Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol Tyres

Drive a Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol
Nokian WR A3 (71) 93% 88% 90% 83% 92% 92% 88% 89% 472,743
Bridgestone Turanza T001 Evo (6) 92% 88% 88% 88% 80% 94% 74% 86% 24,000
Falken ZE914 (91) 89% 82% 85% 81% 82% 83% 87% 84% 915,133
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (50) 84% 72% 79% 76% 92% 82% 81% 81% 1,320,183
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (48) 81% 86% 78% 75% 76% 76% 80% 79% 539,402
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (54) 85% 79% 77% 80% 70% 79% 71% 77% 554,137
Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue (28) 88% 76% 76% 72% 87% 76% 65% 77% 568,389
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (144) 87% 85% 80% 74% 59% 83% 65% 76% 1,293,819
Pace Toledo TL1000 (8) 73% 53% 57% 60% 64% 57% 46% 59% 65,500

Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 98% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
I got these tires with a set of rims I bought second hand, and didn't think to much about the tires before I bought the wheels.... I bought them near the end of the winter season, and I wouldn't put them on for another 2 months.... I just wanted those rims! :D
But when I DID put the wheels on my car......... man alive! :-) They are excellent in corners, at least compared to the Syron race 1's I had on before (which were 225/45R18), I didn't feel as confident with the Syrons as I do with these Hankooks.
They are excellent, and though I haven't driven them hard in rain yet, because either the weather hasn't felt like raining, or when it DID rain, I had the family with in the car....so less incentive to test... I would have little qualms about taking a corner at a slightly higher speed than with my Syron tires.

