tyre reviews by tyre tyre reviews by car tyre articles submit tyre revew discussion about tyres
tyre reviews and ratings

Toyota Avensis Tyres

Drive a Toyota Avensis? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Toyota Avensis
Nokian WR A3 (44) 95% 94% 94% 92% 93% 94% 93% 94% 258,220
Michelin Alpin A4 (43) 89% 95% 92% 90% 95% 92% 95% 93% 318,112
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (26) 95% 93% 90% 90% 87% 90% 95% 91% 140,320
Continental WinterContact TS830 (28) 90% 95% 90% 83% 84% 91% 98% 90% 133,000
Fulda SportControl (20) 93% 88% 87% 88% 87% 90% 94% 89% 169,011
Hankook Ventus RSS Z211 (1) 90% 80% 90% 80% 100% 80% 100% 89% 40,000
Ceat Tornado (3) 93% 77% 87% 90% 93% 77% 93% 87% 50,000
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (200) 92% 89% 87% 86% 79% 86% 88% 87% 1,892,907
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (49) 91% 87% 81% 79% 88% 87% 89% 86% 413,200
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (175) 91% 90% 86% 85% 75% 84% 81% 85% 2,244,709
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 Ecopia (12) 88% 84% 81% 82% 90% 84% 75% 83% 132,010
Hankook Optimo 4S (22) 85% 85% 80% 75% 78% 86% 93% 83% 208,842
Uniroyal RainExpert (116) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86% 85% 83% 1,092,062
Vredestein Sportrac 3 (59) 86% 91% 81% 81% 76% 79% 86% 83% 658,266
Michelin Primacy 3 (34) 91% 87% 84% 81% 64% 88% 75% 81% 459,440
Uniroyal Rainsport 2 (215) 85% 91% 78% 77% 76% 80% 83% 81% 2,003,153
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (86) 88% 85% 84% 78% 74% 79% 79% 81% 912,566
Fulda EcoControl HP (5) 78% 76% 84% 86% 86% 82% 74% 81% 16,800
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (83) 90% 87% 83% 82% 62% 85% 74% 81% 458,085
Bridgestone Potenza RE720 (17) 87% 84% 79% 83% 66% 75% 88% 80% 330,235
Barum Bravuris 2 (110) 86% 80% 81% 72% 77% 83% 84% 80% 1,243,559
Nokian All Weather Plus (2) 95% 100% 90% 70% 100% 45% 55% 79% 20,000
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (82) 86% 78% 80% 76% 71% 83% 81% 79% 790,720
Toyo SNOWPROX S 942 (4) 75% 80% 75% 73% 85% 90% 73% 79% 8,000
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (44) 88% 90% 81% 73% 65% 85% 67% 78% 222,100
Nankang SV1 Winter Plus (12) 82% 74% 75% 71% 82% 85% 78% 78% 72,000
Michelin Primacy HP (150) 85% 75% 77% 74% 75% 76% 66% 75% 3,286,476
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (125) 83% 78% 77% 70% 77% 71% 69% 75% 2,426,744
Falken ZE912 (175) 82% 75% 75% 69% 71% 79% 73% 75% 1,627,417
Continental Premium Contact 5 (37) 85% 82% 74% 80% 54% 83% 64% 75% 220,863
Falken FK452 (203) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 74% 73% 74% 2,616,666
Kleber Krisalp HP2 (8) 79% 68% 73% 69% 84% 76% 71% 74% 64,500
Michelin Pilot Primacy (47) 80% 76% 71% 68% 84% 71% 66% 74% 948,067
Sava intensa uhp (9) 82% 73% 76% 63% 73% 74% 69% 73% 37,401
Continental Premium Contact 2 (138) 84% 78% 74% 72% 62% 75% 64% 73% 3,101,846
Fulda Carat Progresso (12) 78% 71% 74% 73% 70% 70% 70% 72% 162,400
Firestone TZ300 (19) 81% 71% 75% 63% 68% 76% 70% 72% 214,929
Yokohama A Drive (22) 79% 68% 71% 69% 79% 71% 65% 72% 369,739
Goodyear Excellence (98) 78% 71% 72% 71% 72% 75% 61% 71% 2,202,556
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (148) 83% 77% 76% 73% 59% 65% 64% 71% 2,200,801
Goodyear OptiGrip (15) 74% 83% 67% 69% 69% 66% 66% 71% 178,500
Continental Sport Contact 2 (196) 84% 74% 75% 70% 60% 66% 60% 70% 3,703,817
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (29) 77% 72% 68% 66% 67% 74% 62% 69% 238,012
Michelin Energy (37) 69% 63% 58% 61% 85% 75% 62% 67% 898,474
Nexen CP641 (32) 75% 59% 63% 67% 75% 71% 61% 67% 255,749
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (72) 75% 60% 67% 60% 79% 69% 56% 67% 1,668,926
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (106) 80% 69% 70% 66% 64% 62% 54% 66% 1,606,150
Dunlop SP Sport 3000 (9) 80% 61% 61% 61% 67% 66% 46% 63% 152,591
Pirelli P6 (17) 73% 63% 56% 47% 58% 58% 46% 57% 324,725
Kenda KAISER KR20 (44) 65% 47% 54% 55% 71% 56% 52% 57% 391,812
Runway ENDURO 916 Plus (39) 68% 53% 55% 57% 65% 43% 48% 56% 433,584
Pirelli P6000 (158) 67% 47% 56% 49% 67% 62% 40% 55% 2,293,982
Federal Formoza FD1 (10) 76% 56% 50% 53% 58% 54% 32% 54% 99,378
Sava intensa hp (17) 55% 44% 43% 35% 53% 62% 42% 48% 126,819
Lassa Impetus2 (1) 40% 40% 10% 40% 40% 10% 10% 27% 90

