Bridgestone Weather Control A005

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 73%
Wear 70%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 66%
Snow Grip 64%
Ice Grip 56%

The Bridgestone Weather Control A005 is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Bridgestone has designed the Weather Control A005 to meet the needs of consumers who are looking for year-round convenience and safety - For drivers who want to stay in control, with the same tyres, all year round regardless of sun, rain or occasional snow.

Bridgestone Weather Control A005 is legally compliant 365 days a year thanks to its qualified performance on snow, certified by the 3 Peak Mountain Snow Flake (3PMSF) marking.

The A005 is available in 68 sizes for 15 to 20 rims, it will immediately cover demand for 94% of passenger cars and on-road SUVs, with additional sizes being made available in 2019.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone A001

Show All

Tyre review data from 39 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 127,300 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Auto Bild 4x4 All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 12 tyres

  • Positive - A solid allrounder with high grip in all conditions, precise steering and dynamic behaviour on wet surfaces, short wet and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - None mentioned

2019 ACE GTU All Season Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

2019 Auto Express All Season Tyre Test - 5th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet and dry braking.
  • Negative - Very weak in the snow, high fuel use.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   C A 71 6.78kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   C A 70 7.29kgs
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 71 7.19kgs
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 70 7.38kgs
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 71 7.63kgs
175/65 R15 88H XL   C A 70 7.03kgs
185/65 R15 92H XL   E A 72 10.61kgs
185/65 R15 92V XL   C A 70 7.21kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 7.75kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   E A 71 11.43kgs
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 71 7.75kgs
205/65 R15 99V XL   C A 71 8.46kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   C A 71 6.80kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 71 8.35kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.07kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 71 8.70kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   E A 71 10.80kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C A 71 9.10kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 71 8.51kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   E A 72 9.83kgs
235/60 R16 104V XL   C A 71 10.78kgs
215/65 R16 102V XL   C A 71 9.77kgs
215/70 R16 100H   C A 71 10.27kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 71 9.42kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.12kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 72 11.96kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 71 9.12kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.53kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.47kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 71 10.05kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 71 10.31kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 71 9.38kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 71 9.59kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 13.55kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 71 10.50kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 72 9.94kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 71 10.62kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C A 71 10.86kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   C A 72 9.92kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL         11.50kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   C A 72 9.85kgs
225/60 R17 103V XL   C A 71 10.66kgs
225/65 R17 106V XL   C A 71 11.19kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   B A 71 11.76kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 72 12.50kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 9.10kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   C A 71 11.42kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.03kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C A 71 10.34kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.38kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.84kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 13.48kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C A 71 12.65kgs
245/50 R18 100V   C A 71 12.02kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 71 12.28kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 11.30kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL   B A 72 13.23kgs
225/60 R18 100H   C A 71 11.10kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   B A 71 11.92kgs
235/65 R18 106V   C A 71 15.34kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 11.11kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 71 12.93kgs
215/50 R19 93T C+       10.20kgs
255/50 R19 107W XL   C A 72 13.03kgs
235/55 R19 105W XL   C A 72 14.19kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 71 10.42kgs

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005

2018-07-13 - http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Bridgestone/Weather-Control-A005.htm/price/195-45-16 This size seems very expensive. What are they made of - silk and gold?

I would hope so at that price! It might just be that the A005 is a new tyre and they haven't actually got prices for 195/45 R16 yet.


2018-09-21 - I'm buying a new car, it has 205/45r17 tyres. I'll drive for 10k kilometers every year, so I guess the best choices it's a 4 season tyres. I live in Italy and there is always high temps, we go under ten degrees for two months a year more or less. It's a strange tyre configuration..there aren't michelin crossclimate or goodyear 4 season for that size. I found just Nokian weatherproof, this Bridgestone and Vredestein Quatrac 5. Umm. Can you give me an advice? Maybe I can take this 4 wheels for summer and i'll take another 4 for winter, maybe with an higher shoulder of the tire, but I don't know if the shopping will be worth it. Thank you in advance!

Have you seen the latest all season tyre buying guide? This should give you a good indication of what to buy!


2018-11-03 - I've never changed my cars tyres for Winter before, but now have a performance car (leon cupra 300) with uhp summer tyres and have been told I must get them off before the really cold weather to avoid them cracking up. I want the maximum performance possible but a tyre that I can leave on through the winter whether it falls below -10c or sneaks back up over 10c. Not bothered about snow/ice performance as I live in south east and always drove through snow/ice before on pilot sports without any trouble lol. My only choice for all weather is these, otherwise it has to be a winter tyre. Michelin alpine 4's also fit but cost loads more. Do you think these Bridgestones are my best option? Thanks

These seem to be a good all season option if dry and wet is your priority, however any siped tyre designed to work in snow is going to reduce the dry handling of a sports car / hot hatch, so don't expect too much from them!


2018-12-18 - I'm curious about the low score for wear - could I ask where this comes from as they've not been around long and the reviews are all low miles. They seem a good alternative to the michelin cross climate+, but not if they wear much quicker.

Looking at the database entries for each review, the wear marks for the A005 seem to be guesses. I'd wait until there's more data or a magazine test which tests wear to make up your mind (or buy a set and let me know!)


2019-05-17 - My question is about the suitability of these all season tyres instead of winter tyres in the south east of the UK. I have two sets of wheels for my car and experience of both summer and winter tyres. Given the UK weather in the south east I typically put winter tyres on for only a a few months (Nov-March) and during that you often get days where the temp is above the circa 7 degrees where winters are best. So would an all season tyre like this one be better for my normal winter conditions which do not involve snow but where you do have lots of rain and cold and frosty days? Also would all season tyres extend the optimum period so that I could use for them for a longer period say start October to end April?

Yes, I believe a wet optimised all season tyre like this or the Michelin CrossClimate can be used as a winter tyre for the mild uk climate. They will still vastly out perform a summer tyre if we see any snow.


2019-10-03 - Hello, just got a Mercedes Marco Polo campervan (RWD) and am interested as to whether an all season tyre like this would give better traction on wet grass / mud? I need 245/45 r19's and this is the only premium option I can find to fit. Currently shod with Pirelli P Zeros. As its a campervan, Im not bothered about dynamic handling, but it doesnt need to be any Wobblier! Any thoughts?

All season tyres can certainly offer slightly increased mud and grass traction thanks to more edges (sipes) and a chunkier tread pattern.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
185/60 R15 £58.30 - £73.87 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £58.50 - £79.40 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £76.99 - £104.95 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £109.40 - £137.22 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £93.20 - £117.97 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R19 £136.00 - £176.26 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 67 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Review

Opel Astra Hatch 1,0T (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Brand new All Weather tyres for the upcoming season.
Aprox. 7,3mm tread depth.
They are replacing the OEM Michelin Energy Saver+, an so far the feel more quiet, and a bit softer and giving a more comfortable ride.
They are priced in the same range as the Goodyear, Continental, and Michelin, so we will have to wait and see how long they will last.

120 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2018   

Latest Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Reviews

Have you driven on the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Weather Control A005.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 51% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (205/55 R16 R) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
Tyres fitted in emergency just before a long Scandinavian road (read rough road & track) trip. They were ok to begin with for grip all round but have progressively dropped off. They're nearly worn out now and I won't buy again simply because they've only done 9000 miles and are down to the legal limit. They haven't lasted long enough to be tested in snow but have been fine on rough and cold, wet roads. Maybe better suited to a lower powered car.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a Suzuki 2007 Vtt Suzuki swift (185/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Iam very satisfied with a005 they are the best tyre for rain and wet roads the grip is phenomenal you feel like you drive on dry road. Unfortunately
I haven't driven in snow yet so I don't test them on snow/ice conditions. In summer they were ok with good grip and normal brake distance. I will make a new review when I will test them on snow. I also notice that they were a bit noisy the first days but after a few days the noise stopped.My car is a suzuki swift and iam from Greece. I really recommend them especially for rainy countries or countries with hot summer and a few days with snow .
1 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2020   
This is the ultimate tyre test! Watch now!
Given 90% while driving a BMW 130 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Purchased for a BMW 1 series, with the weather getting worse and the rears needed replacing soon. The original fronts were always a little weak by design. Have gone for 1 size increase (the maximum for my wheel size). This has increased the tyre height marginally but also increased the footprint. Took car out and about on a usually bumpy road with it raining and in the limited time I have had the tyres, there is a definite improvement.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Peugeot 308 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 11,000 easy going miles
I have bittersweet thoughts about this tyre (Peugeot 308 II series):

POSITIVES:
- Dry and wet handling and grip, both in the summer and winter (up to 38°C in the summer and down to -7°C in the winter).
- Price compared to competition, 225 45 17's cost me 85€ per tyre (Italy).
- Comfort is very good, pretty silent for 4s tires and the general driving comfort is good.
- Road feedback is good, feels like a summer tyre in warm weather and in the winter (dry and wet) I always feel safe.

NEGATIVES:
- Snow handling and grip, just TERRIBLE. I know that these are 4s tires and not winter tires so I wasn't expecting them to perform as the latter, but as soon as there is a minimal amount of snow on the road you start to feel unsafe. When the road is flat they perform better than a summer tyre, but you really need to slow down (1st or 2nd gear) and watch you driving. When the road starts going uphill or downhill is where they throw in the towel, almost NO grip and handling is reaaaally sketchy.

I can't really say much about the wear, I'm up to 18'000km and for now it looks to be normal.

Would I buy them again? Absolutely not! As I said above, I know these are not winter tires and I cannot expect them to perform as such, but the idea behind this model is that you should feel relatively safe when the conditions get a bit rough (and that's what the ads publicize), and in a couple of occasions I really feared for my safety and believe me, the weather was far from being anywhere nearto a snow storm/blizzard like.

If you are absolutely sure you won't be driving on snow, or if you have other options in case it snows, then I would recommend this tyre, otherwise try with another model/brand.


3 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
Fitted to my BMW M140 and they have made the difference, excellent wet grip, assured at zero temperatures and still match premium summer tyres in the dry. My M140 is now as sure footed in winter as it is on the Michelin MPSS in the summer!
2 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2019   

See all 37 customer reviews of the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (newest first) >>