Skoda Octavia GT 193hp Tyres

Drive a Skoda Octavia GT 193hp? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Skoda Octavia GT 193hp
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (147) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85% 88% 87% 2,662,853
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (42) 87% 83% 81% 78% 81% 86% 85% 83% 222,300
Continental Sport Contact 3 (241) 87% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74% 68% 76% 3,233,337

Skoda Octavia GT 193hp Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 99% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
I always used to buy top premium tyres for my car,an FWD Skoda Octavia 1.8T,remapped to 240hp. After searching a lot and with a lot of hesitation,i decided to order 4 N BLUE HD PLUS tyres. Well...what a nice surprise! After 350kms,my first impressions are very good. Dry and wet grip are amazing,they reach perfomance temperature easily, they are smooth and the comfort level is equal to other very expensive tyres. I do not know about the wear,the depth of the grooves is about 6.8mm,smaller than others indeed. But their treadwear is rated as " 360 " which means that they will last well. Time will show that. I usually keep my tyres for 25.000-30.000 kms,so if they last about 20.000-25.000 kms ,i will be quite satisfied.
And now,the price:...262 euros for 4 of them!!! Not installed. About 40% cheaper than the top premiums ones! They,also, have amazing rolling resistance, i have never experienced that before and this happens without compromising the grip levels! An other "sensitive" factor is the tyre pressure. My car placard suggests 30.5f psi /32r psi for 205/50/17 89 V or W. Theese are 93V XL and they should need almost the same inflations. I keep them to 36.5-38 psi for comfort but they can easily go to 40 psi if i focus on low fuel consumption.I have 5 professional tyre gauges,so i do not think that my measurements are wrong.Maybe this occurs to their freshness,time will show once again.
In my opinion ,this yre is a bargain and quite equal ,in some points, to other more expensive tyres. If they keep perfoming well, very soon to say yet, i will buy them again. The heat in Greece is a strong enemy for tyres,so lets see how they will cope with it.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-13 07:31:44
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 97% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 spirited miles
I had these tyres on my Skoda Octavia and i was really satisfied. Dry grip was excellent and on wet fantastic even with 3.5mm thread left at 30.ooo km. It is a superb tyre and after them, i put Pzeros on which are very good. I do not care about tyre wear because i think that the first thing is grip and safety,PS2 gave me plenty of these.If one can afford,i think that it is one good choise.
tyre reviewed on 2014-11-25 10:28:02
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 3 given 96% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
After a lot of experiments on my wheels,i decided to go back to oem setup (205/50/17) as i had bought it with the other oem option 205/55/16. I had tried 225/45/17 four 6 years. So,i found 4 used Contisport3 ( they had been driven for more than 40.oookms,with 4,5-5mm left) from a friend of mine in order to see how my car handles on that tyre size.And...I could not believe it!!! These used Contis were superb!!! Dry and wet grip is outstanding even after more than 40.oookms!!! On icy roads were very predictable and good! Fuel consumption is ok and stopping distances quite good. And it is an FWD Skoda Octavia GT 1.8T,remmaped 240hp,with PSS9,4pots GALFER ,From mount intercooler and a lot of other things.I will probably buy or 4 brand new Contisport5 as i am very satisfied with Continental either the much cheaper Kumho Ecsta KU31 SPT.
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-11 07:26:09
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 93% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 average miles
In April 2015 I wrote the first review for these tyres. After about 17. 000 kms , I think it is high time I wrote a well experienced review. Well, dry grip is very good and never had a problem, wet grip is outstanding and equal to the top premium tyres. They are very stable at speeds of 180km/hour and their breaking performance never let me down. Even in snow they were very cooperative in my surprise. The comfort levels is an other “strong” point for these Nexens. Overall, those Tyres are ok for my daily needs. Their sidewall is quite soft and this is something you have to cope with. My car, a Skoda Octavia remapped at 240hp with plenty of torque turns hard and make them squeeze while the car rolls on them. So, I keep tyre pressure at 36,5-38 psi ( 2.5-2.6 bars ) and still the comfort is ok. Octavia is a front heavy car but the grooves are still at 5.8- 6 mm after 17.000kms, having a 1mm wear (6.8 when they were new. I will never suggest or say to someone to avoid buying a tyre model. My experience has taught me that it is a very personal choice and the only I can say is that I never had a problem because of these Nexens, I am completely satisfied and I would buy them again but all these are based on my PERSONAL needs. It is up to the driver to search and find the best for him/her. I hope I have helped you! Drive carefully and remember, your safety is in your hands. Have safe and well driven trips always!!!
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-23 10:24:24
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre