Michelin CrossClimate

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 80%
Wear 85%
Comfort 92%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 73%
Ice Grip 46%

The Michelin CrossClimate is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate Plus

Show All

Tyre review data from 103 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 1,218,939 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 17 tyres

2018 ADAC All Season Tyre Test - 9th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest wear on test, good in the dry and on icy roads.
  • Negative - Weak on snow.

2017 All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 12 tyres

  • Positive - The Michelin CrossClimate has an excellent all round performance, with a particular strength in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Average snow handling.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 68  
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 68  
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 68  
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 68  
205/65 R15 99V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68  
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68  
215/55 R16 97V XL   B A 69  
225/55 R16 99W XL   B A 69  
205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 68  
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 68  
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 69  
215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 69  
215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate

2016-03-25 - Hi! I'd like to have some suggestions from you about these tyres. I drive a Citroen C5 Tourer and now I have to choose new tyres; I've seen the new Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 as a summer tyre and it seems to be the best choice for my car, but in winter I don't wanna have winter tyres anymore. Could the michelin Crossclimate be a good alternative, a good compromise for my car for an all year round safety drive? Thank you for your answer!

This is exactly the type of motoring the Michelin CrossClimate is designed for. If you plan to use your car in the north of Scotland, or to drive to the alps a dedicated summer / winter solution is still the ideal, however if you just want to use your in the mid/south of the UK, year round without worrying about what tyres are on the car, the CrossClimate is the tyre to fit.


2016-07-18 - Please can you give me an indication of the flexibility of the sidewalls on the CrossClimate, in my experience this has been a let down on tyres with a compound soft enough to work in cold conditions. Many thanks

Like most modern tyres, the CrossClimates have thin sidewalls to reduce heat build up and weight in the tyre, which affects fuel economy and comfort. As you can read in our full test here the CrossClimate has the advantage of feeling like a summer tyre, where the other all season and winter tyre in the test were noticeably more vague.


2016-08-15 - In 175/65R14 these Michelin Cross Climates are XL (maybe they are in all sizes) and I wondered how this would feel on a small supermini that only requires SL? It currently has Michelin Energy Savers on it. Would these tyres mean using higher pressures and if so, by how much? Is the change from SL to XL an allowed change in terms of things like insurance etc? I have used Bridgestone A001s in the past and been impressed but didn't like how they hit the fuel economy. These seem to be an improvement on that front, hence my interest. Finally, can you change just two tyres (on the same axel) or would it be like using winter tyres and you'd need all four changing at once to keep the car in balence? Thanks for any input you can give :)

Michelin are going through a process of simplifying their product range so they only have the highest load rating of the tyres. This is fine for insurance, and looking at the tyre tests, fine for comfort too. Ideally you would change all four tyres, but during the summer and autumn months it is fine to change two, only during freezing, snow and ice driving would the difference become apparent. You would run the standard pressures with the XL CrossClimates.


2016-09-30 - Does the cross climate meet the legal criteria for winter tyres in european countries especially Germany

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is mountain and snowflake symbol marked so fully legal in countries which require a winter tyre.


2016-10-28 - Hi, I have just replaced 2 front worn radials on my Merc A180 with crossClimates, but the rear radial tyres dont need replacing yet, will this affect performance and safety when driving.

It's always best to fit the new tyres to the rear of the car, especially when changing tyre types as you are with the CrossClimate. While the balance in the dry should be fine, in cold wet and snow the car might have a tendency to oversteer which is far more difficult to control than understeer.


2017-03-26 - Are crossclimate legal as wintertyres in countries that req wintertyres as law in certain months.

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is "mountain and snowflake" rated, which makes it a legal winter tyre.


2017-04-04 - When will the Michelin Cross Climate be available in 165/65/14 size

Unfortunately Michelin don't currently have any plans for 165/65 R14 CrossClimate size.


2017-11-05 - Does cross climate have a greater fuel consumption than summer tyres? Because I see mixed user reviews about this but no actual test.

If you look at the 2017 all season tyre test the CrossClimate has a lower fuel use than the summer tyre included in the test.