When they wear out, I'm trying another brand though, with better scores on fuel efficiency, just to see. Either way, I'm going to go for a larger tire next time, because the speedo is off about 10% according to my GPS (on a flat road), and also the "speedo-boards" we have on the side of the road, here in Denmark. So going to 245/45R18 next time.
tyre reviewed on 2016-05-31 22:15:45
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 96% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2900 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-07 13:00:47
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given 89% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Quality tyre at a reasonable price , had them on for approx 6 mths (6000 miles ) unable to fault them ! I guess the main attribute of them is that they give confidence in how they make the car feel . Only point I can't give an opinion on is wear , but so far so good , have no reason to doubt they won't last . Buy again ... Yes without hesitation ..
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-25 15:14:04
Writing about the Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue given 87% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 easy going miles
Excellent tyres. Had Goodyear Excellence and Michelin Primacy 3 fitted previously on the car. Apparently both Goodyear and Michelin had to be less noisy as the noise rating is 3 dB lower than Pirelli especially since the one I have is reinforced. However, in real life all 3 tyres subjectively have the same level of noise. Problem with Goodyears was a relatively fast wear. After 25k miles tyres became useless. Michelins were better, however much more pricier. Although I don't have anything bad to say about Michelin I feel that price is too steep. This time I tried Pirelli's and so far very pleased. After 15k mostly motorway miles tyres still look like new. Not a sporty tyre though. However, the grip both wet and dry is excellent for touring tyre. Quiet.
I can certainly recommend these tyres to everyone, who values comfort, reasonable grip and most importantly wants to get a lot of miles from tyre set.
I'll certainly consider to buy Pirelli's again when next time I need new tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-05 11:38:37
Writing about the Falken ZE914 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 easy going miles
excellent. grips well. lasts well.
tyre reviewed on 2016-04-10 21:42:05
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 Evo given 77% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 easy going miles
An excellent tyre in both wet and dry conditions, highly recommended. Could be the best summer yet, but for one overwhelming niggle. Fuel economy. The 'EU' fuel rating for this tyre is 'C'. Very unsure how this rating was achieved - & this is my experience so far. It's also worth noting at this juncture that I only replaced 2 rear Dunlop BluResponse's, leaving 2 Michelin Energy Savers up front intact. Both these older tyres are 'B' rated for fuel.
On the open road, M and A roads, and generally taking it fairly easy, the T001 Evo's have proved fabulous, emulating the fuel economy of the Dunlop's, easily a 'B'. Well done Bridgestone.
In our corner of London however, the same cannot be said to be the case. Where before we would week-in week-out achieve 40mpg (via the car's computer) now we only achieve a careful 35 mpg at best, a 12.5% decline (and with the recent cold snap 33mpg has been the norm.) These latter figures are equivalent to Bridgestone's old ER30 and ER300 tyres, both of which we've had on this particular car in the past, and both of which are 'E' fuel rated.
35mpg would therefore suggest a D fuel rating?
So, have the EU raters balanced the two results out, 'B&D' resulting in an overall 'C' rating? Something feels amiss.
If you do a modicum of stop/start driving, anticipate a lower fuel rating. If you're out on the M/A roads, the tyre will excel. Bottom line, we do 9k miles p.a., and therefore over the life of the T001's at today's pump £prices and presuming a 25-30k tyre life, we will be spending an additional £500-600 in fuel alone, relatively small - but then so is our mileage compared to many. It would now simply be more cost effective to trade them in for either more Dunlop's, or a 'B' fuel rated alternative. Would I buy them again, or replace the Energy Savers with these T001 Evo's going forward? Unless Bridgestone manage to get them into the 'B' fuel bracket and pertinently, across all driving terrains/conditions, the answer is a definite NO (otherwise, would the fuel economy continue to further fall?) A really very good summer tyre nevertheless, potentially exceptional.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-24 19:49:21
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 72% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 easy going miles
Swapped old Bridgestone ER300s (only managed 28500 miles) for these test winning Dunlops.Braking in the dry, the same. Braking in the wet, much improved. Noise; rated 4db quieter but aren't unless driven under 30mph. Otherwise no real difference. Fuel efficiency (improved EU spec up from F to B);drive very conservatively and there's a 0-5% improvement; drive normally and there's a 5% decrease in efficiency. Not everything they profess to be, but then not driven on the limit.Only hope they do more than 30000 miles, otherwise not the best buy.
tyre reviewed on 2013-05-08 16:31:26
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 70% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Good tyres but do not last long. Have been using for the last four years. Been changing my front ones twice in a year. They do wear a lot. Do around 12k miles a year. Bit expensive for my test. Otherwise they're quiet, handles my car well and really grips in corners.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-28 12:25:11
Writing about the Pace Toledo TL1000 given 70% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 average miles
This review is for Toledo TL1000 tyres 215/55ZR17 98W XL from SD International.
http://www.sd-international.cn/products/Toledo_pcr.html . I got my Toyota Avensis 1.8 CVT Estate second hand (ex Europe car hire car) and it had a pair of these on the front. Not knowing that much about tyres at the time I decided to put the same on the rear which had been the OEM Dunlop Efficient grip. At the point the car had done 42K miles. We mostly drive in London with the occasional long trip. For the price of around £40 a tyre you can't fault them. I can't do a direct comparison to other tyres on the same car but the wet grip and dry grip in warmer weather is very good. When it drops below 10C the tyres tend to harden up and being XL tyres and seemingly a hard wearing compound (7mm still on the rear after 4k miles) that probably isn't surprising. You are definitely going to get a bit better handling, comfort and safety with a £100+ tyre but I don't think you will find much more durability.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-17 10:10:51
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 3 given 57% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 14000 average miles
I bought these tyres because the Toyota factory fitted tyres were so bad in the snow, it was embarrassing. The Quatrac 3's performed well on the few snowy days we had, even in quite deep snow or flattened, icy snow. Also good on muddy fields when other cars were struggling for any grip. So performance wise, very good. Downside is noise. OK when new but became progressively worse as they wore past about 10,000 miles. The rhythmic droning became so bad I was totally convinced a wheel bearing needed replacing. It seems the tyres had worn badly / unevenly, with random flat sections around the periphery creating vibration on at least 2 of the 4 tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-24 20:21:22
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre