Honda Honda CB600F Hornet Tyres

Drive a Honda Honda CB600F Hornet? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Honda Honda CB600F Hornet
Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 (38) 92% 85% 89% 89% 89% 92% 91% 90% 180,950
Dunlop Roadsmart (12) 88% 85% 84% 85% 83% 88% 86% 86% 45,970
Michelin Pilot Power 2CT (9) 91% 74% 84% 61% 78% 86% 84% 80% 41,112
Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact (4) 88% 70% 73% 55% 73% 83% 70% 73% 14,500
Bridgestone Battlax BT 012 (10) 68% 46% 45% 41% 57% 62% 19% 48% 32,200

Honda Honda CB600F Hornet Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 023 given 97% (180-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8500 spirited miles
i have a honda hornet 600 when i first got my bike it had a dunlop set up i couldnt be more unhappy with them however the 023 is proberly the best tyre on the market for someone who dose alot of miles and plays on the week end my mate has the same bike as me and runs the 016 and corners make no odds wether thts due to the rider or not how ever her is a good rider too about 8500 miles rear n 10000 on front i have no chicken strips at all :@
tyre reviewed on 2012-05-02 14:26:37
Writing about the Metzeler Sportec M5 Interact given 90% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Excellent tyre in wet and dry conditions, but they lasted only 8000km. That's the only problem
tyre reviewed on 2016-03-07 13:08:17
Writing about the Dunlop Roadsmart given 89% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2011-02-16 21:02:17
Writing about the Dunlop Roadsmart given 79% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
New shape Honda Hornet (2009). Bike came with Michelin Pilot Power E, which I had to change at 7800 miles due to the rear squaring off and on the legal limit.

I ride a mixture of roads, ranging from the odd commute into Central London (15 miles each way), some motorway/fast A road slogs, but I enjoy playing along B and country roads.

Tyres are quite neutral steering and are very firm at correct front/rear pressures. Grip in wet is much better than the Michelins, however in the dry there is less feel although within 100 miles I was leaning over right to the edge of the tyres. VERY hard wearing (took 800 miles to remove all of centre chicken strips!).

Overall the tyres are very good but I don't think they suit the way I ride this bike. I like to feel the rear tyre bite into the tarmac when I give it the beans, which I have now lost. The firmer construction may suit heavier bikes and/or those looking for all round/commuting/longer life tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2011-09-15 10:23:55
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Power 2CT given 70% (180-55-17-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13100 spirited miles
I've had the Hornet since June last year, the standard tyres for it are bridgestones apparently, but mine was fitted with 2CTs when I picked her up. Not used any other tyre, but riding in the wet feels little different from the dry when commuting.

On track they stood up to a fair amount of abuse.

On the 1st set I got about 7k miles out of them (I was a new rider at the time) the 2nd and 3rd sets both got punctures within 600 miles or so :(

I'm thinking of trying the Avon Viper Extremes next to see how they compare.
tyre reviewed on 2008-08-13 10:51:13
Writing about the Bridgestone Battlax BT 012 given 44% (180-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
These are the only tires I tried on my hornet my 2011 as they are the standard ones. Too hard and too fat, they are heavy and not precize. The compound suffers of the hard downshiftings of a fowr cilinders and often slides or loose traction. It was ok when the the hornet was 25kw but since I changed it to full power they can't handle it. Very difficult on wet surfaces and absolutely no grip on painted parts as road crossings. After 6000km it is possible to see the central part of the tire a bit flat because of the use. I think they will last 1000km more as maximum. Never got to reach the end of the tire on sides because it starts to feel uncomfortable more one or two centimeters far from that.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-29 09:56:53
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre