Firestone RoadHawk

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 60%
Wear 51%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 48%
 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £43.37 - £63.18 (38 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £49.07 - £70.63 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £59.12 - £80.26 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £79.83 - £102.52 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 97 tyre sizes - View all.

Firestone RoadHawk Reviews (newest first) - Page 1

Given 36% while driving a Renault Megane Sport Tourer (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
You get what you pay...put two on front of my megane, and they are terrible on steering feedback. thatīs why they are cheap...
1 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2020   
Given 56% while driving a Kia Motors Rio (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Got these tyres @ halfords to go on my kia reo seem to be a good price for a mid to perm tyre only to find when it came to the MOT fail inside edge down to the wire after 8k won"t be buying again.
7 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2020   
Given 100% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
The car had some generic tyres fitted when I bough it and I have used firestone on previous cars, so wanted to get a set fitted on the front asap.

I'll get a set for the rear in the new year, but so far so good.
12 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2019   
Given 63% while driving a Vauxhall Zafira 1.9 CDTI Auto (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 5,300 easy going miles
We fitted four of these tyres to a Vauxhall Zafira 1.9 CDTI Automatic.
They tend to look under-inflated, because the side walls bulge a bit more than all the other tyres we've used in the past.
After just 5300 miles, the front tyres are now down to 3 - 4.5mm across the width.
Yes, the wear is uneven despite the tracking being done at the time of fitting. But even ignoring that, if they were 4-4.5 all the way across, they would seem to be wearing much faster expected, for a car that is driven gently much of the time.
The grip is all I could ask for at the price, both wet and dry. Even in damp conditions you don't tend to get much wheel spin.
Despite the softer sidewalls, they still give decent feedback, and have not made the handing much worse (though the Zafira is not the sort of car that you can throw around bends at the best of times).
If they were not wearing so fast, I'd have been pleased with them, especially for the fairly low price I paid.
But it seems that they will need replacing once they are about 7000 - 8000 miles old! That's just not good enough.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2019   
Given 67% while driving a Skoda Octavia (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 800 easy going miles
First off, it's paramount to state these tyres ARE NOT SPORT tyres. These tyres are a middle of the road, family car, daily driver tyre. They are soft, grippy in the wet & dry, quiet, and very comfortable when driven in the green zone. They're not designed or manufactured for even moderately spirited driving, not-to-mention sporty driving.
I have these fitted on the front of my Mk2 Octavia replacing a pair of Hankooks that were fantastic for the 2 years I had them but should have lasted much longer considering their price point.
So, if you are looking for tyres for the car you ferry your little precious ones around in then you are on to a winner here. They do everything very well. Their only two negatives are pricing and durability. Their price point is a little excessive for their known wear issues. They're not starting off great at 7mm thread depth and Firestone are not noted for their supremely durable compounds so I'll be happy if they last 2.5 - 3 years on the back as Im switching to a pair of Crossclimates on the front as soon as my tyre shop gets them in.

Final word. Know what type of driving you do b4 choosing this tyre. It great only for what its designed to do.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2019   
Given 61% while driving a Toyota Avensis (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 23,000 average miles
After checking over the Roadhawk as the outer edge of the front tyre was worn I was surprised to find there was only maybe 1mm of tread above the legal marker bumps left across the tyre which in fairness was evenly worn across all of the tyre. I found the receipt and the tyre was only 18 months old with 23000 miles on it.
Looking at the Black Circles website these tyres are described as 'mid-range' and cost ÂĢ96.50 being described as 'formulated for long lasting tread'??!
My diesel Avensis is no power machine so I'm really disappointed with the wear rate!
I noticed other reviews mirrored my opinion that if when fully inflated the sidewall looks saggy.
Handling and grip are pretty good, using rural roads with lots of standing water or muddy surfaces from tractors have never been a problem but I wouldn't buy Firestones again because of the poor wear.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2019   
Given 97% while driving a BMW 320d touring (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Fitted the Firestone RoadHawks to the front of my 2010 320d Touring as the run flats were excessively hard, very noisy, lacked feel and were a brand I am not keen on (inherited by the previous owner). Instantly the front end was riding properly, soaking up bumps and going round corners effortlessly. I have had those tyres on for 3000 miles now and they still look brand new. They have been so good through the bad weather and very hot weather that when the rear Conti run flats were wearing, they have been replaced with the Firestone's.

Again, the ride is much better, much quieter and the grip in the dry is simply fantastic. The back of the car is finally connected to the front in the corners and in the dry, the traction control light hasn't come on at all.

A couple of things I have to comment on is the wet grip and the look of the tyre. The wet grip is brilliant but, when pulling out of a junction on a steep hill, the tyres did spin and the traction control light came on. I'm not overly concerned about this as the rain was torrential and with 181bhp and no weight in the car, is to be expected. Also, they tyres do have a soft-ish sidewall and so they can look a little under-inflated on certain ground conditions.

Other than those two bits, they are fantastic and a really good mid-range tyre. If you want to remove the run-flats which I highly recommend you do, I cant recommend the Firestone Roadhawk enough to you.
8 - tyre reviewed on July 30, 2019   
(225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Vauxhall Astra H 1.8 Estate driver back again with my last review on this tyre 205/55r16 91v. Well I had enough of them about a month back these tyre's were not getting any better with time. The warmer the weather went the worse they became I was constantly checking the pressures because they just looked flatter all the time, and the cornering ride wasn't giving any confidence any more.

These tyres maybe ok on the rear of the car but for me not on the front..so they had to go. I have fitted a better/mid/budget tyre the Viking Protech Newgen, after their running in period they has transformed the front end all together the car is now nice to drive again. The Firestones may be ok for some cars they did not do well on my Astra.
Cheers
0 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2019   
Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
I have fitted these tyres on my Giulietta last summer and the car felt worse from the beginning. The ride was rough and there were vibrations felt through the seat and in the steering wheel at high speeds. I tried balancing several times, even at a road force balancing machine that revealed uniformity issues. Indeed, during these 5000 miles I had to rebalance them every so often. As it is mentioned in other posts, the deflection of these tyres is huge, the sidewalls seem very soft and therefore cornering is a mess. I didn't find them quiet either and their wear rate was poor. First, they have around 7mm when they are brand new and they were down to 4.5-5mm in 5000 miles of really average driving. Overall, I cannot recommend this tyre especially when you can buy a premium one at this price range.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (195/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Came with car as factory fit, very good dry and wet grip, for normal driving (without any sport driving intentions because when you push them to a limit they start to loose grip easly) handling is more than fine, on higher speeds can get noisy. Most of the time II had feeling that I don't feel what's happening with car, and in my opinion road feedback is not so good. I wouldn't recommend buying these tyres to premium or any other cars than small or city cars. They are ok tyres, although there are better out there for the same price.
6 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2019   
https://bs.serving-sys.com/serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&mc=imp&pli=29943428&PluID=0&ord=[timestamp]&rtu=-1