2018-03-04 - Im considering purchasing some cross climates for my car. However, my car has 14" wheels and I understand that Michelin do not produce the crossclimate+ tyre in 14" sizes. Is there a noticeable difference in durability and performance when worn between the standard crossclimate and the + models? And is there a reason why they do not produce the + model in 14"?

There are minimal differences between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate+ versions of the tyre. I would imagine the current lack of + version would indicate it's a low volume size and the moulds have yet to be updated.


2018-03-30 - My current Continental Sport Contact 3 tyres are down to 3mm on the front (rear 6mm). On any kind of light snow/slush the front tyres just spin. Could I fit 2 Cross Climate tyres or shouldn't you mix summer and all season tyres?

It is not advised to fit just two all season tyres, when you do encounter snow or ice the grip imbalance is so high it can cause very dangerous situations.


2018-06-28 - I'm in a quandary; which would be my best choice? Michelin CrossClimate or Nokian Weatherproof SUV 235/65R17 for a Toyota RAV4?

It depends on your usage plans, however I believe the CrossClimate a better all season tyre for the majority of the UK as the Weatherproof behaves more like a winter tyre in the dry, which gives you extended dry braking.


2019-03-01 - Why Crossclimate have so much difference from Crossclimate+ on ice performance?

It shouldn't, both tyres should be very similar.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/50 R17 £143.92 - £166.90 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £107.40 - £107.40 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £170.90 - £177.26 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 59 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate Review

Given 37% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
I am somewhat disappointed in these tyres, having previously had Conti Wintercontact TS850 and Nokian Weatherproof under me, these have not showed the same level of wet grip and wear as the Weatherproof.
Tread depth is low from new and this may improve on dry braking and handling at the expense of long life.
Over rated in my view for the most part.
388 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2016   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the CrossClimate.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 39% while driving a CitroŽn C5 (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
These were on the car when I bought it and about 2/3rds worn. I've since driven 5000miles and am not impressed - just very disappointed. In fact they are downright dangerous in the wet - the front skates about and the steering goes light as though driving on ice. There was about 2.5mm tread, no uneven wear, and pressures were correct but the last tyres that were this bad were budget ones (Acceleras) not premium ones. I had the fronts replaced with Dunlop Sportmax RT2 and now I have great grip - almost as good as on a dry surface and they were £40 less than replacing them with Crossclimates again.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Skoda Octavia (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Car came with these tyres fitted. I was happy, as I had had them on a previous car. Well, on this chassis, they are average at best. Distinct understeer, poor wet grip levels, and the noise is getting much worse as the tyres get older. Good in snow and ice, but they seem to overheat when the weather gets hot. Have swapped the front for Eagle Asymmetrics, which are far better. Can't wait to get rid of the rears.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2019   
Is the new Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport RS the fastest tyre available today? Watch this video now!
Given 63% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Good tyres except for one realy realy annoying thing these tyres pick up stones, in fact I do not belive there are any loose chipings left on the northern section of the A34, they are all stuck in my tyre treads. However if you enjoy a constant tick tickety tick.tick. from stones stuck in your treads. these may be the tyres for you. This design flaw will stop me ever having these tyres again.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2019   
Given 62% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.4 (185/60 R14 H) on mostly town for 9,000 average miles
The tyres are hazardous in the wet conditions, specially if it's moist. they block really fast. I have never driven a tyre that would be better in snow than on the moist road. If you already own this tyres keep your safety distance...you will need it. Otherwise it performs ok, but braking capabilites and distance is really something you need to watch out for......when completing the performance test on all season tyres, they should complete them with one year old tyres, because after this particular tyre has been exposed to one mild winter it is useless. If you're thinking of all season tyres and you're not in a snowy area, invest in some good summer tyres like good year or continental or even nexen or falken.
And if you live in a colder snowy area and you're looking for an allseason tyre just buy a good low wear winter tyre and drive it all year round with low highway speeds. For a city car, just go with winter tyres.
2 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz ML (235/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Best tires for wet road i have ever had. Very good on snow. For ice with water on top one should be very careful as the Grip is not good.
4 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2019   

See all 97 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate (newest first) >>