Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

Dry Grip 98%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 95%
Handling 98%
Wear 71%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 92%

The Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

The Eagle F1 SuperSport draws on Goodyear’s racing experience to provide superior grip and handling. Responsive directional changes are ensured through the stiff tread ribs while a massive closed outside pattern, used on the tyre’s shoulder, provides control during load transfers in corners. A super-stiff sidewall design further improves handling without unduly compromising ride comfort. Although primarily developed for dry conditions, Goodyear has innovatively addressed wet performance through the deployment of a multi-compound combination that sees dry-optimized outer sections paired with three wet-optimized central segments.

Show All

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 89% over 32,900 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

2020 UHP, UUHP and Track Day Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking and good dynamics with high steering precision in the dry. The high driving stability and excellent behaviour creates trust for fast times. Acceptable performance in the wet.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning, reduced comfort.
  • Overall - The brand new Eagle F1 SuperSport is still missing some bite.

2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty summer tyre with best cornering and handling in the wet, good steering precision, short wet and dry braking distances, balanced comfort.
  • Negative - Noise, increased rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Recommended.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 vs SuperSport vs SuperSport R - 1st of 3 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 10.10kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL         10.67kgs
205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 71 8.38kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C B 72 9.43kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 9.50kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO C A 69 9.79kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 10.14kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E A 72 10.92kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 73 12.03kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL   E A 73 10.85kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 12.00kgs
275/40 R18 103Y XL   C A 73 14.05kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 10.27kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.97kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL   E A 75 12.00kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.60kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 72 9.60kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C B 70 10.00kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 72 11.32kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.39kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL         11.49kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E A 73 11.35kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.12kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 12.12kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   E A 72 11.74kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 11.76kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 74 12.87kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   E A 75 13.82kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E A 72 10.93kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL NA0 E B 73 12.14kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 73 11.86kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   E A 72 11.78kgs
285/30 R21 100Y XL   C A 75 12.95kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL NA0 E A 74 15.55kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

2020-02-06 - Hi are Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport better in dry grip then Michelin Pilot Sport 4 ?

You can see the SuperSport compared to the 4S here. The Asymmetric 5 is more a rival to the PS4.


2019-12-22 - Are these Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Tyres better in the wet than MPS4 tyres ? I have MPSS tyres on my M240I , I was going to swap these for MPS4 tyres however the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tyres may be the better choice

They will offer a very similar level of wet grip.


2020-01-05 - Hi, I'm currently looking for a replacement of my Michelin PS4s for the coming Season. The most promising alternative, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport has a rather shockinly low "wear" rating of 20% (compared to the Michelin PS4s with 84%). How is that number derived? What does it mean in real live, will the PS4s last 4x longer? TIA for the answer, Thomas


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £83.15 - £113.00 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £124.00 - £207.19 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £102.73 - £118.89 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R19 £184.99 - £237.99 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
295/30 R20 £203.00 - £231.13 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 23 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Review

Given 92% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
One word: fantastic! Truly a Michelin PS4s competitor!

Tyres I already drove on my 322hp Megane RS: PS4, PS4s, PS3, Nokian Powerproof and now the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport in 235/40/18.

Dry grip and feedback is great! Full throttle out of the corner is easy (works great with some added negative camber). It gives you so much confidence. The feedback is superb and now I really can push the car to its limits. I think they behave the same as the PS4s but it is difficult to compare because I've changed the suspension this year.

These Goodyears are a bit stiffer than the normal PS4 and Powerproof but I like that. Turn in is very good and it is hard to overdrive them. The ride is stiffer but the response is so much better and more direct.

In terms of noise: I find them quiet. At least, they don't drone at any speed. The Powerproofs do drone at 50kmh.

The looks: they look nice! Nice pattern and I do like the rim protection.

I would buy these tyres again! Great value for money! It shows me that Michelin is maybe a bit overpriced..
74 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2019   

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport >>

Given 69% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I have these tyres fitted to my 2008 Civic Type-R in 225/40R18 92Y and have found them to be a little disappointing if I'm honest. Having come from the AS2 and AS3 I had high hopes, as they were great all-rounders. But these didn't impress long term. Initial impression were good. There was an increase is road noise which was expected, but that came with an increase in feel, especially when pushed. But these tyres need to be warm to perform. From cold the dry grip is good, but not great. They're fine at 'nippy' speeds but quickly give up past that until warm, understeering and oversteering before you might expect. But once warm they're a real pleasure, very preditcable and consistant, great turn-in and excellent on the limit. Really confidence inspiring. In the wet they're good, but but no better than the AS3, especially at lower speeds. Over 40-50mph the same predictability comes through, good feel, good turn-in, but they didn't really impress in outright wet grip as the tests suggest. Also they are particularly poor on greasy roads, with far more understeer than the AS3 in the same conditions. They're difinitely a summer tyre. But my main issue is the wear rate. I know these are sporty summer tyres but my word they're wearing fast. I'll be lucky to get 5k miles including rotating them. They're also getting louder and it's kinda distracting now. Considering the mixed performance, the price and the wear rate, I can't recommend these tyres. I wish I'd tried the AS5 or Pilot Sport 4 instead.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Renault Megane RS265 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Tyre is really good when pushing the car hard on the corners. It loads up very nice and you can feel what is going on with the car. They do require some heat to be at their best.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 4, 2020   
Want the best 18" Sports tyre? Watch this!
Mazda (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres and at a very good price, comparatively. They perform brilliantly - On a dry road they grip and then grip some more, giving the car a real sense of balance and enabling you to enjoy the true handling of the car. I will be taking these tyres on track later in the year (once Covid-19 lockdown is over!), and really look forward to seeing how they compare to my other tyres (Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2)... At time of writing this review, these Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSports are much cheaper than the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (The Pilot Sport 4S is more the equivalent from the Michelin range, with the Cup 2 being a step up), so will be interesting to see how much ultimate difference there will be on track. Not driven either in the wet (yet!) so cannot comment on wet performance.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2020   
Given 86% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I was running michelin pilot supersports, (18s so couldn't get PS4S) but after the review of these vs the PS4S I thought I'd give them a go. I will compare direct to the michelin supersports. handling is just as good, dry grip is just as good, braking just as good,so no problems there , then we come to wet grip.... wow, MUCH better than the supersports. As far as I'm concerned there are no drawbacks to these tyres, excellent in every way. equally to the michelin, but better in the wet. Another good thing, much cheaper than the michelin supersports too!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 20, 2020   
Given 98% while driving a Kia Motors Pro ceed (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Amazing set of tyres. Really have transformed how the car drives and puts it power down. Before these I had the legendary Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres and they struggled to put the power down in most conditions other than bone dry, and even then they could be broken away in the dry under a hard launch. The F1 Supersports really have made all the difference. Launches are clean, even in the wet. Wheel hop has been also been reduced. My only slight complaint is they do produce more tyre noise, but only slightly more and its a trade off I was aware of and willing to take. Not had them on the car long so can't comment fully on wear, but early signs are good.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2020   

See all 12 customer reviews of the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (newest first) >>