Ford Focus ST250 Tyres

Drive a Ford Focus ST250? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre!

The following tyres have been reviewed on the Ford Focus ST250
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (126) 95% 86% 90% 86% 83% 82% 89% 87% 1,037,402
Nexen N Fera SU4 (33) 91% 89% 84% 82% 81% 91% 90% 87% 178,720
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (390) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87% 84% 86% 3,740,737
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (138) 90% 88% 83% 82% 82% 90% 82% 85% 1,155,474
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (277) 90% 88% 85% 84% 74% 83% 80% 83% 3,731,734
Uniroyal Rainsport 3 (263) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83% 76% 79% 1,941,205
Nitto NT555 G2 (1) 70% 60% 80% 70% 80% 60% 50% 67% 3,000
Rapid p609 (14) 68% 52% 53% 56% 56% 56% 36% 54% 109,472
Evergreen EU76 (1) 80% 30% 50% 60% 70% 50% 30% 53% 7,000

Ford Focus ST250 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 99% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
Had the Asymmetric 2s on my ST before this, and both are excellent tyres.
The new ones, are very close to the 2's however I did notice slightly better fuel economy with the 3s and less tyre spin when accelerating (to the speed limit, obviously)

tyre reviewed on 2018-03-23 06:43:34
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 93% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
The PS3's were factory fitted from new. After 12,000 miles the fronts still have over 5mm of tread left and the rears over 6. This from a combination of local short and long European journeys and everything else in between.
tyre reviewed on 2016-12-29 17:13:04
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 89% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
I bought this tyre, because I like to drive for weekend on country roads. My focus st now has grip, safety and the stearing is on the next level. Great job Michelin !!
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-15 18:56:31
Writing about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3 given 88% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Just put another two RM3s on the rear of my car after noticing a rumbling noise which i thought were the wheel bearings, luckily it was my old Goodyear Eagles coming to the end of their life. The RM3s are a great tyre especially for the money and came highly recommended in that price range and now all four corners have them on. The tread looks cool and gives you confidence that these will be good in the wet and I'm looking forward to see how they perform in our coming winter. Road noise is ok and seems on par with the Goodyears, in the dry they feel just as grippy as the GYs and feel as though you can still throw the car around with confidence. Overall at the moment I am impressed with these tyres. My only negative point is the poor rim protection compared to the Goodyears but don't let this put you off, at the end of the day you are buying the tyre for grip and performance.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-19 08:23:58
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 86% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 26212 spirited miles
I bought my 2017 Focus ST3 with Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres fitted as standard. The grip of the tyres were very amazing, especially in the dry. In the wet they don't perform as good, but when they road is really wet with standing water, the tyres feel very sketchy and the car feels skittish. The comfort and noise levels are good and the they are remarkably comfortable for such a low profile on such a stiff chassis. I have put about 42'000 km on my set and I am yet to see serious signs of wear. My driving style is dynamic, I do not ever, not drive on the limit whenever I find a great or flat stretch of tarmac, just kidding, but I am an enthusiast. However, when the tyres are cold, they struggle for grip when have more the 400 ft.lbs. Overall, it is a really great tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-08 20:06:39
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 73% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
For the street these are just fine, they seem to have sufficient grip and I haven't noticed any hydroplaning or dangerous reactions. We'll see how they do as the miles build.

For autocross I am less than impressed. At my last event I found them to lack ultimate grip, and were snappy at the limit. I was sliding around the entire course, and couldn't lower the pressures anymore without going on the sidewall.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-30 13:46:20
Writing about the Nitto NT555 G2 given 67% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Dry-grip is okay-ish. On my Focus ST, it's pretty understeery and I can't say for sure, but it sort of feels like it is even easier to overdrive this tire than my previous, 4 year old Eagle F1 Asymetric 2's.
Launch grip... well... wheel spin in 1st and 2nd gear. Even when I'm flooring it in 2nd gear at 25 mph. It isn't bad, but I've expected more.

Wet grip... it's okay, as long as you don't push it.

Feedback feels good and direct

Handling - the tire tells you clearly when you're overdriving it. But the limit is too low imo.

Wear seems fine so far.

Comfort - not that much. On really smooth surfaces it's okay. On rough tarmac or with many cracks in the road it is pretty loud.On paving stones it sounds like your wheels are made out of wood.

tyre reviewed on 2019-05-14 10:16:28
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU4 given 65% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-15 20:02:31
Writing about the Evergreen EU76 given 53% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
These were fitted to my Focus ST when I purchased it. In the dry the grip levels are acceptable but in the wet there is no grip to speak of. When pushed in the dry they will let go at the top end of 1st gear but that's to be expected with 250hp going through the front wheels. In the wet they let go as soon as I put my foot down & under steer if you try take a corner at any speed. Then there's the noise, I've never owned a car with this much tyre noise before, I thought Bridgestone's were noisy but these take the cake.
There's plenty of tread on them still but I'll be removing as soon as I can.
If you're looking for a budget tyre then look at something like Hifly HF805 or Achilles ATR Sport 2 or just keep saving for a decent name brand.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-02 21:28:50
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 41% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
.. not friendly tyre if you have a sport hothatch. PS4 is 1000 times better.
tyre reviewed on 2018-08-06 06:23:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre