Michelin CrossClimate+

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 77%
Wear 91%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 89%
Snow Grip 81%
Ice Grip 77%

The Michelin CrossClimate Plus is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

In February 2017, Michelin will launch MICHELIN CrossClimate+ which will continue to combine the best of both summer and winter tyre worlds with long-lasting performance.

We will have more information on the CrossClimate+ as we receive it!

This tyre replaced the Michelin CrossClimate

Show All

Tyre review data from 58 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 507,225 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 All Season Tyre Performance Overview - 2nd of 31 tyres

2019 Summer and All Season Tyre Test - 7th of 18 tyres

2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - The shortest wet braking distances. The only tyre with snow capability.
  • Negative - Relatively weak wet lateral stability, increased noise levels, long dry braking.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 86V XL   E B 68 7.92kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   C B 68 7.41kgs
195/55 R15 89V XL   C B 69 7.33kgs
175/60 R15 85H XL   E B 68 7.09kgs
185/60 R15 88V XL   C B 68 7.33kgs
195/60 R15 92V XL   C B 69 7.75kgs
205/60 R15 95V XL   B B 69 8.00kgs
165/65 R15 85H XL   E B 68 7.09kgs
175/65 R15 88H XL   C B 68 7.11kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 68 7.67kgs
185/65 R15 92V XL   C B 68 7.94kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 69 8.10kgs
195/65 R15 95V XL   C B 69 8.12kgs
205/65 R15 99V XL   B B 69 8.69kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   B B 69 8.01kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   B B 69 7.97kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C B 69 8.76kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 69 8.73kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   B B 69 9.24kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   B B 69 9.60kgs
195/60 R16 93V XL   C B 69 8.75kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL   C B 69 8.79kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 69 8.76kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL   E B 69 12.25kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   B B 69 9.60kgs
225/60 R16 102W XL   B B 69 9.81kgs
215/65 R16 102V XL   B B 69 9.81kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C B 69 8.71kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C B 69 9.44kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C B 69 9.44kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C B 69 9.66kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C B 69 10.21kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C B 69 9.07kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 69 9.38kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C B 69 9.93kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   E B 69 12.17kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C B 69 9.33kgs
215/55 R17 94V   C B 69 9.80kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 69 9.92kgs
225/55 R17 97W   C B 69 9.98kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 69 10.00kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL   B B 69 10.71kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   B B 69 9.74kgs
225/60 R17 103V XL   B B 69 10.70kgs
215/65 R17 103V XL   B B 69 10.75kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C B 69 9.59kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C B 69 9.96kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C B 69 10.34kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C B 69 9.71kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C B 69 10.45kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 69 10.45kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C B 69 11.82kgs
225/55 R18 102V XL   B B 69 11.00kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C B 69 11.11kgs
235/45 R19 99Y XL   C B 71 11.54kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C B 71 11.54kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate Plus

2017-01-17 - I am considering buying a set of Crossclimates for my Jaguar - the size is 225/60 16 102W. Discovering the tyre is about to be replaced by the Crossclimate+ is making me hesitate! Michelin introduced the original Crossclimate in a fairly narrow set of sizes - my 225/60 16 was not one of them. Is Michelin likely to do the same thing with the new Crossclimate+ - with the slightly less popular tyre sizes like mine being introduced later - in which case I should just go ahead and order the original Crossclimate, rather than wait for the Crossclimate+? Does anyone know how Michelin has improved the tyre? - Is the new tyre a better compromise (better warm dry braking and handling) or is it less fundamental tweaking?

Our full report of what has changed in the new CrossClimate+ can be found here. The sizes will roll out in stages as before, so if you need new tyres we'd suggest getting not waiting for the CrossClimate+!


2017-08-30 - I am considering buying either 4 Michelin CC Plus or Goodyear Eagle Asymmetrical 3 for my Jag XF 2.2, tyre size 245/45/R18. I live in semi rural Wales just outside Cardiff and although I probably wont be exceeding 10,000 miles a year, I will be driving around the welsh valleys on A and B roads with my new job more than I have previously when I used to catch a train more often than not. Its the million dollar question of whether to pay for winter tyres or just a good quality summer tyre and now we have the option of an all-season/ weather tyre. I don't do any high performance driving etc. We are yet to have another harsh winter since 2012 but no doubt this year will be the year. I was after some advice on the suitability of these two tyres for my car and driving situation as a good all rounders but being able to handle a cold snap should it arrive. Also whether I could realistically consider a slightly cheaper tyre that would fit the bill? Thanks There is a £30 difference in price on blackcircles.com

If you need to stay mobile when the bad weather comes, and don't want to pair the Goodyear summer tyre with a full winter tyre, the CrossClimate is your best option.


2018-09-14 - Can someone please help me to decide between 91H and 94V XL. I am going to get 4 of Michelin cross climate plus tyres in 205/55 R16 tyres for Mercedes B160 Sport. The current factory fitted tyres are 215/40 R18 89W XL contis.As I already had 16" wheels with winter tyres so I decided to go with cross climates instead of changing wheels and tyres twice a year. Now I am struggling to decide that should I get the specified speed and load rating of 91H with softer sidewalls or should I go with 94V XL with stronger sidewall. I don't mind paying little bit extra if there is any benefit. So can someone please help.

Personally I would run the stiffer sidewall option where available as I prefer a sharper steering response over comfort.


2018-11-26 - are these run flat tyres

I don't believe there are any runflat sizes of the CrossClimate yet.


2019-03-19 - I would love a set of CrossClimate+ on my car for a hustle free UK driving but iv got an 19" alloy with 225/40. They seem to produce at least one tyre in 19" but its a 255 and surely if they produce one they will produce others... My question is do they have other 19" sizes? Are they just unavailable atm?

19" all season tyres are currently low demand, so there's a chance it's not produced. Email Michelin to see if it's on their roadmap.


2019-09-25 - I live in Yorkshire and drive an M140i. I am considering the CrossClimate+ as my only tyre but not sure if this is too much of a compromise in the summer? The car currently has Pilot Super Sports. Price is not important but driving enjoyment and safety all year round is.

If driving enjoyment is key to you, your best option is to use the CrossClimate+ as a winter tyre, and switch back to your summer tyres in the summer.


2019-11-05 - Can you tell me what the thread depth is on the New Michelin CROSSCLIMATE SUV car tires?

The tread depth for the CrossClimate+ can vary by size, so it's best to ask michelin directly. The CrossClimate+ usually starts between 6mm and 7.5mm.


2019-11-19 - I am looking at getting some new tyres for my car for winter would you say the Michelin crossclimate+ will be good for using all year or I can get another set of wheels for winter use for not that much money and put the cross climates on those to just use in the winter. I currently have Michelin summer tyres that need replacing anyway. I am a tyre fitter anyway so fitting isnít a problem and can always swap wheels easily. What sort of difference would we feel in dry summer conditions with the cross climate.

The CrossClimate is the most summer feeling of the all season tyres, but you will notice a reduction in handling qualities compared to your summer tyres. If you're a tyre fitter, I suggest doing the test yourself and letting us know via a review!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £66.30 - £85.50 (24 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £99.01 - £115.00 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £91.10 - £105.00 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £117.46 - £154.00 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate Plus Review

Given 87% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 200 easy going miles
Bought set of 4 new Cross Climate XL from Halfords a week ago and only covered approximately 200 miles.

So it is still very early days BUT I have noticed a lot less road noise and much more responsive steering.

My car came with Continental tyres as OEM & has covered just over 21K miles from new - was registered March 2014.
433 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2017   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate Plus Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate Plus tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the CrossClimate Plus.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 79% while driving a Peugeot 307 SW HDI 136 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
These tyres are awesome. For me, they are like magic. Almost as good as Primacy 4 in summer but with traction and grip in snow conditions. I usually go skiing and these tyres really make me feel confident on snow. I will never drive summer tyres up to the mountains again. Thank you Michelin, this is a great product.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI (225/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Original Michelin Primacy 3 (AO), had done a good 20,000 miles with a few rotations to even out the wear, but were beginning to loose grip on cold mornings and were down to 2-2.5mm. So with winter on its way, and plenty of research on all-season tires, it took the plunge and ordered some CC+. I have only had them on for a couple of weeks, but the wet/dry grip is very good, especial as it has been cold weather. They seem to do ok with water clearing, have had roads with heavy surface water, no issue, and some big puddles, again no issue. Big disappointment is the noise. Tyre shop sent me on my way with 36/36psi front/back, but there was a significant rhythmic drumming/humming from the tires, which increased pitch with speed, and got much worse on corning. Checked the manual which suggested 41/38psi for lightly loaded, 41/44psi for heavy loaded, on XL M+S tires, so increased to 41 all round. Noise improved, and i can't notice it on the back tires any more, but still on the front. Increased the front so now on 44/41psi, which made a fractional improvement. I have taken the car up to speed (110) to see if there was an issue with alignment, or balancing but all seemed fine. No vibration, no pulling on cruise, acceleration or heavy braking. There now appears to be a small amount of premature rounding wear on the leading edge of the outside block, which would typically be a result of under inflation. But as i am at the very max that the manual suggests, i don't want to put any more air in.
4 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2020   
This is the ultimate tyre test! Watch now!
Given 71% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (205/60 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
These were fitted to my BMW 3 series by the lease company as it is their policy. The previous tyres - Mitchelin Primacy 4's were excellent in the dry and wet so when I changed to these cross climate tyres I disappointingly found that I could no longer lean on the tyres the same way in corners, making progress slower and less fun. On the positive side I did notice in very heavy rain that the car was less likely to aquaplane at Motorway speeds and also there was less road noise with these cross climate tyres.
13 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2020   
Given 88% while driving a Vauxhall zafira 1.7 diesel (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 56,000 easy going miles
The CrossClimates were fitted to my Vauxhall Zafira diesel front and rear and they lasted 4 years and 56k miles with tread still remaining on all 4. So you can tell I am a slow driver. Had the same tires on the previous Zafira . Just now (Dec-19) had 4 new CrossClimate+ fitted. I am not a fast driver but I always felt confident with these tires in the dry and especially in the wet and snow. Quiet, hard-wearing and good fuel economy too. What's not to like. Much better than the original tires supplied on the car from new (I did not record the brand, they lasted 28k) and also better than Michelin Energy which I used to use on our cars.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2019   
Given 88% while driving a Dacia Sandero Stepway DCI (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
Just bought Michelin Crossclimate +
Massive improvement over the Goodyear Efficient Grip (Summer Tyres) they replaced. Much quieter, car felt more planted on the straights and less understeer in the bends.
They were a lot more usable than the Goodyear Ultragrip 9 snow tyres of winter which never made the car feel that good in snow and general winter driving in the cold and dry.
Wet grip was a vast improvement and stopped really well in an emergency, when previous tyres wouldn't have.
Been fine on frosts down to -5c.
Snow due in the next couple of weeks, quietly confident after watching reviews.
A little concerned about snow braking as there are hardly any test reviews out there.
So far so good, update due after the snow.
16 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2019   

See all 53 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate Plus (newest first) >>