Toyota Avensis Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Alpin A4 given 100% (205-60-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
No Comments Left
Posted at 2010-10-12 19:32:03
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 100% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
Excellent tyres. I am very satisfied with handling in dry and wet conditions. Also, Giugiaro did a very good job with design.
Posted at 2012-08-01 09:18:04
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 3 given 100% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
excellent
Posted at 2013-03-05 10:17:02
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
It was a toss-up between these tyres and a set of Fulda Sport Controls for my Toyota Avensis.
Got rid of the Chinese tyres the car came with and noticed immediately how quiet the tyres are combined with the feedback and sure-footedness when driving in the pouring rain or dry.
The tyre noise or lack of it is remarkable and a god-send as I drive mainly motorway miles. Cannot comment on the wear yet.
Would recommend these tyres and will be replacing them with the same when the time comes. £77 each from the All New Tyre Co. in Macclesfield.
Posted at 2013-05-12 20:25:28
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS830 given 100% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 easy going miles
Purchased these tyres on the first day of snow, seem to be great in snow and allowed me to use uncleared side roads when mains blocked by queueing traffic.
Apart from being great in the snow I was also very suprised how quiet they are on dry roads as they seem much quieter than my summer tyres.
Posted at 2010-12-27 15:43:13
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza ER300 Ecopia given 100% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Excellent tyre, has changed the ride completely, excellent grip and comfort. Would highly recommend.
Posted at 2012-06-10 22:59:08
Writing about the Nokian WR A3 given 100% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
Having read a lot of good reports about Nokian winter tyres, knowing their market position as world leader in winter tyre technology and the fact they’re designed and made in Finland, I thought they’d be more than good enough for me in Lancashire, UK.

I bought 4 x 215/50/17 WR A3’s (£400) from mytyres and fitted them to my car in October 2012. My aim was not only to use them throughout winter but to leave them on all year and see if I notice any peculiarities with them in hotter weather.

You always read scare stories on the internet about “don’t use winter tyres in summer” . . . “they’ll melt or explode” . . . “they’re rubbish above 11 deg C” and so on.

However, Michelin, Goodyear and Continental have all stated that “if you want to remain mobile all year round, using winter tyres in the summer is far less of a compromise than using summer tyres in the winter. Faced with choosing a tyre to travel on all year round we’d choose winter tyres.”

My findings . . .

Winter time

I live in the hills with only one cobbled road that accesses our village. This road is also unadopted by the council which means no gritters come up here to plough or spread grit for us – basically, we have well over a mile of road which is untreated, twisty and steep before we connect with the main road.

So far as I’m concerned we had a very good winter over 2012 / 2013 (plenty of below-zero days and lots of deep snow) and I have to say the stories you read about how good Nokian winter tyres are true: huge amounts of tractive force can be generated on either loose or well-compacted snow. Great directional grip on those surfaces is confidence-inspiring and its ability to deal with conditions that constantly swap such as tarmac-slush-tarmac-slush at 50-60mph without the car being dragged offline is staggering. These tyres enable you to leave most other cars, including Audi Quattros, behind in such conditions (probably because they’re using summer tyres).

At the end of January 2013 we had 10-inches of snow fall overnight. My wife, son and I had to get to Haydock (60 mile round trip) in the morning, however, when we saw the car buried to just above the door sills we thought this might prove too deep. Anyway, we all got ready at 7am but we accepted that we might not be going anywhere – nobody else from our village, including Toyota RAV4 and Suzuki Grand Vitara owners, had attempted to leave.

Undeterred, I removed the snow off the car leaving it surrounded by about 14-16 inches of snow. I got in the car, reversed it a couple of feet, disabled the traction control and put the auto-transmission in ‘snow’ mode and set off reasonably quickly to break through the number-plate deep snow in front of the car. I managed to get half the car out of its parking space and it ground to a halt, beached on the snow. I hit reverse and the car, luckily, went back into its parking space. I tried again but with more aggression . . . . and blasted straight out!

Feeling super-proud of the Nokian’s I set off out of the village on my own to see if it was possible to get to the main road (it’s all moderate inclines on the way out of the neighbourhood then you head all the way down the twistyhill to the main road). As I drove passed all the neighbours’ homes I got a real sense of satisfaction as my front-wheel-drive car trudged through snow. The snow was constantly scraping the underside of my car, however, I was confident we weren’t going to be imprisoned in our home by the weather. Then I got stuck exiting a 90-degree turn on the narrow village road because I lost all my momentum. It took about 5 attempts reversing and going forwards to get me along a 50ft mild incline. I put this down to the car’s underside dragging (beaching) on the snow preventing the tyres from biting effectively.

I managed to get to the main road and return home to pick up the family. We headed out to Haydock and tackled difficult conditions all the way there. For example, while everyone was avoiding the outside lane on the East Lancs dual carriageway due to snow / slush I made a path for myself overtaking (not dangerously) all the slow-moving vehicles on the inside lane. The look of disbelief on every 4x4 owner I passed on that road was priceless. Nobody had the confidence to swap lanes and follow me.

Of note – I witnessed the two neighbours (RAV4 and Vitara) who both got stuck exiting the village. The Vitara had to do a lot of shuffling back and forth to get out of its parking space behind where I was parked spinning all four wheels. The RAV4 slithered to a stop, with all 4 wheels spinning, on an incline up the road from my house and was rescued by 4 or 5 people with shovels. Both owners use summer tyres but thought 4wd would overcome this.

Summer time

I have to say that these tyres felt very much at home throughout summer. For readers outside the UK, this year’s summer was, for once, brilliant: long spells of hot weather and plenty of blue-sky days. Temperatures of28 deg C proved no issue at all for the WR A3’s; they gave superb levels of grip on roundabouts, twisty roads and responded well to sudden changes in direction as well as hard braking.

No matter the conditions, the WR A3’s are very quiet (massively more so that the constantly-droaning Nexen n3000 tyres the car came with). I would say they’re probably the quietist tyre I’ve had on any car I’ve owned. Directional stability on the motorway is excellent as is steering accuracy and the tyres’ ability to track a particular line on the road or through a corner is as good as any summer tyre I’ve ridden on.

It’s true to say that this is the 1st time I have used winter tyres all year round and I have not noticed any loss of performance, drop in fuel economy or outright grip levels when driving hard.

Wear

In the 6,000 miles I covered in 12 months the front tyres have only lost 1mm of tread and they have not been rotated with the rears. The rear tyres still have the 8mm tread depth indictor number still stamped into the treadblock – a superb feature of Nokian tyres; all you need do is read the built-in (8mm, 6mm, 4mm, *[snowflake symbol]) tread depth number stamped in the central band of the tyre and it tells you how much tread you have left before the tyre needs replacing.

Verdict

I used to cover 50,000 miles per year for 15 years in expensive company cars and have used every make of premium summer tyre (Continental / Bridgestone / Pirelli / Michelin / Goodyear etc) at a cost of £500 per pair on quite a few cars. Most only lasted 10k miles before needing replacing. So I know what the best summer tyres perform like in all conditions. I’m well aware of how long ultra-low-profile sticky tyres don’t last, how expensive they are and how frighteningly unpredictable wide tyres can be a low speeds driving on just a dusting of snow.

