Michelin CrossClimate

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 82%
Wear 84%
Comfort 94%
Buy again 88%

The Michelin CrossClimate is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate Plus

Show All

Tyre review data from 61 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 562,139 miles driven.

Reports

Tyre Test Highlights

2016 AutoBild All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Top performance on dry and wet surfaces, accurate and rapid response to the steering, low wear
  • Negative - Long braking distance on snow
  • Overall - Excellent

2016 ADAC All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 7 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks dry and wet, and very strong in fuel consumption and wear tests
  • Negative - Weak on snow

2016 AMS SUV All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 4 tyres

  • Overall - As the only summer bias all season tyre in the test, the Michelin CrossClimate won the dry testing by a margin. It equaled the test winning Goodyear in the wet, but couldn't match the winter-bias all season Goodyear in the snow and ice. The best choice for climates which don't see heavy snowfall.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 68  
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 68  
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92V XL   C A 68  
185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 68  
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 68  
205/65 R15 99V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68  
195/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68  
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68  
215/55 R16 97V XL   B A 69  
225/55 R16 99W XL   B A 69  
205/60 R16 96H XL   C A 68  
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 68  
215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 69  
215/65 R16 102V XL   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 69  
225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 69  
215/60 R17 100V XL   B A 69  

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate

2016-03-25 - Hi! I'd like to have some suggestions from you about these tyres. I drive a Citroen C5 Tourer and now I have to choose new tyres; I've seen the new Dunlop Sportmaxx rt2 as a summer tyre and it seems to be the best choice for my car, but in winter I don't wanna have winter tyres anymore. Could the michelin Crossclimate be a good alternative, a good compromise for my car for an all year round safety drive? Thank you for your answer!

This is exactly the type of motoring the Michelin CrossClimate is designed for. If you plan to use your car in the north of Scotland, or to drive to the alps a dedicated summer / winter solution is still the ideal, however if you just want to use your in the mid/south of the UK, year round without worrying about what tyres are on the car, the CrossClimate is the tyre to fit.


2016-07-18 - Please can you give me an indication of the flexibility of the sidewalls on the CrossClimate, in my experience this has been a let down on tyres with a compound soft enough to work in cold conditions. Many thanks

Like most modern tyres, the CrossClimates have thin sidewalls to reduce heat build up and weight in the tyre, which affects fuel economy and comfort. As you can read in our full test here the CrossClimate has the advantage of feeling like a summer tyre, where the other all season and winter tyre in the test were noticeably more vague.


2016-08-15 - In 175/65R14 these Michelin Cross Climates are XL (maybe they are in all sizes) and I wondered how this would feel on a small supermini that only requires SL? It currently has Michelin Energy Savers on it. Would these tyres mean using higher pressures and if so, by how much? Is the change from SL to XL an allowed change in terms of things like insurance etc? I have used Bridgestone A001s in the past and been impressed but didn't like how they hit the fuel economy. These seem to be an improvement on that front, hence my interest. Finally, can you change just two tyres (on the same axel) or would it be like using winter tyres and you'd need all four changing at once to keep the car in balence? Thanks for any input you can give :)

Michelin are going through a process of simplifying their product range so they only have the highest load rating of the tyres. This is fine for insurance, and looking at the tyre tests, fine for comfort too. Ideally you would change all four tyres, but during the summer and autumn months it is fine to change two, only during freezing, snow and ice driving would the difference become apparent. You would run the standard pressures with the XL CrossClimates.


2016-09-30 - Does the cross climate meet the legal criteria for winter tyres in european countries especially Germany

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is mountain and snowflake symbol marked so fully legal in countries which require a winter tyre.


2016-10-28 - Hi, I have just replaced 2 front worn radials on my Merc A180 with crossClimates, but the rear radial tyres dont need replacing yet, will this affect performance and safety when driving.

It's always best to fit the new tyres to the rear of the car, especially when changing tyre types as you are with the CrossClimate. While the balance in the dry should be fine, in cold wet and snow the car might have a tendency to oversteer which is far more difficult to control than understeer.


2017-03-26 - Are crossclimate legal as wintertyres in countries that req wintertyres as law in certain months.

Yes, the Michelin CrossClimate is "mountain and snowflake" rated, which makes it a legal winter tyre.


2017-04-04 - When will the Michelin Cross Climate be available in 165/65/14 size

Unfortunately Michelin don't currently have any plans for 165/65 R14 CrossClimate size.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £57.63 - £69.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R17 £113.57 - £134.99 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £73.64 - £83.39 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £99.11 - £105.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/55 R17 £128.45 - £149.99 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 41 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate Review

Given 37% (breakdown) while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 17,000 average miles
I am somewhat disappointed in these tyres, having previously had Conti Wintercontact TS850 and Nokian Weatherproof under me, these have not showed the same level of wet grip and wear as the Weatherproof.
Tread depth is low from new and this may improve on dry braking and handling at the expense of long life.
Over rated in my view for the most part.
161 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2016   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the CrossClimate.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 89% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Great tyres overall. I have used these tyres for almost 6 months and 15k kms and I habe inly good words ro describe Crossclimate tyres. I live in a very rainy area in the North of Spain and i really took advantage of this model's great performance on wet roads.

To be honest, although i have driven on very cold surfaces with them, i have no experience on snowy roads.

1 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2017   
Given 90% (breakdown) while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
Replaced a set of Falcon's on the front and what an amazing difference the cross climates have made. Most notably these tyres are so much quieter, more comfortable, especially across pot holes and I'm seeing around a 10% increase in economy. They seem more secure on fast sweeping bends at motorway speeds and hold a line far more accurately that the Falcon's. Unable to comment on winter handling and wear but I hope those atttributes will prove as good as the other positive characteristics. I'm so impressed and am contemplating replacing the rear tyres a little earlier than necessary as the increased economy should help pay for the tyres.

2 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2017   
Given 91% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 (205/60 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
The tire handled very good in all conditions. I have tried on snow, rain, dry and they are good. I feel safe during driving in all conditions. I have tires from october 2016. I have passed 10000km and depth tread rudesed from 7mm (new) to 6mm. Front tires have some small cuttings (like from excessive slipping, but I am very easy on accelerator) but nothing sirious. I will see how they will handle summer temperatures (which are going to 40C in my place).
1 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2017   
Given 96% (breakdown) while driving a Audi A6 Allroad 3.0 TDI (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Been driving Crossclimates 225/55/17 for around 1.5 years on Audi A6 Allroad C6 (weights 2 tonnes). Extremely quiet, excellent grip on both wet and dry, hot or cold. It's completely irrelevant if temperatures are below zero or above 35 oC. Crossclimates also perform well on snow, but don't expect wonders. Since roads and highways are 99% clean and salted during winter season, all I cared about is grip on wet and cold and these tyres never failed me. The only problem I found so far is aquaplaning at higher speeds.

Also, another thing worth mentioning - they don't wear fast, I swapped front and rear tyres after 1.5 years of driving and my plan is to drive them for at least another 1.5-2 years.
8 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2017   

See all 58 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate (newest first) >>