just damp conditions, so maybe the tread design clears water better than the rubber compound seems to deal with lower temperatures? In contrast, the Conti winter tyres lost all the dynamic sporty benefits of the PSS (they are winter tyres after all) but replaced them with a far better ride and greater confidence in wet/cold weather. They are winter tyres! Back to the Michelins. Set to 34psi all-round and with the temperature hovering around 10degrees, all the negatives have come to the fore again. On the first day of fitting them back on the car, the steering precision, stability and dynamic behaviour where amplified directly after removing the softer Contis. The car felt dynamically amazing.....However since then I have adjusted back to how they behave on a daily basis. My conclusion is this; On the right car in a warmer climate, these are fantastic. If you do track days in warmer climates - amazing. I think they work well in a narrow window provided they suit the dynamics and power delivery of the car. In the UK on an M140i, I find them disappointing on more days than I love them. So the scores I have given them actually reflect the car/tyre match and not necessarily the tyres on their own. For what I want my car to behave like, I'll probably try a set of Goodyear Asymmetric 5s next. Hopefully these will give most of the plus points of both the Michelins and the Contis combined. I also need to set aside some funds for a suspension upgrade.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2020   

See all 119 customer reviews of the Michelin Pilot Super Sport (newest first) >>