Believe me, even though Nokian are not priced like the premium brands (and are listed as ‘mid-range’ by TyreReviews), I can assure you that their WR A3 winter tyres are every bit as good in summer and comprehensively outclass them come winter time. This is a tyre you can be totally confident of using every day of the year.

General observations

1) One of the great things about having winter tyres is that all roads (short cuts, housing estates, A or B roads, country lanes etc.) are still viable options for you to use in the snow to avoid queuing and getting stuck with every other person on the road.

2) Using summer tyres in testing winter conditions forces you to travel on the gritted main roads or stick on the motorway gridlocked with everyone else.

3) When the snow is coming down hard, most people in the UK are afraid to travel anywhere in their summer tyre equipped cars (as they will likely get stuck, not get to their destination or back home, or risk an expensive accident) but with winter tyres you can head out with the knowledge that you can go places and return home.

4) They work all year round as I have just proved. My findings back-up the statements from Michelin, Continental and Goodyear.

5) No need to buy a 4x4 and suffer the running costs of it all the time when there is no snow on the ground (To get you through the winter months - that’s why you bought it, right? Shame 95% of 4x4 / soft-roaders come fitted with summer tyres, thus, leaving you no better off than most other folks come the frost, snow and ice. In fact, you’re probably worse off as you have a much heavier vehicle to stop or get round corners . . . )

6) I don’t have to worry when I’m out and about as I know my tyres will handle any conditions thrown at them. Also, I can get my family, including my toddler son, back to our front door in some extremely tough conditions.

7) If you hate driving on snow it’s probably because you’ve had a lot of scary moments sliding about uncontrollably or you have been stuck a lot. My advice to you is to buy some winter tyres, run them until they wear out and you will become confident once again in snowy conditions.

Nokian have a tag line: “Forget the Forecasts” – my experience with Nokian WR A3 wholeheartedly underlines this.

In Finland, a place renowned for severe winters ever winter, they have a saying the British would do well to listen to: “Winter tyres first. 4x4 second.” I couldn’t agree more.

Mike

Posted at 2013-11-18 21:09:12
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 2 given 100% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
UNI ROYAL (RAINSPORT2)

EXCEPTIONAL IN ALL WEATHER CONDITIONS
SPORTY TREAD
VERY LONG LASTING TYRES (AVERGAE PRICE DOES YOU BETTER THAN EXPENSIVE TOP BRANDED TYRES)

VERY GOOD IN RAIN AND DRY

IF YOU GUYS HAVE A CHANCE TO GET NEW TYRES, I AM TELLING YOU DONT MISS YOUR CHANCE IN NOT GETTING UNI ROYAL RAINSPORT2 FOR YOUR CAR, IF YOU THINK THEY MIGHT NOT BE GOOD, THEN BUY THE FRONT 2 TYRES SEE THE DIFFRENCE, THEN BY THE REAR 2 FOR YOUR OWN CONFIDENCE, BUT I AM TRYING TO GIVE YOU MY PERSONAL FEEDBACK ON HOW THESE TYRES ARE GOOD FOR ME.

UNIROYAL RAINSPORT2 IS GUARANTEED THE SAME RANGE AS EXPENSIVE TYRES AT THE FRACTION OF PRICE, IF YOU GO AND SEE REVIEWS ELSEWHERE YOU WILL FIND OUT WHAT IS GOOD AND WHAT IS NOT. SO YES I HAVE GAVE YOU MY VIEWS ON THESE RAINSPORT2 NOW ITS UP TO YOU.

Thank You
Posted at 2009-08-10 15:08:44
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 99% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Grip in the dry and wet is excellent. Very good braking and average noise. Dunlop SportMaxx RT are the best you can buy.
Posted at 2012-08-18 11:27:39
Writing about the Fulda SportControl given 99% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Great tyres! Overall, an excellent all-round real-world sporty choice. Buy them!
Posted at 2014-04-06 12:11:41
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!


Want this tyre? TyreReviews has joined forces with lovetyres.com to offer unbeatable prices on the best rated tyres. Combine the trust of your local fitting centre with these great prices on the best tyres on the market!
Width:
Profile:
Height:
Speed Rating: