Continental Sport Contact 6

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 82%
Wear 55%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 69%

The Continental Sport Contact 6 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Continental Sport Contact 5

Show All

Tyre review data from 39 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 146,265 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Sport Auto 20 Inch UHP Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent braking performance, quick and accurate steering response and good directional stability.
  • Negative - Average comfort, low aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent wet and dry braking, fastest tyre in the dry with the best steering speed, feel and balance. Retained good levels of comfort and a low rolling resistance. No drop in lap time.
  • Negative - Oversteer balance in the wet made it difficult to extract a good lap time, in spite of the best front end grip.
  • Overall - An excellent all round tyre which excels in steering feel and dry grip. The sportiest feeling tyre on test.
    Highly Recommended.

2018 EVO UUHP Tyre Test - 4th of 6 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
315/25 R19 98Y XL   E A 75 12.05kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 73 11.00kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 73 10.19kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 73 10.19kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL         10.19kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   E A 75 10.99kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.08kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 13.25kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72  
245/35 R19 93Y XL         10.25kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL         10.26kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL          
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.10kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E A 73 10.59kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL          
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 73 11.49kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 10.10kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   E A 75 12.54kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL         12.96kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL   E A 75  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 9.26kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 72 10.80kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 72 11.00kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 10.80kgs
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 75 12.37kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 75 11.88kgs
325/25 R20 101Y XL   E A 74 12.98kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 72 10.18kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL         9.59kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 72 10.15kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 73 10.67kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL   E A 73 11.10kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   E A 74  
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E A 74 16.04kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 72 9.59kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 9.90kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.80kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 73  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 73 10.80kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   E A 72 12.69kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   E A 73 12.35kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 75 12.05kgs
325/25 R21 102Y XL   E A 75 11.80kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 73 10.65kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 10.98kgs
295/30 R21 102Y XL   E A 75 13.05kgs
255/35 R21 98Y XL   E A 73 11.21kgs
305/25 R22 99Y XL   E A 75 13.45kgs
335/25 R22 105Y XL   C A 73 15.16kgs
265/30 R22 97Y XL   E A 73 12.27kgs
295/30 R22 103Y XL   E A 75 13.18kgs
315/25 R23 102Y XL   E A 75 15.65kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental Sport Contact 6

2016-03-28 - Does the Sport Contact 6 replace the Sport Contact 5?

No, the Sport Contact 6 replaces the 5P, so is currently only available in 19" and above.


2016-05-24 - I want 2X 225/40 R19 93Y sport contact 6 can you tell me does this tyre have rim protection

According to Continental, that size of the Sport Contact 6 does have a rim protector


2016-04-29 - Hello. I want to buy Continental sport contact 6 in size 235/35 r19. Can You tell me what is the weight of one tyre in this size? In Label Scores the weight of one tyre in this size is 13+kilograms! If this information is true Sport contact in this size is really HEAVY. But I don't understand how I could be real, because 225/35 R19 88Y XL 9.08kgs 235/35 R19 91Y XL 13.25kgs 245/35 R19 93Y XL 10.25kgs

We've spoken to Continental and you are correct, our weight is wrong. The correct weight of the 235/35 R19 Sport Contact 6 is 9.431kgs, we will update the site soon.


2017-03-30 - have a rather strange question: I have just purchased brand new original BMW rims with 8.5 "x19" and mounted ContiSportContact 6 in size 245 / 40-19 at them. The hotter the tire become the more there will be an "extra" noise on top of the normal noise from the asphalt. It's like a kind of rung. It sounds just like to drive very extreme high pressure (air). Some claim that with alloy wheels in 19" and more, the rim (aluminum material) that goes in swings and the hotter the tire become the more increases the tire pressure and so goes the rim more and more in swing Is it a phenomenon others have heard of and if so, what can I do to stop the oscillation rim (do the rim sound-dead)?

Unfortunately this isn't something we have experience with. The Continental Sport Contact 6 is a well regarded tyre in regards to comfort and noise, so it's unlikely to be the tyres fault.


2018-04-03 - Hi im looking for bigger tyres for my 2012 gtr r35, i had 255/40/20 and 285/35/20 run flat Bridgestone, Im thinking Conti SC 6 on 275/35/20 and 305/30/20, I know the bigger tyres will fit in wheel arch but will they fit well with the stock wheels ?

Unfortunately I'm unable to advise whether the Sport Contact 6 will fit, I suggest visiting a GTR owners forum and seeing what people have already tried!


2018-06-07 - I have a chrysler crossfire. I want to change all tyres for contisport contact 6. My car is front 225 40 18 front and 255 35 19 rear. Rears I can change but front contisport contact 6 only start 235 40 18 for front. Can I use this size. And if so would I have to change size of rears. Or could i use premium contact 6 on front correct size and contisport 6 on rear. What do you suggest?

I'm afraid I can not recommended either changing away from the OE sizes, or mixing tyres. 225/40 18 should be in the Sport Contact 6 in the future, for now I would either use Premium Contact 6 all round or look at a comparable tyre such as the Michelin Pilot Sport 4.


2018-12-23 - Hi, I am looking for new tyres for fast SUV. I can only choose between Continental SportContact 6 and Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (there is no 4s in my size). What do you think will be better for spirited driving on normal roads (no track use)? Personally I am leaning more towards Conti because they suppose to be more "sporty". Are SportConact 6 = PS4S and PremiumContact 6 = PS4 competitor??

Yes, that is correct. The SC6 is a great tyre, comparable to the MPS4S, but it can wear quickly in certain applications which is its only drawback.


2018-12-25 - Hi, I have a question regarding real tire width. Previously I used Continental Sport Contact 5P and currently I have Pirelli P Zero. Although both Conti and Pirelli are in the same size which is 295/30R19 the Pirelli is a lot wider. I have to replace tires and wanted to try Conti sportcontact 6. So the question is are SC6 also narrower (like 5P were) than other brands and how are they comparing to Michelin PS4S (are they wider or narrower?) or other brands?? I think this is very important topic and I realised it when I tried different types of tires. The real width is sometimes a lot different than label size. Could you elaborate on that?

All tyres are allowed to be manufactured within a variance of that size. I'm currently just waiting back on hearing exactly what that variance is, however it should never be "a lot", and the variance found will have very little effect on performance as it will be less than changing sizes, check out our tyre width video here.

I'm afraid only Continental will be able to answer where they designed the CSC6 to fit.


2019-05-04 - Hi, I am looking for new tyres for a Boxster. The car is a daily, so wet performance is important. It has PS2s and of the later premium summer tyres, the conti sport contact 6 seems to be the only option. How would you say this compares. Tyre sizes are 235/35/19 and 265/35/19 TIA

THe Sport Contact 6 is much better in the wet than the tyres like the PS2.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £130.80 - £191.30 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £149.10 - £196.40 (46 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R19 £138.60 - £167.70 (30 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £135.00 - £149.90 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/30 R19 £168.00 - £202.80 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 71 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental Sport Contact 6 Review

Mercedes Benz C220 cdi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,500 easy going miles
I have new 65 plate c class with continentals fitted only done 6500 miles
rear tyres r down to wear indicators ;I am 64 years of age and drive as sutch
also am a mechanic and mot tester,car only 9 months old
will not b using continentals in future
223 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2016   

Latest Continental Sport Contact 6 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental Sport Contact 6 tyre?

Please help millions of other drivers make an informed tyre choice and pick the correct tyres for their car by submitting your review of the Sport Contact 6.

Review Your Tyres >>

Given 63% while driving a Audi Audi A4 B9 TFSI 40 (245/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Fitted on FWD 2.0 Audi A4. Tyres has relative good grip in both dry and wet (No near death encounters so far).
One thing to point out. Wear is terrible. Expect these to last less than 20k miles, no value for money. Highest $/mile cost for almost any tyres out there.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2019   
These are the best tyres in the world. Watch now!
Given 74% while driving a BMW 640d (275/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 14 spirited miles
I put these tyres on my 640D back in November 2016 and as a result of a change in job with less travel and retirement, they are just at the point of needing to be changed (2.2mm). At the time, I was expecting to change out the Dunlop SP SportMax GT 245/35/20 95Y RunFlat on the front, but they are still going "strong" (4mm). Running a mix of tyres means that it is difficult to give a fully representative view of the Continentals. My view is that it is a reasonable tyre both in the wet and dry, but I have not noticed any material handling changes over the Dunlop, except it doesn't seem to crash as much (being a non-runflat) as the fronts. The wear is a factor having only done 14,000 miles compared to the 21,000 miles done by the replaced Dunlop SP SportMaxs. I was hoping to replace all 4 corners with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5, but unfortunately they don't currently have suitable tyre sizes as yet, so I may just have to go for Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Runflats (aaaargh!) all round.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Audi RS 5 (265/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Ratings are for tyre on a warm summer day.
Put these onto an RS5 at the start of summer. In the warm weather the grip was stunning both wet and dry, never driven anything like it on a warm, dry summer day.
Unfortunately they are not so good in the cold particularly when also wet. Cold wet day, first time I have ever had a Quattro slide having had a range of tyres on various Quattros. Wear is not great either, certainly for the price, will now be getting rid of them despite only about 80% worn.
8 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2019   
Audi (245/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Its my wife's car that the 245/30R20 are on and for grip & handling in the dry they are "very good",most tyres today for this price range are. Its when it come to the wet that these stand out as one of the best I've driven on in the wet. Price & wear should be the last thing you need to worry about if you are driving a $80 to $110k car. Yes you can buy cheaper or buy ones that gives more mileage. If the roads have been dry for a week or two & it starts to rain and someone pulls out quickly in front of you, because you have left space & stops & you hit the brakes & end up in there boot, I Bet price & wear is the last thing on your mind, Its times like this I'm glad we purchased Continental Sport Contact 6, I do rotate every 3,000 miles
8 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2018   

See all 36 customer reviews of the Continental Sport Contact 6 (newest first) >>