Michelin CrossClimate

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 81%
Wear 87%
Comfort 93%
Buy again 90%

The Michelin CrossClimate is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate Plus

Show All

Tyre review data from 94 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 1,058,939 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2018 New and Worn Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 17 tyres

2018 ADAC All Season Tyre Test - 9th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Lowest wear on test, good in the dry and on icy roads.
  • Negative - Weak on snow.

2017 All Season VS Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good acceleration and braking on snow, good in the wet, very short dry braking, excellent dry handling
  • Negative - Weak snow handling
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 68  
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 68  
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 68  
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 68  
205/65 R15 99V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68  
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68  
215/55 R16 97V XL   B A 69  
225/55 R16 99W XL   B A 69  
205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 68  
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 68  
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 69  
215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 69  
215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate

2016-03-25 - Hi! I'd like to have some suggestions from you about these tyres. I drive a Citroen C5 Tourer and now I have to choose new tyres; I've seen the new Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 as a summer tyre and it seems to be the best choice for my car, but in winter I don't wanna have winter tyres anymore. Could the michelin Crossclimate be a good alternative, a good compromise for my car for an all year round safety drive? Thank you for your answer!

This is exactly the type of motoring the Michelin CrossClimate is designed for. If you plan to use your car in the north of Scotland, or to drive to the alps a dedicated summer / winter solution is still the ideal, however if you just want to use your in the mid/south of the UK, year round without worrying about what tyres are on the car, the CrossClimate is the tyre to fit.


2016-07-18 - Please can you give me an indication of the flexibility of the sidewalls on the CrossClimate, in my experience this has been a let down on tyres with a compound soft enough to work in cold conditions. Many thanks

Like most modern tyres, the CrossClimates have thin sidewalls to reduce heat build up and weight in the tyre, which affects fuel economy and comfort. As you can read in our full test here the CrossClimate has the advantage of feeling like a summer tyre, where the other all season and winter tyre in the test were noticeably more vague.


2016-08-15 - In 175/65R14 these Michelin Cross Climates are XL (maybe they are in all sizes) and I wondered how this would feel on a small supermini that only requires SL? It currently has Michelin Energy Savers on it. Would these tyres mean using higher pressures and if so, by how much? Is the change from SL to XL an allowed change in terms of things like insurance etc? I have used Bridgestone A001s in the past and been impressed but didn't like how they hit the fuel economy. These seem to be an improvement on that front, hence my interest. Finally, can you change just two tyres (on the same axel) or would it be like using winter tyres and you'd need all four changing at once to keep the car in balence? Thanks for any input you can give :)

Michelin are going through a process of simplifying their product range so they only have the highest load rating of the tyres. This is fine for insurance, and looking at the tyre tests, fine for comfort too. Ideally you would change all four tyres, but during the summer and autumn months it is fine to change two, only during freezing, snow and ice driving would the difference become apparent. You would run the standard pressures with the XL CrossClimates.


2016-09-30 - Does the cross climate meet the legal criteria for winter tyres in european countries especially Germany

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is mountain and snowflake symbol marked so fully legal in countries which require a winter tyre.


2016-10-28 - Hi, I have just replaced 2 front worn radials on my Merc A180 with crossClimates, but the rear radial tyres dont need replacing yet, will this affect performance and safety when driving.

It's always best to fit the new tyres to the rear of the car, especially when changing tyre types as you are with the CrossClimate. While the balance in the dry should be fine, in cold wet and snow the car might have a tendency to oversteer which is far more difficult to control than understeer.


2017-03-26 - Are crossclimate legal as wintertyres in countries that req wintertyres as law in certain months.

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is "mountain and snowflake" rated, which makes it a legal winter tyre.


2017-04-04 - When will the Michelin Cross Climate be available in 165/65/14 size

Unfortunately Michelin don't currently have any plans for 165/65 R14 CrossClimate size.


2017-11-05 - Does cross climate have a greater fuel consumption than summer tyres? Because I see mixed user reviews about this but no actual test.

If you look at the 2017 all season tyre test the CrossClimate has a lower fuel use than the summer tyre included in the test.


2018-03-04 - Im considering purchasing some cross climates for my car. However, my car has 14" wheels and I understand that Michelin do not produce the crossclimate+ tyre in 14" sizes. Is there a noticeable difference in durability and performance when worn between the standard crossclimate and the + models? And is there a reason why they do not produce the + model in 14"?

