Michelin CrossClimate

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 82%
Wear 85%
Comfort 93%
Buy again 89%

The Michelin CrossClimate is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate Plus

Show All

Tyre review data from 76 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 747,139 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2017 All Season VS Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good acceleration and braking on snow, good in the wet, very short dry braking, excellent dry handling
  • Negative - Weak snow handling

2017 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - As good as a summer tyre on dry roads, short wet braking distances, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Expensive, mid pack wet circle result.

2016 AutoBild All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Top performance on dry and wet surfaces, accurate and rapid response to the steering, low wear
  • Negative - Long braking distance on snow
  • Overall - Excellent
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 68  
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 68  
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 68  
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 68  
205/65 R15 99V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68  
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68  
215/55 R16 97V XL   B A 69  
225/55 R16 99W XL   B A 69  
205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 68  
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 68  
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 69  
215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 69  
215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate

2016-03-25 - Hi! I'd like to have some suggestions from you about these tyres. I drive a Citroen C5 Tourer and now I have to choose new tyres; I've seen the new Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 as a summer tyre and it seems to be the best choice for my car, but in winter I don't wanna have winter tyres anymore. Could the michelin Crossclimate be a good alternative, a good compromise for my car for an all year round safety drive? Thank you for your answer!

This is exactly the type of motoring the Michelin CrossClimate is designed for. If you plan to use your car in the north of Scotland, or to drive to the alps a dedicated summer / winter solution is still the ideal, however if you just want to use your in the mid/south of the UK, year round without worrying about what tyres are on the car, the CrossClimate is the tyre to fit.


2016-07-18 - Please can you give me an indication of the flexibility of the sidewalls on the CrossClimate, in my experience this has been a let down on tyres with a compound soft enough to work in cold conditions. Many thanks

Like most modern tyres, the CrossClimates have thin sidewalls to reduce heat build up and weight in the tyre, which affects fuel economy and comfort. As you can read in our full test here the CrossClimate has the advantage of feeling like a summer tyre, where the other all season and winter tyre in the test were noticeably more vague.


2016-08-15 - In 175/65R14 these Michelin Cross Climates are XL (maybe they are in all sizes) and I wondered how this would feel on a small supermini that only requires SL? It currently has Michelin Energy Savers on it. Would these tyres mean using higher pressures and if so, by how much? Is the change from SL to XL an allowed change in terms of things like insurance etc? I have used Bridgestone A001s in the past and been impressed but didn't like how they hit the fuel economy. These seem to be an improvement on that front, hence my interest. Finally, can you change just two tyres (on the same axel) or would it be like using winter tyres and you'd need all four changing at once to keep the car in balence? Thanks for any input you can give :)

Michelin are going through a process of simplifying their product range so they only have the highest load rating of the tyres. This is fine for insurance, and looking at the tyre tests, fine for comfort too. Ideally you would change all four tyres, but during the summer and autumn months it is fine to change two, only during freezing, snow and ice driving would the difference become apparent. You would run the standard pressures with the XL CrossClimates.


2016-09-30 - Does the cross climate meet the legal criteria for winter tyres in european countries especially Germany

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is mountain and snowflake symbol marked so fully legal in countries which require a winter tyre.


2016-10-28 - Hi, I have just replaced 2 front worn radials on my Merc A180 with crossClimates, but the rear radial tyres dont need replacing yet, will this affect performance and safety when driving.

It's always best to fit the new tyres to the rear of the car, especially when changing tyre types as you are with the CrossClimate. While the balance in the dry should be fine, in cold wet and snow the car might have a tendency to oversteer which is far more difficult to control than understeer.


2017-03-26 - Are crossclimate legal as wintertyres in countries that req wintertyres as law in certain months.

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is "mountain and snowflake" rated, which makes it a legal winter tyre.


2017-04-04 - When will the Michelin Cross Climate be available in 165/65/14 size

Unfortunately Michelin don't currently have any plans for 165/65 R14 CrossClimate size.


2017-11-05 - Does cross climate have a greater fuel consumption than summer tyres? Because I see mixed user reviews about this but no actual test.

If you look at the 2017 all season tyre test the CrossClimate has a lower fuel use than the summer tyre included in the test.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/60 R15 £67.50 - £78.70 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £60.00 - £73.70 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R17 £118.80 - £129.10 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £80.60 - £89.50 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate Review

Given 37% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
I am somewhat disappointed in these tyres, having previously had Conti Wintercontact TS850 and Nokian Weatherproof under me, these have not showed the same level of wet grip and wear as the Weatherproof.
Tread depth is low from new and this may improve on dry braking and handling at the expense of long life.
Over rated in my view for the most part.
268 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2016   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the CrossClimate.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 87% (breakdown) while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Only had the tyres a few months but had all weathers including wet slush, deep standing water ice and snow and I’m really impressed with the forward grip, breaking and comfort of these tyres. The handling has been excellent and really surprised how easily I drove through 5-6” of snow . I can’t comment of dry hot conditions or on tyre wear yet but very happy with the tyre so far. If I had to find a negative they lack a little side bite in snow compared to a traditional winter tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2018   
Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Citygo (175/65 R14) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
Been driving Crossclimates 175/65/14 on my Citigo for 6000 miles majorly on the motorways, A roads and B roads. Great grip on both wet and dry, quiet and good fuel economy. Crossclimates definitely can keep you mobile on the roads in the winters. If you do not need to drive to heavy snow covered B road, Crossclimates is one of the best all-season tyres you can find.

I've driven on snowy B roads quite a lot this winter. Bear in mind gentle and sensible driving is still required on extremely snowy condition. The grip would be lost immediately if the car cornered too aggressive on snow, however, the grip would be gained again once the car slowed down / traction control kicked in. Bottom line is: Everything was manageable and nowhere near losing control.

Overall I am still very happy with the Crossclimates.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2018   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a BMW 520d (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 miles
I cant praise these tyres enough. They are life savers in wet and snowy conditions. I drive a BMW 5 series rear wheel drive. This is normally leathal in snowy conditions. Using the cross climates I have tacked very steep snowy roads no problem. Wow. Worth forking out for. I paid around £700 for a ser of 4 fitted.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2018   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Mazda 6 (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Bought them in September of 2015 and just changed to Crossclimate + (I wanted the new AllSeason Contis, but my tyre dealer didn't have them in my dimension so I had to go for the Michelins once again.)

In the first two years they were fine,especially on the wet, on snow (had about 4 days of trying them in those conditions, they were not so good) but then towards 4mm of profile the tyre changed drastically for the worse. It became like a plastic tyre and quite dangerous.

Hopefully the plus version will be better in this aspect (that's what they promise).
2 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2018   
Given 93% (breakdown) while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
Excellent tyres,as a private hire taxi driver and driving a lot of miles safety is paramount and no compromise when it comes to buying tyres. Having over many years bought premium brand tyres ie continental,Goodyear,Dunlop nothing and I mean nothing comes close to Michelins whether it's summer tyres or cross climates for winter use. The Michelins out score the previously mentioned brands as the wear on these tyres is fantastic,the Michelins wear evenly across tread and last thousands of miles more. I had cross climates on last winter and although the grip on icy roads far exceeded previous vredestien winter tyres there was no snow so I could not comment on performance. Last week we had 5cm of snow and as I was night shift I was mainly driving on virgin snow on main roads and tyres were firmly planted on roads at all time and coped easily with hills. Overall these tyres have now given me more confidence than ever driving on ice and snow,the front ones have done over 20,000 miles and are nearing winter tread max limit,I will replace them shortly with cross climate+,I would recommend these tyres to anyone as they are simply in a league of their own,well done michelin
5 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2017   

See all 73 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate (newest first) >>