There are minimal differences between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate+ versions of the tyre. I would imagine the current lack of + version would indicate it's a low volume size and the moulds have yet to be updated.


2018-03-30 - My current Continental Sport Contact 3 tyres are down to 3mm on the front (rear 6mm). On any kind of light snow/slush the front tyres just spin. Could I fit 2 Cross Climate tyres or shouldn't you mix summer and all season tyres?

It is not advised to fit just two all season tyres, when you do encounter snow or ice the grip imbalance is so high it can cause very dangerous situations.


2018-06-28 - I'm in a quandary; which would be my best choice? Michelin CrossClimate or Nokian Weatherproof SUV 235/65R17 for a Toyota RAV4?

It depends on your usage plans, however I believe the CrossClimate a better all season tyre for the majority of the UK as the Weatherproof behaves more like a winter tyre in the dry, which gives you extended dry braking.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/50 R17 £118.84 - £177.30 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £179.10 - £182.90 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £149.35 - £149.35 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 49 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate Review

Given 37% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
I am somewhat disappointed in these tyres, having previously had Conti Wintercontact TS850 and Nokian Weatherproof under me, these have not showed the same level of wet grip and wear as the Weatherproof.
Tread depth is low from new and this may improve on dry braking and handling at the expense of long life.
Over rated in my view for the most part.
360 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2016   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the CrossClimate.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 90% while driving a Skoda Suberb MkII (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 60,000 average miles
My original CrossClimate tyres were fitted back in late January 2016, I have since done over 60,000 miles/96,560 km in nearly 34 months! They are 205/55/16 size, driven in South of England conditions. We did have a few days of bad snow in places, these tyres got me out and gave me confidence on the road. But they feel like a good summer tyre in the dry and wet which was the main thing! At that mileage in nearly 3 years, longevity is legendary! Ultimately I doubt many tyres will match on longevity which is the reason I will stick to the Michelin CrossClimates. I am looking forward to the Plus model as performance of tyre stays more consistent on wearing, and that is a great thing!
1 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2018   
Given 99% while driving a Renault Scenic III 1.6vvt (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,800 average miles
Purchased set of 4 Michelin CC in late October 2015. So 3 years old with 10.8k mileage mostly town with some M-Way in between. My recent MoT says tyre treads are OSF 5mm, NSF 5mm, OSR 5.5mm & NSR 5.5mm with the brand new tread being 7mm so just under half worn. Excellent road holding on all dry surfaces. Impressed with performance in the snow early 2018. In the wet generally very good. Noticed that when accelerating & turning sharply left in the wet the front tyres do give up a bit of grip & slip just a fraction before holding again. Just have to adjust my driving to avoid this happening. Always had Michelins on this Scenic so difficult to compare other than the tread patterns look different from memory. Driving on rough roads one does feel the feedback coming through the tyres. Would recommend until something surpasses them versus cost.
1 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2018   
What's better in the snow, a 4x4 or winter tyres? Watch the video to find out!
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 23,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyre and they work on snow as well. They are certainly quieter than the Contis fitted originally to this car. Handling is great and wear is phenomenal (normal changing time on Contis is about 18k) - the dealers could not believe the mileage when I was in for a service. Combined with the car's 4-wheel drive, snow is no problem. Will definitely be buying these again.
9 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2018   
Given 59% while driving a Skoda Octavia (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
These tyres were so good on two other cars, that I put them on my Octavia. BIG mistake. The steering became optional. Excessive understeer, low front end grip and plenty of roll. Worse still was, as they wore down, they were like having skis on when it rained. At about 4mm they were so bad in the wet that I had to have them replaced. Now on Goodyears, and the grip has returned. Won't be chancing the Crossclimate+, as it's not meant to be as good in the wet!
20 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2018   
Given 93% while driving a Audi A6 Allroad 3.0 TDI (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 37,000 average miles
Incredible tyres! Bought them in October 2015 and I'm still driving them, over 60.000km on Audi A6 Allroad 4x4! Tyre wear is fantastic, I can still drive on them for at least 10000km, but I'll buy new set of CrossClimate+ for original dimension (245/45/18)...

Dry handling is perfect, on wet surface they behave very good but sometimes they do skid in sharp turns, but that might be because of my heavy foot on powerful 4x4. Snow performance is... well, it drives on snow, which is everything I need... :) Noise ... what noise?

In any case, HEAVY recommendation, especially to Audi A6 drivers!
6 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2018   

See all 88 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate (newest first) >>